We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location - Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location - Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Overall a nice place to stay. Convenient to the interstate and college campus. Nice selection of restaurants in the complex and the area.

Hotel staff was very pleasant and accomidating. The only issue I experienced was with the heating system. Either on or off. No fan speed selection and when on, it overtook the TV volume. Not very good for a snooze...

I would stay at this location again. Clean, friendly and a good value.

Room Tip: South end of building provides quick exit to neighboring restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Jack A,

Thanks for your review of our property, and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back the next time your in State College. Have a good week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    98
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
113
37
22
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The room was spacious. The staff was friendly. The shower head attached to the hose did not remain up so showering was not easy. The water was cold for the third shower in our room. I removed the couch pillow and under the pillow, the area was dirty and there were some food crumbs. Bed was too small for 2 people but good pillow with choice of firm and soft. WiFi code was not readily available. The hot breakfast was good and there were plenty of choices including make your own pancakes.

Room Tip: We were close to elevators and ice machine. I thought it would be noisy but it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AGC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear AGC34,

I just read your review of our property, and wanted to offer my sincerest apologies for the issues you ran into during your stay with us. My staff and I do our best to make sure all of our guests enjoy their stay with us and apparently we fell a bit short. If you would like to discuss the matter further please feel free to call me at 814-867-1800. Thank you for your review, and I hope you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I booked a 4 night stay at this particular hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. It is located conveniently by a major highway and many restaurants are within a couple of miles. Upon check in I left them know there may be a chance I need to leave early based on issues at work. The front desk associate said everything would be okay and I could even get a late check out if needed. I asked for a high floor room and was given a room on the 4th floor that was very clean and well appointed. I did end up leaving early the next day. The hotel is clean, staff is friendly and the location is excellent. If I have one complaint would be that the grounds were not kept well by the snow removal company. The north east corridor has had a rough winter so some snow is expected but much of the parking lot was still not plowed and the side walks were still covered in snow when I left at 1 pm even though it had stopped snowing hours earlier.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbi4729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenJellison, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Afternoon Robbi4729,

I will definitley agree with you regarding all the snow we have gotten, my apologies that our snow removal folks were unable to clear the lots in a timely manner. I know that they have been working as hard as they can to do so. My team works hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us, and I'm happy to hear that you did. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I hope you will stay with us on your next visit to State College. Have a good weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeastern PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have been to State College many times over the past 4 years but this was the first time we stayed at this property. Given the top TA reviews we expected to leave fully pleased but apparently we caught them on a bad weekend. Good news is a good location, the room was clean, and the staff was very friendly. The bed was comfortable but needed another cover (friendly front desk took care of that). Problem was they had some sort of hot water problem so the best we could get was "lukewarm" on the first morning and "cold" on the more crowded second morning. Others we talked to at breakfast had the same experience There was no communication of a problem but when asked about it the second morning the desk clerk could only say "we are working on it." I understand problems can occur but to let the problem continue for two days and not issue some proactive communication or remediation to guests is not going to secure my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B_and_D_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenJellison, Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear B_and_D_PA,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay with us. I can assure you that this is not a common occurance at our property, and not something that you should expect to encounter while staying with us. Please feel free to contact me directly at (814)-867-9831 at your convenience, if you would like to discuss this further.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Like that they give WiFi for free and it is decent. Good morning breakfast and they start early enough for all people. Staff are friendly and with it all the time. Good location to multiple restaurants. Good job.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Timothy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenJellison, Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Timothy E, We greatly apreciate you taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that my staff was able to surpass your expectations. Our convenient location is certainly a perk for many travelers. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Happy Valley. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The whole experience was extremely pleasant, the staff was very accommodating, the rooms were/are well maintained and very clean, and the breakfast was a great start to the day. I would higly recommend this hotel to any traveler who plans on staying in the State College area!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, no tip needed, stay here and you will be happy you did
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenJellison, Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Petey31, Thank you for taking the time to write a response and share your feedback in regards to your stay with us this past weekend. We strive to provide each of our guests with the best service and a pleasant stay while at our property. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with the service and also that you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast we offer. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you're back in State College. Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

After reading some reviews on this hotel, i was skeptical going in, but the proof was in the pudding. This is an excellent hotel in a great location with many dining options.

First, some reviews reflected negatively on this hotel but our room was extremely clean, very spacious as compared to many chain hotels which give you the squeeze (country inns famous for this), we had a 2 double room that was very spacious and laid out well. Breakfast was good and dining room was very spacious - we even brought some sandwiches in there and had plenty of room w/big screen tvs and fireplace available.

Location - some say that this location is too far from PSU, but there are very few options right next to the campus. We were 5 minutes max from the campus, which was no big deal, and there are multiple dining options for when you arrive back (cracker barrel, texas roadhouse where we had an excellent steak, outback, olive garden) and all were walking distance away.

This all added up to a very relaxing stay at a fine hotel, and i am very picky with these things.

Room Tip: we asked for adjoining room to be w/family and were very well accommodated by the staff. Rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank seve e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenJellison, Manager at Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear s eve e,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We take great pride in our hotel and the level of service that we offer, and we are certainly glad to hear that you were pleased that our property and service surpassed your expectations. Ensuring that our guests have a positive experience with us is our top priority! Thanks again for the kind words, I will be sure to share them with my staff. We would love to have you stay with us again next time you're in the area. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Address: 1925 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in State College
#4 Green Hotel in State College
#11 Family Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel at Williamsburg Square. This friendly, award winning hotel is located just off Interstate 99/ U.S. 220 (322 bypass) minutes from downtown State College and in the heart of Centre County, PA. Visiting Penn State? Situated only 5 minutes from the Main Campus of Penn State, Beaver Stadium and the Bryce Jordan Center. The hotel is also located near South Hills Business School in State College and Juniata College in Huntington. Visiting a customer or other local business? The Colonnade Shopping Center, located close to the hotel, includes such stores as Target, Michael's, Kohl's, Dick's Sporting Goods and Wegman's Grocery store. Hungry? We are a 2-5 minute stroll from Outback, Olive Garden, Cracker Barrel and Texas Roadhouse restaurants. We are also a short drive from Accu-Weather, Raytheon, Chemcut, ARRIS, Schoolwires and PMG. Our hotel offers all the services a business traveler needs for a productive visit including free high-speed Internet! Visiting for leisure? Nestled in the heart of Lion Country, it would be our pleasure to have you as our guest while you are attending the Central Pennsylvania Festival of the Arts, Peoples Choice Festival, Centre County Grange Fair or Bellefonte Art and Crafts Fair. Visiting for an Athletic Event? We are closely located to all the main sporting venues at Penn State University, the McCoy Natatorium, Recreation Hall and the Indoor Track. We are also minutes away from the State College Area High School, Bellefonte Area High School and Hess Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express @ Williamsburg Square, State College Hotel State College
Holiday Inn State College
State College Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing