We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hilton Garden Inn State College”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Hilton Garden Inn State College”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Very nice place. Excellent bed, friendly people and very clean.

Room Tip: Value for the money, but does not include breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManivR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    150
    47
    18
    5
See reviews for
203
69
22
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed here for one night while traveling for business. The room was outdated and the carpet was worn out. The staff was really nice and the restaurant on premise was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancunies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown
Level Contributor
528 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Some minor issues with coupons and some equipment int he gym that was not working but it was the response by Shana at the front desk when I went to report it that impressed me. "That's completely unacceptable and I am sorry". It wasn't to be clear - minor issues that happen everywhere but she genuinely felt it was unacceptable and was apologizing - nice touch and a welcome change form some of the more typical response when you report problems

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn during our trip to find housing and a preschool in State College. It's about a mile away from the Penn State campus and downtown State College, so although it's fairly convenient to these areas, you won't want to stay at this hotel without your own transportation.

Overall we were pleased with our stay. Our room was decent-sized and very clean. Although it was not a suite, our room had a "hospitality center" with a microwave and mini-fridge, which was convenient. Whenever my daughter didn't eat much of her dinner, we could get it in a to-go box and heat it up if she felt hungry later.

The hotel also boasted beds with mattresses that you could adjust for firmness. This was a great idea, but we never tried it. The description of where the dials were was not very clear. We spent some time looking for them on and near the wooden headboard without any luck. It wasn't until our last night that we found them on the mattress itself. They were underneath the fitted sheet; the mattress pad has a velcro flap that you pull out to access the dial. When we finally found the dials, we were too tired to play around with them.

Outside of the room, we enjoyed the indoor pool and spa area. It was on the small side, but well-maintained. We also appreciated the complimentary coffee, cocoa, and cookies available in the lobby all day long.


Breakfast: A lot of mid-range hotels include breakfast, but this one does not. A breakfast is offered for 9.95 a person (6.95 for children 12 and under). That price includes a buffet with hot and cold selections. You also can order from a list of hot dishes (omelets made to order, French toast, etc.) that aren't on the buffet at no additional charge. We ate the hotel breakfast one morning when we were pressed for time. We also knew that we wouldn't be able to eat lunch until late that day, so we figured that it would be worth it to eat a big breakfast. Everything was well prepared, and for our situation that day, we felt that it was our best choice because there isn't much for breakfast near the hotel. That said, we went elsewhere every other day. In all, the hotel breakfast is fine if you think you'll get your money's worth from it.
Bathroom: shower/tub combo
Blow dryer: yes
Crib: We didn't use one, but they are available.
Internet: In-room wifi and wired internet are available free of charge. We had no problems with the wifi.
Elevator: yes
Nearest playground: I didn't see anything within walking distance.

Recommend to childless friends: sure

Recommend to friends with young kids: sure
Website: http://www.hiltongardeninn.com/en/gi/hotels/index.jhtml?ctyhocn=SCESTGI

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddlerTravelsAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Very close to Penn State. Clean and a fast check-in. Did not used the facilities but has pool, gym restaurant, business center, ample parking and a very courteous staff. Very Clean and large rooms. Nice curtains keep the room dark for a very comfortable sleep.
Will definitely stay here every time we go back to Penn State.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisarpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West US
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Many kudos to the staff of this Hilton Garden Inn near Penn State University in State College, PA. There were many examples of great customer service, from the enthusiastic desk clerk who checked me in that night to the engaging food server at dinner in the property's restaurant the following evening. (BTW, the meal was outstanding and so I was glad I decided to dine in. The menu featured local and organic options, including ice cream produced at Penn State's creamery.) The shuttle driver was congenial on the morning I needed to get to campus and was there to pick me up promptly after my meeting at the student union. While I wish the property were closer to campus, I appreciated the availability of the shuttle. (I will say, however, that there was considerable delay, about 30 minutes, in my being picked-up at the State College Airport when I first arrived. That was the only disappointment with my visit.) I would definitely choose to stay at this HGI if I have business again at Penn State. The property was well-run, clean, and everything in the room was in working order. If you go, do have dinner at their restaurant. You won't be disappointed. Many thanks to all who helped make this a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed at the Hilton to visit my daughter at Penn State. It was convenient, clean, had a nice small pool and exercise facilities, both of which were empty and available. Did not eat there. Front desk staff was indifferent but little matter. Would definitely stay there again. Got an excellent rate for this non-football weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEfamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.1 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#11 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#15 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn State College

Property: Hilton Garden Inn State College
Address: 1221 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in State College
#9 Romantic Hotel in State College
#10 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn State College 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in State College, PA is located only one half mile from Beaver Stadium, Lubrano Park/Medlar Field Baseball Stadium, and The Bryce Jordan Center. Plus, we're located one mile south of the Penn State University campus and downtown State College (with a plethora of specialty shops, theater and popular restaurants in the downtown area). Choose from several comfortable guest rooms, or upgrade to one of our luxurious suites that include a separate living area and sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary WiFi, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, comfortable seating areas, a work desk with ergonomic chair as well as other room amenities, including granite bathroom counter tops. Guests who stay at Hilton Garden Inn State College enjoy: our fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool, business center with complimentary printing, 24-Hr Pavilion Pantry Market(R), room service, our on-site restaurant and lounge, and more. Plan your next meeting, conference, wedding or event at our hotel with more than 2,300 sq. ft. of adaptable event and/or meeting space. We make wedding planning easy with our Personalized Online Group Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn State College Hotel State College
Hilton State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing