We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Collegeville, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back to school.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

A few bumps in the road during the stay but overall, it was a good stay. Great location for PSU events but like most other hotels, you pay the premium for being close to the university. Comfortable bed, great AC. We watched the deer out our back facing window. Check out is noon but don't go for the free breakfast until 7 on the weekends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    205
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
443
109
36
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

With a child atttending PSU, we've stayed here a few times because of its close proximity to the school. Satisfied in the past, this week was different. We waited in line for about 20 minutes as the lone desk clerk checked in a few walk-ins while juggling the computer and random phone calls. in this case the clerk should have taken the phone callers' names and numbers and helped them when the line of check-ins was complete. It was frustrating to keep watching him prioritize the phone calls as we real-live guests were standing before him.

The room we were given had scuffed-up walls, moldy bathroom shower corners, and when I pulled back the heavy, large red comforter on the bed it was soiled with a crusty material in several areas. We let out a collective "Ewwww!" and felt there was no possible way that Housekeeping missed that. The next morning's breakfast at 8am was another disappointment-- white bread slices only--no bagels or pastries. No fresh or canned fruit, no sausage or bacon with the scrambled eggs. Two out of three waffle makers were broken and about 8 people were waiting to make waffles being that they were just about the only food item available. Guests shouldn't be required to be at breakfast by 6am in order to get a decent selection. Major disappointment, and because it wasn't just one incident this visit but several, we will be looking for a different hotel for our next visit to PSU.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank historyTravelersNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. Our goal is to ensure we are offering fresh food and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great Staff - helpful, innovative
Rooms -Nicely sized,Clean
Facilities-Not bad for AModest motel, pool,Modest sized fitness room

As far as I am concerned This is the only place to stay In State College... Great value!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty Donley M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elysburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

From Check in to Check Out this is a great property in State College to utilize. Close to downtown and also Beaver Stadium. The price was right for State College properties. This was not a football weekend so I'm not sure how the rates change. Rooms were great, breakfast was good, staff was excellent!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty Donley M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your great comments! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that the staff made you feel right at home! We enjoy providing our guests with clean, comfortable accommodations with a touch of home, which is why guests like coming to the Country! We are just a few miles from the Bryce Jordan Center, Beaver Stadium and the Pegula Arena and the downtown area. We thank you for your business and look forward to you staying with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for several nights for the Volleyball tournament at Penn State. Our room was very clean, very nice, comfortable. Staff was very nice, breakfast was good, hot tub was clean and the gym was also clean. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genesis718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty Donley M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Our staff takes great pride in the service they offer our guests and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are conveniently located just a few short blocks from Penn State and downtown State College. We thank you for your business during your Volleyball Tournament; we hope to see you again! We thank you for your business and for choosing the Country Inn and Suites for your volleyball lodging.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAUWATOSA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night while I was in State College to help my daughter move out of her apartment. I had reserved a room with one queen and instead I was upgraded to a suite. The room was very comfortable. The hotel is the newest in State College and is clean and pleasant. I enjoyed the breakfast. Its not five star, but it was a good way to start the day

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Dafwcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Picked this hotel after doing internet search. Very nice hotel in State College to stay with family. Staff was very nice and cannot beat the free breakfast and amenities, including small pool, hot tub, and gym with eliptical, treadmill and bike. Very close to Penn State Campus and Stadiums. Can see top of Beaver Stadium from hotel. Highly recommend for any stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty Donley M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area), responded to this review, 7 September 2014
We are the newest hotel in the State College. We, here at the Country Inn & Suites take tremendous pride in providing the best service every day to all of our guests. I am glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the pool and fitness areas during your stay. I know that there are hotels who don't offer those amenities and it is nice to enjoy them, when you are away from home. We are very fortunate as well to have rooms that you can take in the sight of Beaver stadium and the area surrounding it. We feel like; We Are Penn State and we look forward to assisting our guests who come to the area and stay with us with local shuttle service to the downtown area and airport as well. We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing Country Inn and Suites.

Sincerely,
Patty Mandell,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#11 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Address: 1357 East College Avenue, State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in State College is the area's newest lodging property, that offers 113 clean, comfortable and consistant accommodations with a touch of home! The hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool and spa, fitness room, and meeting room. We're located just minutes from the Penn State Campus, on College Avenue/Route 26 at the US 322 Intersection. Come be our guest at the Country Inn and Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing