We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice property near PSU”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penn Stater Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
543 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Really nice property near PSU”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Recently stayed at the Penn Stater for the second time, this is a really nice hotel. While it is technically in the area of Penn State University, it is in a very remote area so you really have to drive anytime you want to go anywhere. However, the hotel has a very convenient shuttle service that will take you where you want to go, then pick you up when you're ready to return to the hotel. I used this service numerous times during my stay and the drivers were always friendly and got me quickly to my desired location. As for the room, it was clean and spacious, with a nice view of the mountains. The bed was comfortable, the room temperature was good and the shower had good water pressure. There is a small indoor pool, I did not use it this time but it is an adequate pool, not for laps though. The hotel also has a really size restaurant and lounge called Legends, it has good food and service and stays open until about midnight each night. If I had to make one comment on something they could improve, it would be providing a continental breakfast for guests. While they do provide morning coffee and a newspaper, providing breakfast would be great, especially with the remote location. Overall though, I really enjoyed my stay and would certainly return to the Penn Stater in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay, and certainly thank you for returning as our guest! We appreciate the suggestions for improvement and hope that you may be able to take advantage of some of our packages throughout the year, many of which do include breakfast. If there is anything that we may ever do to better customize your stay to your preferences, please be sure to let us know. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    157
    47
    11
    17
See reviews for
144
41
21
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I had heard a lot of good things about the Penn Stater and stayed there during my son's freshman PSU orientation. The hotel and the room seemed nice enough but there were several problems. I rarely watch TV in a hotel but I switched it on to watch the final round of US Open. The TV was outmoded and the picture was fuzzy. The room was also noisy; I couldn't tell if it was the ice maker or the elevator or both. Finally, the water in the shower wouldn't get hot. One plus is that room service has creamery ice cream.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the elevator or the ice maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLBlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We appreciate every opportunity to hear about our guests' experience and are happy to let you know that we have just replaced the televisions in our guest rooms! Each guest room has new flat-panel TVs for your in-room enjoyment. We do hope to have the opportunity to see you over the next few years that your son is a student, and to continue building a relationship with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at the Penn stater for a club volleyball tournament. Hotel was close to campus and sports facilities. Very quiet (even with high school girls in groups..). Room was large and very clean.

The pub (Legends) was very reasonably priced and excellent food.

No issues and quick check in / check out.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sicilian_1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Vermont
Level Contributor
214 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a wonderful hotel which tends to cater to many conferences large and small. It's located on the edge of campus in a nice area. The shuttle service of this hotel is very generous and accommodating. They'll pick you up from the airport, take you downtown and other locations on campus and bring you back when you need them to. Great service by hotel staff and drivers. Staff is very friendly, helpful, well groomed, and quite professional.

Rooms are fairly large, clean, and comfortable. The layout of the rooms and bathrooms does change between two styles. I had the pleasure of staying in both. In one room, the bathroom is quite large and has a mirror like wall that sits between the toilet and tub. The mirror is convenient as you can stand outside of the bathroom and use it to get ready. In the other room, the bathroom is a little tight.

There is a restaurant and a pub in the hotel. Legends is a nice pub with good food and brew. Good place to relax and chat with others even if you don't know them. Most who patronize the pub are attendees of some conference or another. I was surprised with the Room Service prices. They are the as eating in Legends, so that was a nice thing to see. If you would like to take a walk, there is a walking/jogging path to the right of the hotel, which eventually brings you under the highway and to the campus. It's a good walk if you are into walking and exercising. I walked from the hotel to the Berkey Creamery and back and it was fine.

Enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms above the 1st floor. That way, you can take the elevators in the hotel lobby or the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkydogVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give great feedback on your stay! We genuinely appreciate our guests helping others to picture what their stays will be like, and are so happy to hear that you were comfortable during your stay. We hope you enjoyed your ice cream and that we will have the opportunity to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is a beautiful "Conference Center". The rooms are spacious enough for even 4 although we had 2. The beds were very comfortable! It is immaculately cleaned. And, the biggest surprise is that the hotel Pub offer excellent food at a reasonable price. It is kind of "off the beaten path" so you would need a car to do any shopping or site seeing but, they do offer a shuttle to some places but, we did not use it. My Staff and I look forward to attending our annual conference here!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the gardens offer a beautiful view. Also, for those with physical health conc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Knowing that we give our guests a place to look forward to is why we love what we do! Being just off-campus does provide a sense of calm with the beauty of Mt. Nittany and our Courtyard Gardens in view from many of our rooms. If you find a room that you really love during your stays, please let us know so that we can try to give you "your room" each year! Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback -- we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avis, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel, although I've been to it several times for conferences. The room was large and very clean, and had the expected amenities for such a place. However, the bathroom was surprisingly small. You had to do a bit of maneuvering to close the door, but that was a minor annoyance. The issue I had the most with was the fact that the wall vent was aimed directly at the bed. So, you could expect to get blasted in the face regardless of what speed you put the fan on. And, you can't adjust the direction of the vent. This made my sleep difficult, but not impossible. The hotel staff was willing to make other accommodations, but at the most inopportune time, since I was in and out for meetings, But, they were very friendly and helpful with other things I needed. My job paid for my stay, and that would be the only reason for me to stay again. If you're attending a conference at the hotel as well, then it is without a doubt convenient, and would be worth the price. Otherwise, there are other hotels in town that offer the same amenities at a cheaper price. Also, the hotel is not close to any stores, so be prepared to drive for whatever you need. If not for the vent, this hotel would've gotten 4 stars.

Room Tip: Be sure to that the ventilation is not directed towards the bed, unless you don't mind being bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We appreciate your feedback on your stay and we are so sorry to hear that you had challenges with the ventilation in your room. Please know that we have a variety of room configurations and sizes and certainly will always do our best to put you in a room that is the most comfortable for you! If you find yourself here for a meeting in the future, or simply for a visit to the area, please know that our Guest Services team is available from 5am to Midnight daily, offering complimentary shuttle service throughout the local area for your convenience. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to see you again at another time and to give you an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have stayed dozens of times at The Penn Stater and have always been very happy with their accommodations.The staff is outstanding . They keep a record of our likes and dislikes and make sure we get room we prefer-higher floor ,view, and corner if possible.They have a large array of room types. Choose online the type of room that you want.We get connecting suite and double when staying with our grandchildren. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained.The have a shuttle to take you to town and drivers very friendly and knowledgeable. They will also pick you up return to hotel. The service is free except for the tip that you'll want to give.Rooms very clean , large, and quiet(rarity in State College) .The rooms have high speed internet (no cost)wet bar ,mini- refrigerator, hairdryer , and coffee maker( We always bring Starbucks Via instant). The
Garden Restaurant VG . Also like the food Sports bar Legends and room service.
Prices for FB games vary by game from $329 to $219 and require 2 night minimum.
However other times can often get room for around $100. The fireworks are one of top 10 displays in US. We booked 4th of July at only $104 a night. The Arts festival is $169. Another night was $114. They do have an indoor pool and gym that people seem to be unaware of because we often have to ourselves. Only downside for some people is very long walk to town or campus-that is why they have shuttle vans and shuttle buses.

Room Tip: Get the suite- often same price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
What wonderful feedback -- thank you for taking the time to give it! We are so thankful to have built a relationship with you and look forward to continuing on in the future. We'll see you this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
757 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#12 of 26 in State College
461 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,218 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Stater Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Stater Conference Center

Property: Penn Stater Conference Center
Address: 215 Innovation Blvd, State College, PA 16803-6603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in State College
#6 Family Hotel in State College
#8 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penn Stater Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penn Stater Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn State Hotel State College
Penn State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing