We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware FRAUD if you give them your credit card info!”
Review of Autoport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Autoport
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in State College
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beware FRAUD if you give them your credit card info!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The rooms are disgusting. The bathroom was full of centipedes. But that's not the worst of it! I made the mistake of eating in the restaurant on Saturday 6/30. The waitstaff was rude and the service slow. I paid with a bank card/credit card. When I checked my online bank account the following Monday-- they charged me not once but three times in three different amount! I called the Autoport and boy were they UNCONCERNED. They said they'd get right on it. I checked the next day and they had reversed 2 of the 3 charges but they also put 2 MORE NEW CHARGES in my account in yet different amounts. I called again and they were SO LACKADAISICAL and could't understand why I was upset?! I also faxed a letter of complaint. They removed one of the 2 new charges. So I STILL HAVE TWO CHARGES ON MY CREDIT CARD, neither in the correct amount, and triple what I actually charged. I called again and this time they were rude to me and basically told me to screw off. So I reversed the charges with my bank. I can excuse the first instance as total incompetence but the second time? The only explanation I have for their behavior is fraud. BEWARE FRAUD IF YOU GIVE THE AUTOPORT YOU CREDIT CARD.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank vxf111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    2
    1
    16
See reviews for
9
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Please, please,please do yourself a favor and pay attention to the reviews you read about this place. They ARE accurate. I didn't believe it could be as bad as it sounded or was rated but after staying here during Memorial Day weekend, it is TERRIBLE. The rooms are ancient, sheets dirty, the bath towels were worse and the beds.....I don't know what to say. REALLY, it's that bad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dev1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these State College hotels

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for our daughters graduation first weekend in May. Everyone associated with this property needs to be congratulated. They are remodeling, so don't know about all the rooms. We got one of the older rooms, but were pleasantly surprised. From the front desk, to the ladies working on cleaning your rooms, to the restaurant, it seemed that everyone was on the same page, to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. They definitely succeeded. Thanks for giving us a great place to stay at an unbelievable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank h0meintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have stayed here for the past few years for a reunion. Though they painted the rooms. The wallpaper is peeling, the televisions are a joke and the sort is the moving of the dining area to make a smoking bar. Service was horrible in the dining room. Breakfast great bargain. Inner meal bland and sonot worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasGirl78253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The rooms reminded me of days gone by. 70's carpet, 80's tile and 2012 pricing for a 3 star hotel, all wrapped up in a Motel. The place would benefit from a little updating. We will book at a chain next time we are in town. Happy hour was a bargain. 4 of us had drinks and apps for under $80.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnie M, Manager at Autoport, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for choosing the Autoport. Being the first motel in Pennsylvania we do have rooms reminiscent of the days gone by. We appreciate the feedback and would just like to inform you that since the property has had a change of ownership we have slowly, but surely, been updating our guestrooms. Just request a newer room next time and we would be happy to accommodate! While we are disappointed in your decision to choose a chain hotel next time you visit Happy Valley, we hope to see you back at the Port Lounge!
-Autoport Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

GREAT PLACE TO HAVE WEDDING RECEPTION! Owners and staff were very attentive and accommodating, they went out of their way to make sure my daughters special day was exactly that, SPECIAL. The food was endless and delicious! Waitstaff was very professional and was great with all guest, especailly the small children that were keeping everyone on their toes. The Autoport is a great place to hold an event, fun atmosphere and food is always Yummy! The rooms were clean and rate was affordable Highly recommended by this patron.

Room Tip: rooms in first building are very spacious and close to dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bethany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is a great place to go for drinks, especially during happy hour which is 5 til 7pm. The appetizers and many drinks are half price, and it's great to sit out on the patio during the summer. The waiting staff are pleasant and they are accommodating to families.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zoebrigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Marketing at Autoport, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you very much! Hope to see you out by the pool this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard State College
Courtyard State College
#21 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn State College
Residence Inn State College
#16 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#22 of 26 in State College
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autoport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autoport

Property: Autoport
Address: 1405 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-6206
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Autoport 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small town and a major university – a unique atmosphere prevails here and no where is it reflected better than at The Autoport. For 70 years we’ve grown with our community, offering locals and visitors alike the best dining and lodging in town. History may not repeat itself, but our guests return time and again. Come and experience The Autoport yourself – outstanding food, comfortable atmosphere and friendly hospitality. The one, the only, The Autoport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Autoport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autoport Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing