We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penn Stater Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It is nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a nice hotel. Very clean. Very helpful staff. My friend and I stayed here on a Saturday night as our friend's wedding reception was in the hotel. The only negative is that you can hear all noise from the hallway. Thankfully folks were not loud after 11pm but if they had been, it would have been impossible to sleep. Not sure what they can do about it - get heavier doors?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuidedbyGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    152
    46
    11
    17
See reviews for
140
41
21
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SVaughn1
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

What a great hotel! Courteous, efficient and friendly staff all around --- modern and spacious accommodations --- and a shuttle to/from the ballgame. Anyone traveling to State College for a ballgame would do well to choose PSCC --- A.K.A. "The Penn Stater".

Yes, even the fans of the visiting team are treated like the most important visitor they have. The management obviously goes out of its way to instill a superlative sense of professionalism in every staff member.

If we have the occasion to return to State College --- we will definitely stay at the PSCC.

Room Tip: being in an business park --- I don't believe there is a bad room. External disturbances/traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVaughn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Solid choice if you're in town for Penn State athletics as it's just a couple of miles from Beaver Stadium and other athletic facilities (bonus: gameday football shuttle). Common space is nicely done, rooms could use an update (namely the bedding) but are clean and sufficient. On-site restaurant a decent option. Note you'll definitely need a car here as there is nothing adjacent to the hotel. Ample and easy parking situation (no charge). Very quiet. Staff is very friendly. Would likely return as it's likely one of the best of available options in State College.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is my third trip to the Penn State Conference Center and it's a great location just outside of town with solid amenities. The check-in process was seamless and the staff wonderful. Our room was very good and the beds extremely comfortable (and clean). The bathroom was acceptable yet the faucets are the type that you cannot easily control so don't get dressed for business and then need to use the sink as you'll be sprayed with water. We had difficulties with the key as several times it would not work so we needed to repeatedly try ii.

Loved the in-room refrigerator (very clean) and the storage area above it. The walls are thin as we had an issue with the people next door -- sounded like they were standing in our room. Our TV went on by itself at 6:00 a.m. -- a bit disconcerting. The CATA (bus) runs directly from the front of the conference center to campus which was very convenient and they also have a shuttle as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the main entrance/parking lot as you'll have a great view of Mt. Nitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beetlemom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

The Penn Stater is a convenient place to stay while attending events at the attached Conference Center. The hotel offers friendly staff, spacious rooms with refrigerators, on site dining options and easy access to campus. Room decor and cleanliness was average but acceptable. I felt that sound carried through the walls quite a bit, however the location of my room was near the elevator and overlooking the entrance to the hotel. The pool, gym area and grounds around the hotel were well maintained and enjoyable.

As a side note, I found the Conference Center to be exceptional. There was a constant, positive staff presence to assist with conference questions or difficulties, provide refreshments and prepare and serve lunch. I was especially impressed with how rapidly staff members would tend to clearing used plates and dishes. Overall, the conference center was kept spotless, despite the high volume of people in attendance.

A conference and hotel stay at the Penn Stater should leave most business travels more than satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30_by_thirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
187 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I've stayed at other hotels in State College, but this was the first time at the Penn Stater. It was easy to find, directly off of the interstate. As I drove up, I thought I was arriving at a dormitory. The building has a distinctly institutional appearance which doesn't end once inside. The check-in staff was efficient & nice.

The purpose of my trip was a wedding which was also located at the hotel. The hotel is large and confusing to navigate. Two weddings were going on and it was a bit tricky to find ours.

Our room was in the center of a looonnng corridor, also very dormitory-like. The room itself was a decent size furnished with a desk and flat screen TV. The bathroom was quite small with Penn State navy blue wallpaper. The room was very clean with plenty of towels. Bed comfort was so-so. Probably time for new mattresses. One complaint was the noise level in the corridor as people came back at night. Usually I travel with a noise machine, but unfortunately forgot it this time. My biggest complaint was the paper delivery person, who threw newspapers at every door at 5:30 AM, which echoed throughout the hallway.

Drinks at the bar were good, though the bartenders stood around and couldn't seem to decide who should make our drinks, though we were the only ones there at the time.

The Penn Stater is far from town, but close to the stadium and Brice Jordan Center. There is a free shuttle that will take you to town or to other bars & restaurants. Last shuttle back to the hotel is at midnight. If you stay out later it's around a $10 cab ride back to the hotel.

On Sunday morning, I ate at the Gardens restaurant. They have a full brunch for $17 or a continental brunch for $8. The continental featured local bakery items & yogurt and was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester
Level Contributor
313 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Our state conference comes here often, and the place gets better each year. My reservation instuction specifys a quiet room; the front desk informed me that I was in the same room as the last time. The last time was 2 years ago, so that's impressive. It was a quiet room. HVAC system runs with a constant fan, and does a great job. Room is clean & spacious. Bathroom is updated with nice features. Even the hair dryer works (so many hotels disable the hair dryer by tripping the ground fault interrupter). Nice hot shower with a curved curtain. Nice soap & shampoo amenities.

Along with the nice property, the staff is great at all levels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#15 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Stater Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Stater Conference Center

Property: Penn Stater Conference Center
Address: 215 Innovation Blvd, State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in State College
#6 Family Hotel in State College
#8 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penn Stater Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penn Stater Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn State Hotel State College
Penn State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing