We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly - met all our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

From check in to check out we were surrounded by helpful, friendly staff. The room was perfect, Kuerig coffee, refrigerator and microwave made our stay very convenient. Room was clean and comfortable. Coffee and tea brewing in the lobby all day was a great treat, especially in the cold weather as we came in an out all weekend. Was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your positve comments on our hotel facilities and service. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Bathroom was poorly maintained. Broken floor tiles. A broken stopper in the jet tub. The Pool and Jacuzzi were both cold. When I notified the desk it was treated as if it were routine and little or nothing was done.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your bathroom and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to the area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Have stayed at Hilton properties many times in the past. The State College Garden Inn offered a pleasant accommodation near an exit to the expressway making access easy. Penn State University is just a few miles away as well as the town of State College. The Nittany Mall and other shopping venues is also a short distance from the hotel. Our room was nice and well appointed with comfortable furnishing and a good hot shower. This is a good place to stay with good value for the money. Will stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Clifford R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you kind comments and will look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here for the PSU Fall semester graduation, and the location was excellent for getting around. The suite was a perfect size for the whole family. We were especially pleased with the restaurant, as there were plenty of item that are locally sourced, along with sustainable wine selections on the menu.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank nate1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very nice facility, but very expensive. If all you need is a place to sleep in State College there are other hotels much cheaper. But if you are looking for a pool, fitness center, ect, this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Troy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This appears to be an "retrofit" of an older hotel to the HGI brands. The front entry was typical HGI, however the rooms were set off to the right of the main entry, and the elevators were in the middle of the hallway of rooms (not by the front desk). The rooms just weren't exactly what I've come to expect from HGI, but can't put my finger on it. Seemed older, but well kept and not in need of renovation. Fridge, microwave. The king bed was low to the ground -futon-like - just a note for those folks who have trouble getting up from low couches lets say. The HVAC is through-the-wall under the window, so although the noise did not bother me, I could see where it might be loud for other rooms/reviewers. Fitness center good - it had a corner cable machine. Breakfast buffet was good (typical HGI),

The hotel is nearer the highways, it is a drive (not walk) to downtown state college. There's a Hapton Inn two doors down. Try the Thai place downtown. I parked on the street with a parking meter; there are parking garages too. I did not try the hotel restaurant other than for the breakfast buffet.

The reason for the "5": I forgot my laptop charger. I called the front desk to ask if they had a box of chargers. Although they only had phone chargers, the young man at the front desk offered me his own to borrow. I think you'd agree this is not a typical response from front desk clerk. So although I've seen many reviews that knocked down a review a notch for something that went wrong, I'm taking the opposite approach here and notching it up one level for something that went right. Kudos to whoever was working on the evening of 12/4 (sorry I didn't catch name).

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel I believe are good, as the hotel is set back a bit from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

MJ at the front desk was nice, friendly, and helpful. He recommended some great places to eat and made the check in process easy. Rooms are spacious. Pool area is nice. I didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on that but the staff seemed nice. The layout is a bit odd, but once you get used to it, it's no big deal.

Pretty lobby.

Great stay!

Room Tip: Higher floor is good. Park at the right side of the hotel. The first floor elevators are right at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesHbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#5 of 26 in State College
818 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#11 of 26 in State College
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn State College

Address: 1221 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in State College
#9 Romantic Hotel in State College
#10 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £93 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn State College 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in State College, PA is located only one half mile from Beaver Stadium, Lubrano Park/Medlar Field Baseball Stadium, and The Bryce Jordan Center. Plus, we're located one mile south of the Penn State University campus and downtown State College (with a plethora of specialty shops, theater and popular restaurants in the downtown area). Choose from several comfortable guest rooms, or upgrade to one of our luxurious suites that include a separate living area and sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary WiFi, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, comfortable seating areas, a work desk with ergonomic chair as well as other room amenities, including granite bathroom counter tops. Guests who stay at Hilton Garden Inn State College enjoy: our fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool, business center with complimentary printing, 24-Hr Pavilion Pantry Market(R), room service, our on-site restaurant and lounge, and more. Plan your next meeting, conference, wedding or event at our hotel with more than 2,300 sq. ft. of adaptable event and/or meeting space. We make wedding planning easy with our Personalized Online Group Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn State College Hotel State College
Hilton State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing