We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Be Led Down The Garden Path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

In a college town (Penn State University) hotels often show signs of wear and tear. Not this hotel. A second pleasant surprise was the meeting space and the attentive food service personnel who tended to the needs of our small group of eight.

The room was clean and quite by accident I parked at the closest door! The halls were quiet and I did not hear any noise form the fitness room or pool which were immediately across that tranquil hall.

The restaurant - operated by a different entrepreneur was OUTSTANDING. (See separate review). The restaurant "catered" our group lunches & breaks. The restaurant was also the venue for the "included in the price - please don;t tell me its FREE" buffet breakfast. It had the basics and real SERVERS cleared the tables!

My support person goofed on my reservation and neither the front desk nor Hilton Rewards could undue the misallocation of the program points. This was a disappointment, not a disaster.

I was at this property as a meeting participant, but when wearing my meeting planner hat and in need of a Center County venue for a small group, I would definitely look here.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room - close to the elevator. You can park near your room and ride the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location of this facility is ideal to Beaver Stadium, the Bryce Jordan Center and especially Pegula Arena. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well furnished but the in-room Jacuzzi is VERY difficult to get into for anyone under 5'9".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank NoRebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

It is nice to learn you enjoyed our facilties and found them to be comfortable, clean and well furnished. As well as being close and convienant to Bryce Jordan Center and Beaver Statium, we are also close to all downtown activites and The PSU campus. Thank you for staying with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Provide all amenties at hotel such as; restuarant, pool/tub, mini store, fitness, and shuttle to take you to downtown and Penn State. Especially in the room; do not need to pack much for couple days such as hairdryer, iron, shampoo/conditner, soap (all are neutrogena, wonderful product). Stayed there couple times every year since I started working for state of PA- never had an issue or concerns about my stay or the hotel atmosphere. Very friendly and accommodating; they were able to provide accessible room with wake up alert system for deaf guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Erika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for sharing you recent experience at our hotel . We are pleased to hear we were able to meet all your needs during your visit. Thank you also for being a loyal customer over the years. We will look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I will start this review by saying that for this trip, I was NOT a business traveler. I can see why this hotel would attract business travelers, as it is in a good location and is a "no fuss" place where someone could go from their room to their car very quickly.

Now the negative:

- The hotel is built on a hill, so the entrance is actually on floor 2. This is where my room was located. While it was nice that my room was relatively easy to get to, the elevators to get to the other floors were located almost at the back of the hotel. This meant that everyone staying in the hotel had to walk past my room. I don't know about most people but this was VERY unsettling to me.

- I was traveling with three small kids, aged 1,3, and 5, and one of the reasons that we picked this hotel was because of the pool. We visited the pool, which was a typical indoor hotel pool, and were astonished by how filthy it was. There were large puddles on the pool deck (3 feet by like 4 feet) with about an inch of what I assume was pool water. Ringing the puddles was what looked like algae. It was dark green and slimy. There were about 3 of these puddles around the pool, which the largest being right at the top of the pool entrance. I had my kids walk around the puddles the best we could and found somewhere to sit. Despite us being the only people using the pool, there were about 5 used towels on various chairs and empty soda cans littered throughout the area. This was at about 6 PM, so it is likely that they only clean the area once a day (if that). We were very disappointed.

- The breakfast was the typical HGI type, with an all-you-can-eat buffet for about $12 for adults and $9 for kids under 12 (don't quote me on those figures). Being that my kids are so small, we didn't want to buy them the whole buffet and instead intended on purchasing the a la carte items that were advertised in the breakfast area and within the hotel information booklet in the room. However, once we asked our waitress about the items, she informed us that there were no a la carte items and that we would have to purchase the full buffet.

I've stayed at about a dozen Hilton Garden Inns and have always had a good experience but this one was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I am so sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure you have the most exceptional guest experience possible. Please consider staying with us again. I am condident we can make your stay one of the best you've ever experiencrd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As a business traveler, I have the option to stay at most hotels available. I choose to stay at Hilton Garden Inns because of the consistent quality that I receive at every property. With my son attending Penn State University, we have stayed on this property several times. The staff is very attentive and the rooms are always immaculate. There is always complimentary coffee upon check-in and a smiling face behind the counter. The proximity to the highways and PSU make this an ideal location to visit your student in a beautiful, clean and reasonably priced option. Book your room ASAP as this property gets sold out quickly on event weekends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Your comments are a wonderful testimony to our hotel facilitiesand staff. Our close location to Penn State is an additional benefit when staying with us. Thank you and keep on coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Clean, friendly hotel. Good food in their restaurant and great service. Easy access to local attrations. I have stayed here multiple times and woudl recommend this hotel for business or even a football weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your nice comments. I am pleased to hear that you have stayed many times with us and we appreciate your loyalty. Our hotel is not only great to visit for business and football weekends, but ant time at all. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had to make the reservations a year in advance, but other than that, very smooth sailing. Will definitely book here if I return to the area. Very quiet, even though the place was solidly booked. Very clean. Breakfast buffet was not free, but you could quickly get eggs, toast, cereal, yogurt, bacon, sausage, french toast, coffee, juice, fresh fruit, etc. for ten bucks, all you can eat. Only thing we missed was Netflix in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
growell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Reservations for Graduation are always in high demand. We are pleased you were able to stay with us and enjoyed your visit and our bountiful breakfast. Not sure why you missed Netflix, I will be following up on that. Thank you for saying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
819 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#11 of 26 in State College
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn State College

Address: 1221 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in State College
#9 Family Hotel in State College
#10 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £93 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn State College 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in State College, PA is located only one half mile from Beaver Stadium, Lubrano Park/Medlar Field Baseball Stadium, and The Bryce Jordan Center. Plus, we're located one mile south of the Penn State University campus and downtown State College (with a plethora of specialty shops, theater and popular restaurants in the downtown area). Choose from several comfortable guest rooms, or upgrade to one of our luxurious suites that include a separate living area and sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary WiFi, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, comfortable seating areas, a work desk with ergonomic chair as well as other room amenities, including granite bathroom counter tops. Guests who stay at Hilton Garden Inn State College enjoy: our fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool, business center with complimentary printing, 24-Hr Pavilion Pantry Market(R), room service, our on-site restaurant and lounge, and more. Plan your next meeting, conference, wedding or event at our hotel with more than 2,300 sq. ft. of adaptable event and/or meeting space. We make wedding planning easy with our Personalized Online Group Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn State College Hotel State College
Hilton State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing