We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Close to campus, downtown, the freeway and the airport. Super-responsive shuttle service. Plenty of room to move around in the room. Those were some of the pluses from my stay. On 2 days housekeeping was less than 100% but nothing to complain about. Good range of breakfast items for a day or two. I would stay here again. Now that there is a new restaurant across the street, it's even more convenient.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank MLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty Donley M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We are located in a convenient location of State College for easy access to many things. If you don't feel like driving, our shuttle service will be more than happy to do the driving for you, anywhere within a five mile radius of our hotel. We strive for excellence in customer service and we take pride in giving our guest the best satisfaction possible. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next time you are here for business.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Attended a college-search function at PSU with family. Chose this hotel because it was only one in area to offer 2 queen-sized beds. Clean, convenient to PSU, polite staff, quiet stay. Only stayed one night so didn't use pool or gym. Wifi speed could be improved. I would stay at this location again when visiting PSU.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty Donley M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We are the newest hotel in the State College and continue to keep our property clean and new. We, here at the Country Inn & Suites take tremendous pride in providing the best service every day to all of our guests. I am sorry to hear that you were here for only an overnight stay, on your next trip please plan to spend a few days and enjoy the facility but more importantly enjoy the community that we all live and work in. We Are Penn State! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I just stayed at the hotel for several days. Our room was ready early and very comfortable. The beds are great. The staff were very friendly during our trip and took time to talk to us anytime we came by the desk. The hotel was quiet and very well kept so it is definitely a relaxing place to stay. It was nice to get free wi-fi.

It was nice to have a free breakfast to start the day. There was also cookies, fruit and coffee available later during the day by the desk. There are many restaurant choices a few minutes away near the college and there is a supermarket not far from the hotel. The airport is very close too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 764lindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty Donley M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

It was certainly my pleasure to review your comments about our staff and how you enjoyed your stay! We are honored to have a remarkable staff, which go above all for our guests. They always enjoy speaking with the guests and giving their personal recommendations to the guests as to where to dine while in town. Our cookie and coffee bar are a hit with the guest who is looking for a quick snack on the go. We thank you for your business and for choosing Country Inn and Suites.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Clean, comfortable, quiet, friendly staff. 5-10 min to everywhere I needed to be during an extended stay for a conference. The fridge in the room and included breakfast helped save money overall. Breakfast items weren't anything spectacular... meats were a little greasy and eggs were lukewarm -- but it was nice that there were hot items available. Pool and hot tub area are indoors and kept very clean, a nice way to unwind at the end of the day and felt like a bonus at this price point. Try the brewpub across the street for a good evening meal!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty Donley M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

I it always a pleasure to hear from our guests,especially those who have experienced our hotel for the first time,and enjoyed their stay. We have so much to offer our guests and with our rates being very comparable to other hotels in town, our guests love that we are just a few minutes from Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordan Center,and even the Penn Sate campus! We thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
Patty Mandell,AGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was very clean and the staff was nice. I did not use the pool or workout facilities. The breakfast was vey good. The kids in the hotel seemed to enjoy the pool very much. I did not encounter any issues when I was staying here, so I can't comment on the staff fixing issues. The hotel is very close to Penn State campus, which is why we chose is since we were there for a soccer tournament on campus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Ailena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I am glad you like our elaborate breakfast, there are plenty of options both in hot and cold food.Our indoor pool is heated and it is a great space for the kids to have fun. The hotel is located just a mile from the Penn State campus, easy access to the football stadium and the hockey arena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Clean and quite, Great Staff. Highly recommended this hotel. They started the breakfast early for the soccer teams that had a early game. Great for family stay. We are planning to stay again here next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We appreciate your comments, i am glad you had a great stay while staying with us. We do an extensive Breakfast Buffet, we are glad that you enjoyed it. We hope to see you next year and feel free to call Ashley in our Sales Office and she will be happy to work with you to accommodate your group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hi, Whenever in need of a place to stay, please consider the Country inns & Suites. The place is spotless, the staff is very accommodating, and the room we stayed in was just right. There were 2 of us and we each had our own Queen Size comfy bed! The rooms are also equipped with a refrigerator and a microwave. And if this wasn't all, a complimentary breakfast is offered. A terrific variety of foods at this self-serve breakfast is a great way to start your day. Lemonade is flowing all day as well as a coffee and tea station with wonderful gooey cookies and bananas! The staff, again, couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. We had a wonderful stay and i know you will too! Please consider the Country Inns & Suites. You won't be disappointed. I bet on it! :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Vicky J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D S, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

I am glad you had a great staying at our hotel! The entire team takes great pride in providing a great experience to all of our guests. During the warm weather we do provide complimentary lemonade and in the winter we will switch over hot chocolate or warm cider (as long as it is available) Warm cookies are available every day and all day long. Whenever you are visiting State College again, we hope to see you and we will give you the same service again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
563 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,322 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#14 of 26 in State College
152 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Address: 1357 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range: £70 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing