We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why did we take so long....”

Spats Cafe & Speakeasy
Reserve with OpenTable
Spats Cafe & Speakeasy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 240 Restaurants in State College
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pugh Street
Transit: Frequent local bus service with stop 1/4 block away
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Why did we take so long....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We've been coming to State College for 25 years to see our kids and now our grandkids. We just wish we had discovered Spats long ago. Recently we 'found' it on TA. Located right on the corner nearly across from Old Main, we must have walked right by it many times.
We were seated right away with our reservations. The service was very good and the food was even better. We sampled many offerings from soup all the way through desert. Our favorites: the clams, the duck, and the filet. One note: they do not accept American Express.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    72
    28
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central pa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

At each visit to Penn State we are trying a new restaurant. Spat's was decided upon based on a review from YELP and it turned out to be a WOO! The service and food were top notch. While we didn't have a reservation they were able to fit us in as we arrived late afternoon/early evening. From the tapas to our meal - all was delish and really authentic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank drosiewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner in State College”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We split an order of Voodoo Shrimp (served on cheese grits) and the gator bites (served with cornbread). The shrimp were very good, but the gator was excellent and highly recommended. The seasoning and sauce was great. I had a bowl of gumbo, which was dark and very well seasoned. My wife had butterfish (a special that evening) which was good, but, unfortunately, seemed to be a bit cold as if it had been waiting for the rest of the meal to be cooked. I had the catfish Ponchartrain, which was outstanding. It was breaded and fried, but then served with in crawfish étouffée, and with cheese grits and collards. The etouffee really added a lot of flavor to the catfish. I'm not usually a fan of fried food and with the etouffee, it didn't seem fried. The collards were also very tasty. We had a very pleasant meal. This is probably one of the better choices in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentSleeper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in State College”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I come to State College frequently and my favorite place for lunch is Spats. The food is incredible and portion sizes are huge! I always have enough for another meal. My favorite o's the braised short rib entrée. The meat is so tender and juicy. Had the hazelnut creme brulee for dessert and it was to die for. Now I need a nap!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PSUForever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bad experience.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Tried restaurant after reading reviews on trip advisor but had a disappointing experience. Four people in party had two great meals and two poor. Service was horrible, we waited one hour and 10 min for waitress to come tell us there was a problem in kitchen. Then another 20 min for food to arrive. Waitress was not attentive. Never checked on us or offer second round of drinks. All this and the restaurant was NOT crowded only three tables with customers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hipster_Tripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spats Cafe & Speakeasy also viewed

 

Been to Spats Cafe & Speakeasy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing