We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful!”

The Arboretum at Penn State
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Arboretum at Penn State is a must see when you visit Happy Valley. It is beautifully designed. There is a "map" of the local area on the ground on the opposite side of the building from the parking area. Make sure to check this out! The trees, flowers and fountain are very nice!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaTomHoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    58
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herminie, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I decided to visit during a mini getaway to the State College area. On reading the description on the Penn State web site, it was at first hard to determine exactly what the Arboretum was. The first time we went to even look for it, we expected to see a building. In actuality, the Arboretum covers about 350 acres of ground. We were excited to visit especially since in this case we were traveling with our two dogs, and with the exception of the H.G. Botanical Gardens, all of the grounds are open to leashed pets. The young lady I spoke to for directions on where we could and couldn't go with the dogs was very helpful and pleasant, and without her guidance we would have been thoroughly confused.

As I said, the Arboretum covers 350 acres of territory and is absolutely gorgeous. It offers a variety of walking trails, including open field, paved, and wooded. Also, the Arboretum borders the local bike trail system, the name of which escapes me at the moment. Now, of this next part, the Pennsylvania State Park system needs to take note: ALL OF THE TRAILS ARE WELL DEFINED! In the open fields, trails have been mowed through the grass with enough definition that the trail is clearly visible. The paved trail we followed was clearly marked as Arboretum property and lead back to a road, and with a little basic orientation from where we had come it was easy to determine which way to head back. Our favorite part though was the network of wooded trails. It's a perfect balance of keeping with nature and having a well-defined walking area. How this was accomplished was by placing fallen tree branches along the borders of the trail to define a walkway about three feet wide. We new from the map we had obtained (from the aforementioned young lady at the Botanical Gardens) that the trails would lead into the bike trail, though there was no indication of where the specific trail would come out. Since we had passed the one end of the trail by starting on the bike trail, it was not difficult to determine direction to find our way back to our van. Incidentally, we had parked at Sunset Park off McKee St. where the bike trail began and within an hour were able to make a large full circle.

We are talking about making the State College trip an annual event and definitely the Arboretum is a must-see on our list. When you visit, please make sure to bring a camera as the entire area is teeming with wildlife: birds, squirrels and others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nature-seer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Picture perfect!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We visit the Arboretum each fall. The grounds are beautiful and offer multiple photo opportunities. Each year, more gardens are being added. They are in the process of adding a Children's Garden which is scheduled to open next year. We met wonderful volunteers and master gardeners during our visit. This is a must see when visiting Penn State.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IWork2TravelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“PSU Arboretum”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Returned here after 3yrs--wow, how nicely has the place grown up:) Definitely recommend visiting this, especially with the fall colors starting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robyn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Who doesn't like an Arboretum? This one, while small, offers lovely meandering paths through a large variety of flowers and trees. The spring is spectacular, as is the summer. But there is something about the coming of fall that I enjoy here. The flowers may be gone but the place is preparing for winter. There are places to sit, small koi ponds and a pretty fountain. We also like the large sun dial. The last time we were there a wedding was going on under the shelter. Lovely!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSky32022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Arboretum at Penn State also viewed

 

Been to The Arboretum at Penn State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing