We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a Sunday night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The lobby has been redone very nicely. The rates are good here if you are staying during the week. It is quiet and there are 3 restaurants and nice shopping nearby. There is only an outdoor pool which can't be used except in the summer. Everything else is great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hello Gary S,

Thank you for writing a review for us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took advantage of the shopping centers in the area. Once again thank you for your review and we will be waiting for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

I would never stay at this hotel again. The staff were rude, and the prices were outrageous. It was the only hotel available at the time, so I was forced to take it. At $500.00 per night for a Hampton Inn, I would have expected more. The management company should be ashamed.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere and book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Jean Ann S,


I'm sorry to read that you were unhappy with the price of the room that you booked. As you may know, Penn State home football games are premium special events. I can assure you that the hotel's pricing for the Michigan State football game was in line with the other 23 hotels available for lodging in State College. Lower tiered hotels which offer far less amenities are available for booking at a relatively lower rate. Our front desk staff keeps a listing of current pricing of these hotels, and is always happy to provide patrons with this information. We never want a patron to feel forced to book a reservation due to a lack of lodging options.


I am also apologetic to read that you found our staff to be rude. Unfortunately, your posting does not elaborate on the subject in any detail, aside from your dissatisfaction with the rate. It is our continued goal to surpass the expectations of our guests. In your case this goal was unmet. Please consider contacting me at 814-231-1899 to discuss what we can do to correct this situation. Happy Holidays to you and yours.


Sincerely,




Mark Burnett
Property General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Beds are the best at Hampton Inns! Staff here was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast to go is a nice feature. Very clean, beautiful rooms. Desk gave us excellent directions from the college. Check in and check out was speedy. We can't wait to go back when we visit State College again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Theodore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hello Theodore S,

Thank you for taking to the time to write a review for us. We are always happy to see guests who have enjoyed their stay, and we can not wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hotel is super nice smells like new construction adn the breakfeast is simply great, 100% satisfied. The location is really good close to Penn State and other amenities. Close to many restaurants. The hotel feels cozy and safe. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank trvel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear trvel1,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are just a convenient drive away from Penn State as well as other places in State College. We hope that you come back during your next stay in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were visiting our daughter at Penn State for the first time and we were exceptionally pleased with this hotel. Clean, quiet, friendly staff, complimentary coffee, tea and cookies. Will definitely stay here next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Esta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Esta B,

Thank you for your kind review. We always are happy to see a guest who has enjoyed their stay with us. At the Hampton we offer complimentary coffee throughout the day and fresh baked chocolate chip cookies in the evening for you enjoyment, as well as breakfast and wifi throughout the whole hotel. We will be expecting you on your next trip into town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

If it weren't for the noise, I would have definitely given this hotel at least 4 stars.

The room was pleasant and the bed was very comfortable. After driving through some horrible rain, we were looking for the comfort of a good nights sleep, so I was especially pleased that there were room darkening curtains on the window that actually worked! But as I realized during the night, this hotel is close to the the highway and right off of a very busy road. We were able to hear road noise in our room all night. (We were in a room in the front of the building, on the top floor directly above the small roof of the entry way.) That wasn't bad enough, when at around 7:00am there was the sound of a JACK HAMMER!!! Ah, what a lovely wake up alarm on a morning that I was just hoping to sleep in. It was coming from a restaurant that was in front of the Hotel, they were taking out their sidewalk. Not a pleasant wakeup call.

I think what was the most disappointing was at the front desk during checkout. I was asked how our stay was and I told him it was noisy. His reply was "Gee, we have never gotten that complaint, and you were on the top floor." Then I mentioned the road noise and the jack hammer. And his reply was "Yea, they started that some time after 7am, didn't they?". Really?!? No, "I'm sorry for that", or "I hope you will give us another chance in the future". Just basically a disregard for the issue I had at their establishment.

(It should be noted that I have stayed at the other two hotels in the immediate area and I do not recall ever hearing the road noise as loud as I did this particular stay. And I think I may have even stayed at this hotel before but I believe that I most likely had a room facing the back of the building.)

Other than the noise, it is a fine hotel. The breakfast spread was ample and well maintained. The layout of the tables and chairs is a bit of a bother as it is hard to walk through them while folks are sitting there as the chairs are rather large and the area is a bit crowded.

Every area of the hotel appeared to be well kept and very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hello debcav,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am sorry to hear about the noises you experienced during your stay and the response you got from the front desk agent. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you come to State College.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was very impressed that every small detail had been considered when preparing the hotel for guests. There were no letdowns or surprises--everything was clean, comfortable, quiet and of the highest quality. I highly recommend Hampton Inn in State College for your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Lachlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex J, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Good day Lachlan M,

Thank you for your very kind review and for staying with us. We are always happy to see a guest who has enjoyed their stay to the fullest. We hope you choose us again the next time that you are in the State College area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
584 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#11 of 26 in State College
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square

Address: 1955 Waddle Rd, State College, PA 16803-1639
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in State College
#4 Green Hotel in State College
#6 Romantic Hotel in State College
#11 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £70 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Hotel in State College at Williamsburg Square is an excellent choice when planning your visit to the home of the Penn State Nittany Lions. The Hampton Inn boasts all the modern amenities you would expect from a Hampton Inn. Make yourself at home in one of the 71 stylish, fully-furnished guest rooms with a 32" flat-screen LCD television, easy to operate alarm clock/radio, large work desk, and free high-speed internet access. You'll also enjoy the convenience of having a coffee maker and iron/ironing board in your room. Start the day off with Hampton's free hot breakfast or opt for free drinks in the beverage area. If you’re in a rush, pick up a Hampton's on the run breakfast bag available Monday through Friday. Go for a dip in the outdoor pool, enjoy an invigorating workout in the exercise room, and pick up a few essentials from the convenience store. Host a meeting in the conference room with available space for up to 50 people. Corporate guests can stay connected in the fully-equipped business center. The Penn State campus is just minutes from the hotel, and all the wonderful shopping and dining of downtown State College is just minutes away. Consider staying with us on your next trip to State College Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Square
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square Hotel State College
Hampton Inn State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing