We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, United States
1 review
“Noisey rooms”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

MJ at the front desk was very helpful and is to be commended. The major complaint I have is that the HVAC fans in the rooms are VERY loud. I had a hard time sleeping comfortably as the fans were located in close proximity to the bed. My colleague had the same complaint. Other than that the staff were very friendly, clean rooms and hallways, and that balanced the issue with the loud fans.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Pleased to hear our friendly service and clean accommodations offset the noisy fan. Your comments will help us correct the issue and hope we have the opportunity to serve you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    165
    50
    18
    5
See reviews for
234
78
22
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My experience with Hilton Garden Inn's has always been excellent and I would recommend them to anyone! It can sometimes be a gamble staying in unknown areas. It has been my experience even at some chain hotels (where you would expect the quality to be the same throughout the chains). I have gained a trust that the quality of the Hilton Garden Inn will always be up to our standards and theirs! My family feels comfortable when booking and staying at any Hilton Garden Inn. We appreciate that and it feels good to have trust in where you are staying when traveling!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Pleased to hear our friendly service and clean accommodations offset the noisy fan in your room. Your comments will help us correct this issue and hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Overall it was a pleasant hotel experience. Some things could improve. The breakfast bar staff could smile and be pleasant. Eating with an attendant that has an attitude problem is not very pleasant. The room was good, but I found it interesting that the furnishings were all modern and very nice, but the shower faucet seemed outdated and non-user friendly (at least to what I am used to) they should consider upgrading. The mattress adjustment seemed nice, but didn't really seem to be that effective.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Happy to hear your overall experience with us was pleasant. We are very sorry you experienced a lower level of customer service during breakfast and we have addressed this issue. We appreciate you alerting us to this and we hope you will give us another chance when you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

From check in to check out we were surrounded by helpful, friendly staff. The room was perfect, Kuerig coffee, refrigerator and microwave made our stay very convenient. Room was clean and comfortable. Coffee and tea brewing in the lobby all day was a great treat, especially in the cold weather as we came in an out all weekend. Was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your positve comments on our hotel facilities and service. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Bathroom was poorly maintained. Broken floor tiles. A broken stopper in the jet tub. The Pool and Jacuzzi were both cold. When I notified the desk it was treated as if it were routine and little or nothing was done.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your bathroom and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to the area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Have stayed at Hilton properties many times in the past. The State College Garden Inn offered a pleasant accommodation near an exit to the expressway making access easy. Penn State University is just a few miles away as well as the town of State College. The Nittany Mall and other shopping venues is also a short distance from the hotel. Our room was nice and well appointed with comfortable furnishing and a good hot shower. This is a good place to stay with good value for the money. Will stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Clifford R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you kind comments and will look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here for the PSU Fall semester graduation, and the location was excellent for getting around. The suite was a perfect size for the whole family. We were especially pleased with the restaurant, as there were plenty of item that are locally sourced, along with sustainable wine selections on the menu.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank nate1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
573 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
125 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn State College

Property: Hilton Garden Inn State College
Address: 1221 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in State College
#9 Romantic Hotel in State College
#10 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn State College 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in State College, PA is located only one half mile from Beaver Stadium, Lubrano Park/Medlar Field Baseball Stadium, and The Bryce Jordan Center. Plus, we're located one mile south of the Penn State University campus and downtown State College (with a plethora of specialty shops, theater and popular restaurants in the downtown area). Choose from several comfortable guest rooms, or upgrade to one of our luxurious suites that include a separate living area and sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary WiFi, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, comfortable seating areas, a work desk with ergonomic chair as well as other room amenities, including granite bathroom counter tops. Guests who stay at Hilton Garden Inn State College enjoy: our fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool, business center with complimentary printing, 24-Hr Pavilion Pantry Market(R), room service, our on-site restaurant and lounge, and more. Plan your next meeting, conference, wedding or event at our hotel with more than 2,300 sq. ft. of adaptable event and/or meeting space. We make wedding planning easy with our Personalized Online Group Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn State College Hotel State College
Hilton State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing