We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penn Stater Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place, out of the way”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I were attending a banquet, so we booked a room for the night. The hotel is modern, but looks like a Penn State dorm from the outside. Efficient check in and a quick elevator ride took us up to our room. It was two double beds with a couch and comfortable chair. The bathroom was spacious and clean and there was a bar sink on the outside.
Checkout was simply dropping off the room keys, again very efficient.
The banquet facilities were OK. Food was decent and drinks at the cash bar were reasonably priced.
Only complaint was that the hallways were noisy at night as the hotel was hosting a couple of wedding receptions and some of the guests were pretty loud going back to their rooms.
Also, if you're going anywhere on campus or in town, you will need to use your car or a shuttle bus. With the exception of Innovation Park, this place is pretty much in the middle of nowhere. The football stadium and basketball arena could be reached on foot if you need the exercise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have a nice view of the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pencilneck11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    161
    47
    11
    18
See reviews for
151
43
24
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A solid boutique property, very near the heart of campus. Comfortable beds and good HVAC system. Not walking distance to anywhere! Not near town, so a car is required. They do offer a shuttle service, but I did not use it. Staff were frazzled by minor requests, like late checkout.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DCDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I want to commend the staff at the penn stater even during their busiest weekend..college graduation....they were on top of everything...wheelchairs, room concerns and even when I left some behind...they were cheerful, helpful and followed through to the letter!~!! I especially want to commented Katie C. for going that extra mile for me....if I am ever in the area....I will be sure to go back...atmosphere and everything you need at your fingertips!! thx...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sltworkout53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are so grateful to have had the opportunity to share such a special occasion with you! Thank you for the kind words about our team - we will be sure to share them! We appreciate you sharing your experience and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I are sticklers about cleanliness, a good night's sleep, and not to mention a feeling of comfort and security. Penn Stater offers it all. Check out the architecture and gardens!
The convenience to the main highways is a plus. Didn't have a problem locating the hotel at all. Signage is good.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and roomy. A/C is very quiet. perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Now that Summer is here, the Courtyards are some of our favorite places on property - I'm glad that you enjoyed the view! Thank you for taking the time to give others your opinion of the property; we appreciate your vote of confidence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Don't expect much if you stay here. What bothered us the most was how unfriendly the staff were. We always love visiting Penn State because people are so friendly there. So it was additionally disappointing that the check in staff were so snooty. They just couldn't be bothered with saying hello or being nice. Also, the room was not cleaned well. It was such a sharp contrast to the Nittany Lion Inn, where we usually stay. Definitely won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtd143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Penn Stater Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I am so sorry to hear that you had a less than stellar experience with our team members! It is certainly our goal to give a wonderful experience to all of our guests and I apologize that this was not your experience. I assure you that this is not the norm for our guest experience and truly hope that we may have another opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations. We do appreciate the feedback and thank you for taking the time to share your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in the Penn Stater for a meeting at Penn State. The hotel is very nice (clean, modern, great shower), with beautiful gardens surrounding. HOWEVER, it took me about an hour on two occasions to get the (free) ATT WiFi working. I called the Help Desk and after 10 minutes the technician pretty much said "you're on your own". On one occasion I went to the lobby and logged in; things subsequently worked in my room. On another occasion, I just let my computer sit and after about 5 minutes the login spontaneously activated. I've not had this level of trouble in more than 10 years. The hotel staff were sympathetic,but there was little they could do. Except for the WiFi, I give the place high marks.

Room Tip: There are two elevators; the halls are long. Ask the check-in person for something near the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikegboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel and conference center knows what they are doing! The staff was friendly, courteous and very helpful. The food served at the conference was fabulous. Highly recommend if you are planning a business meeting or conference.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
787 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Stater Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Stater Conference Center

Property: Penn Stater Conference Center
Address: 215 Innovation Blvd, State College, PA 16803-6603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in State College
#6 Family Hotel in State College
#8 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penn Stater Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Penn Stater Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn State Hotel State College
Penn State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing