We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Penn state must stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very convenient to PSU, clean, really pleasant staff, really nice 2 night stay when moving our student into her dorm. The breakfasts are more than sufficient too. Prices are steep for the football weekends and they have a 2 night stay minimum on most of those which would discourage me from booking. They did however always have hot coffee available and cookies too so it was very homey:)

Room Tip: Upper floor was quiet if you aren't too close to the lobby stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thanks for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    211
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
460
109
36
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Girard, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here the evening before moving our daughter into her Penn State dorm room. We were impressed with the cleanliness and quietness of the hotel. The pool and hot tub were open until midnight which was nice, and the free breakfast was fine for us. It has an attractive lobby and helpful staff. There are books to borrow and cookies available to guests.The rooms are well appointed and as I mentioned before, they were very clean. It isn't within walking distance of the college, but certainly close enough. We will try to stay here each time we come down.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Great to hear from you. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome to the Country Inn and Suites family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro atlanta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

In town for an interview. Stayed here as recommended by the potential employer. Clean room, good breakfast, close to Penn State Campus. I even received an upgraded room while reserving under the corporate rate, I guess they ran out of standard rooms but I had no real use for the jacuzzi, nice to know it was available though.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kholley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you get to return to the area, and will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I just stayed at this hotel and was really comfortable. The hotel is extremely clean and up-to-date. The staff was helpful and friendly, couldn't ask for a better hotel in State College. Will be coming back! Thanks for the great service!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjpiranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were mostly satisfied with our stay at the Country Inn and Suites in State College Pennsylvania. When we returned to our room after spending the entire day at PSU, we were surprised to find that our room had not yet been cleaned by5:00 PM. When I inquired with the cleaning staff who were still on our floor, they indicated that our room would be next. So we left for dinner at Damon's just down the street. Upon our return 2 hours later, we were shocked to discover that the staff still had not touched our rooms. I immediately went down to the front desk and they were receptive to my complaints but were not anxious to correct the matter. I instructed them to have someone take care of the situation as soon as possible while I went to the pool to de-stress.......

The room was cleaned by 8:30 PM. Things should not have gone this far.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvyLeagueBaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are constantly trying to improve our guest experience. We apologize if you didn't enjoy an excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A nice Country Suites Hotel. This chain generally has nice properties; most are very similar. This one is above average in terms of friendly, helpful service and condition. It is located on the main street of State College about a mile from downtown and quite near the athletic facilities - football and baseball stadiums, etc. There are many places to eat nearby and it is just off the major highway. The rates are a bit high for this chain, but most of the others in town also are a bit high. I'd certainly recommend this as a good place to stay in State College and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a King Suite, which consisted of a separate bedroom and a living area with sofa bed. There w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMS48301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My brother and I shared a room on a genealogy trip to State College. It was the cleanest hotel I've stayed at in quite a while. Plenty of parking, nice rooms, although a little on the small side. Breakfast area was large and kept constantly clean and stocked by the staff. Reasonably priced. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
520 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
237 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
82 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing