We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm indoor pool! Close to stadium and BJC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

We spent the night recently and had a lovely experience. Rooms are well appointed, clean, and spacious. Pool was warm and clean. Staff was friendly an helpful. We would stay here again any time! Very close to Bryce Jordan Center and stadium. Convenient to 99

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPAMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

Nice hotel with everything you need to spend a cole of days at PSU, either to be at Penn State U or to go for football. Actually I went for the Ohio game walking to avoid traffic, an only took us 25 minutes from the hotel to the stadium. The gym is very small, but exactly with the gears I needed (jog-treadmill and some polleys). Breakfast was reasonable priced and acceptable.
Almost forgot: beds can be adjusted from soft to hard with a small control that I saw when I was leaving! Make sure you adjust it to your comfort.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor below the lobby as they might be noisy due to proximity to the gym and laundry roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar Rojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Hotel is very nice with good service. We had a room with a whirlpool tub. The problem was it was a handicapped bathroom. How a person with any problem would be able to climb into the tub/shower is a mystery to me. The tub was several feet high and the safety bar was in the back of the tub. The room was fine for us, but should be better equiped for its use. The sink was high and no room for a wheelchair. I would ask for a different room next time. We also were close to the elevator and heard it all night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

I appreciate your recent feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear you found our location convenient for your activities and our staff friendly and welcoming. Please note that we are 100% A.D.A. compliant and strive for all Accessible rooms to be located near elevators and emergency exits. I do apologize if the location of the room led to noise disruption as we know how important a good night's sleep is while traveling. Guest safety and satisfaction are at the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve.

Thank you once again for your comments and please contact us if we may be of any further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Usually I am a big fan of Hilton Garden hotels for business travel. Location great. Rooms adequate. Clean. Restaurant is a bust. Had three meals. Menu descriptive but food delivered had no link to menu descriptions. Also not happy with bed. Too soft and I used the mattress firmness adjustment device to no avail.

Room Tip: Room rate doesn't justify the positive aspects of location or service because of the poor qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here for a business + pleasure quick trip. Staff was exceedingly accommodating to our request for an early check-in to facilitate a business meeting. On a busy weekend, having the full service restaurant on site helps save time, as there will often be a long wait for other restaurants in the area. Close to campus, yet just far enough away for a quieter stay. Generous amount of parking available.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank heartlesspwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

I want to personally thank you for sharing your stay with us. I was pleased to hear we were able to accomodate your special requests and you enjoyed your visit with us. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our stay was quite nice. We experienced no problems with the staff, hotel or experience. The check in was very easy and efficient. The staff were nice and courteous as they helped us out on two occasions.

Our room contained all of the basics you would expect for a hotel at this price. We had a nice sitting area composed of a couch and coffee table, plus a desk and nice office chair. We also had a microwave and mini-fridge housed in a nice, wooden hutch. The room was clean and newer. One nice surprise, the room had much higher ceilings than most hotels, so that helped to make the space seem bigger and brighter. The A/C worked fine during our stay. No problems with the bathrooms or in getting fresh towels.

The swimming pool and hot tub were adequate, plus there was an ample amount of towel for swimming. The pool was the indoor kind, but was not heated despite hotel literature claiming the contrary. The hot tub was, however, very warm and roomy. One nice aspect of the both is that each are assessable to people with mobility issues. Both contained an apparatus (like the ones at therapy pools) to lower people into the water. Great touch.

We didn't use the workout room, but it has a couple of treadmills and steppers. There was also a workout machine.

The only thing that I found odd was the there is not a free breakfast, which most hotels have these days. The hotel had a restaurant, which is where one could purchase a breakfast. On the plus side, a drink machine offered coffee, expresso, hot chocolate and the like for free 24 hours a day.

In all, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Was happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Your kind comments on our services and facilities will be shared with our team. We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This place is pricey, but I expect that from a Hilton. They usually make up for it in ameneties and service. There is a nature center within easy walking distance of the property, and you can view birds and other woodland critters.

The one thing that I will remember most about this Inn is that, in spite of the high nightly rate, breadfast is not included.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGKramb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our location. I am sorry you weren't satisfied with the price for breakfast. Our breakfast is much more than you get at other hotels: cooked to order with fresh eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, as well as a variety of cereals, pastries and fruits to give you what you need to start your day of f right. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#11 of 26 in State College
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
596 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#5 of 26 in State College
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn State College

Address: 1221 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in State College
#9 Family Hotel in State College
#10 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £85 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn State College 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in State College, PA is located only one half mile from Beaver Stadium, Lubrano Park/Medlar Field Baseball Stadium, and The Bryce Jordan Center. Plus, we're located one mile south of the Penn State University campus and downtown State College (with a plethora of specialty shops, theater and popular restaurants in the downtown area). Choose from several comfortable guest rooms, or upgrade to one of our luxurious suites that include a separate living area and sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary WiFi, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, comfortable seating areas, a work desk with ergonomic chair as well as other room amenities, including granite bathroom counter tops. Guests who stay at Hilton Garden Inn State College enjoy: our fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool, business center with complimentary printing, 24-Hr Pavilion Pantry Market(R), room service, our on-site restaurant and lounge, and more. Plan your next meeting, conference, wedding or event at our hotel with more than 2,300 sq. ft. of adaptable event and/or meeting space. We make wedding planning easy with our Personalized Online Group Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn State College Hotel State College
Hilton State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing