We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Clean and quite, Great Staff. Highly recommended this hotel. They started the breakfast early for the soccer teams that had a early game. Great for family stay. We are planning to stay again here next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We appreciate your comments, i am glad you had a great stay while staying with us. We do an extensive Breakfast Buffet, we are glad that you enjoyed it. We hope to see you next year and feel free to call Ashley in our Sales Office and she will be happy to work with you to accommodate your group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hi, Whenever in need of a place to stay, please consider the Country inns & Suites. The place is spotless, the staff is very accommodating, and the room we stayed in was just right. There were 2 of us and we each had our own Queen Size comfy bed! The rooms are also equipped with a refrigerator and a microwave. And if this wasn't all, a complimentary breakfast is offered. A terrific variety of foods at this self-serve breakfast is a great way to start your day. Lemonade is flowing all day as well as a coffee and tea station with wonderful gooey cookies and bananas! The staff, again, couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. We had a wonderful stay and i know you will too! Please consider the Country Inns & Suites. You won't be disappointed. I bet on it! :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Vicky J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I am glad you had a great staying at our hotel! The entire team takes great pride in providing a great experience to all of our guests. During the warm weather we do provide complimentary lemonade and in the winter we will switch over hot chocolate or warm cider (as long as it is available) Warm cookies are available every day and all day long. Whenever you are visiting State College again, we hope to see you and we will give you the same service again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Country Inn & Suites in State College, PA is definitely the place you want to stay if you are visiting the Penn State area. The hotel is new and very well maintained. My room was spacious, very clean and I got a good nightly rate. They have free wifi, an indoor pool, a spa and a fitness center. They also offer a free breakfast. However, those are just the basics. The main reason that this is a great place to stay is the staff. The people working at this hotel are not only friendly, polite, professional and very well trained, but they really do care about their customers. I was only staying one night, but they made me feel important and well looked after from the moment I walked in. Although this was a busy weekend for them, shortly after I got to my room I received a call from the front desk checking to make sure everything was ok. This impressed me. What impressed me even more was when members of the housekeeping staff knocked on my door (without being called). They wanted to make sure that they had filled my request for pillows without feathers (submitted with my online reservation, and not mentioned at check-in). I do not often see this kind of attention to detail when I stay at a hotel, but apparently, it is an ordinary thing at the Country Inn & Suites in State College, PA. I can only imagine the pleasant surprises I would have had if I had stayed for longer than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We are the newest hotel in State College.We at the Country Inn & Suites take tremendous pride in providing the best service every day to all of our guests. I am sorry you had a short stay this time, on your next trip please plan to spend a few days and enjoy the facility but more importantly enjoy the community that we all live and work in. We Are Penn State. We look forward to seeing you soon. Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

At 07:00 there was no hot water in the room. We had booked two nights but did not stay a second. The manager was quite rude and made no attempt to compensate for the issue. I will never stay at one of these hotels again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
1  Thank 66th0mash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We are very sorry that you did not have an opportunity to enjoy a nice hot shower. I have personally spoken to the Manger on Duty and counselled him on how to address issues like yours. We normally do not have any issues related to hot water as we have a large enough capacity to replenish the usage. We did have a large group of young adults staying at the hotel that where going out to play soccer that morning and that could have been the reason. However, I do apologize for the inconvenience. We would appreciate if you would give us another opportunity to provide the service that we usually deliver every day to all of our guests. We do look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent at the State College Country Inns & Suites. The rooms were big enough to move around in comfortably, the bathrooms were also big. Our room had a refrigerator that was already cold and the beds were comfortable. We will definitely stay there again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

When I arrived at the hotel I had prompt and courteous service at the front desk and received a welcome bag with info on the hotel a bottle of water and a snack pack of Oreos. About 45 minutes after checking someone from the hotel called me to make sure my room was good and to see if there was anything else that I needed. The room was large and clean! Fridge, microwave, and free wifi. Breakfast was good. Large dining room that was clean. Plenty of breakfast options. I was very impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebanonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a wonderful hotel. The front desk, the room, the price - all absolutely terrific! I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay at Country Inn next time through State College. By the way, the included free breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank metfan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
563 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,322 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#14 of 26 in State College
152 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range: £70 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing