We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express during a trip to Penn State for a college audition. We reserved two doubles but when we got there,we were informed that we had been "upgraded" to a King with pullout sofa. I had seen them for the same price when I made the reservation so I know it was not really an upgrade. They had at least 2 high school groups there and needed the doubles. But, it was not that big of a deal.

The hotel on tbe outside was beautiful. The hallways and rooms were nice and reasonably clean.The beds were ok but the pillows were not the greatest. My biggest complaint was breakfast. They were obviously not prepared for the school groups. No sausage and the eggs were cold and runny. Many other items were out. That being said, I have travelled with school groups and know it can be challenging.

For the price we paid, it was a decent value.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latebrake54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize for the service you received during breakfast. I have addressed your experience with our hospitality staff. We strive to provide excellent customer service and will use your experience as an opportunity to improve those skills. I hope you will give us another opportunity when visiting State College to exhibit the true Holiday Inn Express experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

Everything was top notch! Breakfast bar included fresh eggs and sausage and you could make your own pancakes. Staff was very helpful. They located a step stool so my mom could climb into the bed! The handicapped accessible room was great for my Mom. It snowed and were stuck for another night. We went to lunch and when we came back the handicapped parking spot was shoveled out! Kimberley was so sweet and helpful I really appreciate all her help. You'll be happy you stayed here. I'll be back to the Holiday Inn Express the next time I'm in town to visit family

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinjaMom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your stay. We strive to provide excellent customer service. I have shared your positive comments with the staff and with Kimberly. We hope you will stay with us in the future when visiting State College!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The accommodations were very comfortable, clean, and convenient to Penn State campus. There were several choices of places to eat in close proximity also. Nice breakfast buffet. I would certainly choose this motel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Good day James M,

I wanted to thank you for taking time to describe your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express - State College. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel and amenities. Please come back and see us when your travels bring you back to State College. We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

With have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express twice now and have been satisfied both times. The staff is very pleasant. Hotel is modern and clean. Free breakfast is included and is adequate.

Our room w/a king size bed also had a sofa. Rooms are spacious.

There are 3 national chain restaurants within essentially right next to the hotel.

Only a few minutes away from Penn State's main campus by car.

Only complaint is the tiny pillows they use. This must be a Holiday Inn Express thing. Management, go out on a limb, buck corporate policy and get some real pillows in the guest rooms.

Would stay hear again when visiting State College.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junkd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Junkdon,
Many thanks for your kind words regarding your recent stay in State College. You paid us the biggest compliment by being a repeat customer. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Why is this the best? Beautiful lobby, renovated guest rooms, spacious and luxurious guest rooms with a comfortable bed, fancy sink outside of the bathroom. Room has just been renovated but the bathroom has not. Bathroom has nice functional countertop and great shower water pressure. Very nice breakfast buffet included which we had in their nice lobby/dining area. Very helpful front desk staff, helping us find a nice restaurant for dinner. Holiday Inn Express has definitely upped their game in the hotel business. Will be back.

Room Tip: I asked the front desk this question and they said all the rooms are the same - they are all spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryScott22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Good afternoon Gary Scott22,
Your comments will surely bring a cheer from our team....we truly strive to be the best!! Thank you for your comments and choosing the Holiday Inn Express - State College for your overnight accommodations. We sincerely appreciate your business! Come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great location close to Penn State University campus. Breakfast was good and refilled frequently (the hotel was at full capacity - football weekend). Reception desk personnel were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sus24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Greetings sus24,
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and hot breakfast while visiting the Holiday Inn Express- State College. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to serving you again very soon! GO PSU!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a great hotel right outside Penn State. We stayed here for a football weekend and my hubby's bday at $200.00 per night, where most places charge upwards of $300-$400 per night on a football weekend. They have free, hot breakfast included. Upon our arrival on Friday, gourmet pretzel dogs were in the lobby for free. It is within walking distance aof a few good restaurants and a short drive to the Penn State campus. Originally, we were on the first floor, but a spotlight was shning in our window, so we asked to be re-located to a different floor. The staff accommodated us immediately. The hotel is clean and the staff is super nice. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovetheBeach821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeeItUp666, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Good day Erika N,

I wanted to let you know how much we appreciate your feedback on our hotel and staff. Our housekeeping team works very hard to ensure every guests gets a fresh and comfortable room. Please come back and see us the next time your travels bring you through State College. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#13 of 26 in State College
248 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,342 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square

Address: 1925 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803-1639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in State College
#4 Green Hotel in State College
#11 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range: £54 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel at Williamsburg Square. This friendly, award winning hotel is located just off Interstate 99/ U.S. 220 (322 bypass) minutes from downtown State College and in the heart of Centre County, PA. Visiting Penn State? Situated only 5 minutes from the Main Campus of Penn State, Beaver Stadium and the Bryce Jordan Center. The hotel is also located near South Hills Business School in State College and Juniata College in Huntington. Visiting a customer or other local business? The Colonnade Shopping Center, located close to the hotel, includes such stores as Target, Michael's, Kohl's, Dick's Sporting Goods and Wegman's Grocery store. Hungry? We are a 2-5 minute stroll from Outback, Olive Garden, Cracker Barrel and Texas Roadhouse restaurants. We are also a short drive from Accu-Weather, Raytheon, Chemcut, ARRIS, Schoolwires and PMG. Our hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit including free high-speed Internet! Visiting for leisure? Nestled in the heart of Lion Country, it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest while you are attending the Central Pennsylvania Festival of the Arts, Peoples Choice Festival, Centre County Grange Fair or Bellefonte Art and Crafts Fair. Visiting for an Athletic Event? We are closely located to all the main sporting venues at Penn State University, the McCoy Natatorium, Recreation Hall and the Indoor Track. We are also minutes away from the State College Area High School, Bellefonte Area High School and Hess Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College Hotel State College
Holiday Inn State College
State College Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing