We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Excellent Sushi”

Sakura Asian Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 242 Restaurants in State College
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Altoona, PA
Level Contributor
279 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Service, Excellent Sushi”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

By far some of the best sushi I've ever had, even better than high end locations in Las Vegas. Service was quite good and the sushi was simply delicious, fresh and very tasty. My wife enjoyed her fried rice too. Will definitely return!

Almost didn't stop as I associated it with Sakura in Altoona, PA, but it's 1000 times better than Altoona.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Nice BYOB with good variety of well-prepared food. Had everything from sushi to pad Thai. Everyone enjoyed it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bb3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good Sushi”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We found this place because our son is a big sushi fan.
The Sakura Sushi was very good. The fish was fresh and of good quality. The specialty rolls our son ordered was good. The Shrimp teriyaki Bento Box was outstanding for State College. The Edamame needed a little more salt but was pretty basic as was the seaweed salad.

This place does not do a great job in presentation but the meal was good.

We will return on future visits to Penn State.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent .... Won't make you sick”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I am an avid sushi eater, for this visit I ordered three things,

1. Seaweed salad. Served on a oversized plate this from the bag salad is straight forward and was refreshing. The plate is a bit silly, not knocking the place for this choice, I would opt for an Asian style plate if I was in charge.

2. Dragon roll - good straight forward.

3. White tuna roll - watery fish hence the 4 not a 5, seaweed wrap did not hold up well due to poorly prepared fish.

I recognize the above items are not "adventurous" just in my opinion safe 6billion miles from the ocean or fresh seafood market.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food. Good presentation!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The food is good. The presentation is excellent. The vegetables are really nice. The price seems a bit overpriced, but it's good. As far as Japanese goes, this is probably the best in State College. You won't be disappointed, but you may leave hungry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raquel_Puerto_Rico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Asian Restaurant also viewed

 
State College, PA
 

Been to Sakura Asian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing