We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stevens Motel

The Stevens Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in State College
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stevens Motel
Douglassville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Stevens two times. We love our visits. The rooms are very clean and have the comforts of home, TV, microwave, small frig etc. I would highly recommend ! Close to campus and plenty of parking. The staff are friendly and helpful. Love all the flowers during the summer months !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
5
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tannersville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

As a single Mom, traveling alone to visit my daughter at PSU, I always felt the need to stay in a big chain that cost a fortune! After my daughter moved to an off campus apartment that was right around the corner from The Stevens Motel, I decided to check it out online. I have stayed there 2 times now and have had a great and safe experience on both occasions. The owners and staff are super friendly, the rooms (although maybe not the most updated) are immaculately clean and I felt safe and more then comfortable. In fact had one of the best nights sleep I have ever had on the road. I will never stay any where else again!!! Give it a try, you will be pleasantly surprised!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have been staying at the Stevens Motel for more than 12 years. It is always immaculate which is not always true of the best of chain hotels. The staff is wonderful and friendly. They upgraded the beds and they are as comfortable as at any hotel at which we stay (and we stay way too many nights a year outside of State College). The WiFi works well and the TV selection is the best of any place that we have ever stayed. All in all, it is a great place to stay and I recommend it without reservation!!! Try it, you will love it!!! Last time we were there we had mechanical difficulties with our car and we even got great recommendations about the best mechanics to try in State College.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEMRNJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have been coming to the State College area for several years now to hike and to visit with friends and each time I was planning a visit, I tried to get in to the Stevens Motel - but they were always booked. This time, I chose a non-football game weekend and was rewarded with a very nice experience. The beds were extremely comfortable, the room was spotless, the location was perfect for our needs. There were actually more electrical outlets than I expected, necessary in today's world of traveling with a child. I did laugh at my 8 year old grandson's first attempt to use bar soap. As we prepare to leave today, knowing that there is a race going on in town, I have complete confidence that we will be able to bypass the traffic since this hotel is close but not right in town. I will definitely make the effort to try to make a reservation early enough again to get in this hotel.

Oh, one more thing, as a lifetime Phillies fan, all I can say to the owners is - there is always next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Stevens is a cute time capsule of a motel just 1 mile from Penn State University. Its hosts are genial, the room decor is quaint "1950's motor inn" and eat-off-the-floor clean, the location is near some really great restaurants, and the price is reasonable. This is strictly a motel, so don't go looking for breakfast buffets, swimming pools, or exercise centers. There are only 12 rooms, so reserve early! For what this property is, it's worth the trip!

Room Tip: Room #9 has a nice queen bed and is far enough away from the office and main road. Shhhh... quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rossklav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had the opportunity to stay here this past weekend as our daughter was attending camp at PSU. We had read the reviews and quite frankly were tired of the overpriced, inattentive service provided by the chain hotels. Our family had been in the motel business years back in Wildwood NJ so we had a real good understanding of what it takes to compete in todays world against the "Davids" of the world. We'll let us just say, Jeff and his staff at the Stevens motel have achieved and surpassed this feat. Rooms were spotless as other reviewers have noted, Wi-Fi exceptional, A/C chilling to say the least, and best of all the friendliness and courtesy of the staff far exceeded anything in today's industry. Old school, great product, great service , great location and EXCEPTIONAL Value made us a long term customer!!! Thanks Jeff !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OffWeGo1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed at the Steven's Motel Feb 22nd, 2013 and I have to say it's very very comfortable and worth it !

The room was very clean - the shower was outstanding and the bed was clean ! The motel was apparently booked for the night but it was very quiet...couldn't heard a peep all night !!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillygolfpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevens Motel

Property: The Stevens Motel
Address: 1275 N Atherton St, State College, PA 16803-2984
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in State College
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unlike any other motel in the area! From the lush flower boxes and meticulously kept property to the spotless rooms .....you will experience the tangible evidence of the level of care that owners Jeff and Randa Harman take to ensure your stay is truly a pleasant one. As a guest at The Stevens Motel you will enjoy great conversation and personal attention from the owners and staff who are on site daily. The Stevens Motel has long been known for fresh hot coffee in the morning, family atmosphere, and the convenience of a mere 20 steps (ok, maybe a few more) to the best restaurants in town for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Whether you're visiting on business or pleasure you will find The Stevens Motel a cozy, comfortable, affordable place to stay. And if you're a Philly sports fan....well, by ALL means mention it!! You'll be loved forever! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing