We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Sushi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sakura Asian Restaurant

Sakura Asian Restaurant
Ranked #82 of 240 Restaurants in State College
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We found this place because our son is a big sushi fan.
The Sakura Sushi was very good. The fish was fresh and of good quality. The specialty rolls our son ordered was good. The Shrimp teriyaki Bento Box was outstanding for State College. The Edamame needed a little more salt but was pretty basic as was the seaweed salad.

This place does not do a great job in presentation but the meal was good.

We will return on future visits to Penn State.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent .... Won't make you sick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I am an avid sushi eater, for this visit I ordered three things,

1. Seaweed salad. Served on a oversized plate this from the bag salad is straight forward and was refreshing. The plate is a bit silly, not knocking the place for this choice, I would opt for an Asian style plate if I was in charge.

2. Dragon roll - good straight forward.

3. White tuna roll - watery fish hence the 4 not a 5, seaweed wrap did not hold up well due to poorly prepared fish.

I recognize the above items are not "adventurous" just in my opinion safe 6billion miles from the ocean or fresh seafood market.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food. Good presentation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The food is good. The presentation is excellent. The vegetables are really nice. The price seems a bit overpriced, but it's good. As far as Japanese goes, this is probably the best in State College. You won't be disappointed, but you may leave hungry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raquel_Puerto_Rico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW CUMBERLAND
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and variety of menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Very large selection of Asian food with excellent quality. They have a great appetizer menu that changes often. It was great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MT-233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.C., Pa.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Such a nice variety of foods. I especially enjoy the Bento Box. It has so much to enjoy! Nice atmosphere plus it's also a BYOB . Prices are very reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Asian Restaurant also viewed

 
State College, PA
 

Been to Sakura Asian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing