We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A couple of things I noticed are the following:

1. My room was next to the light post that beams like the noonday sun. I can hardly sleep with a VCR light on across the room. The same with the "snooze" button on the alarm clocks. Not sure if that can even be turned off. I requested for a room change but didn't get it.

2. I used the coffee maker to mix my green drink in the bathroom and it was never cleaned and put back in its place when my room was cleaned.

3. My shampoo and soap bar was gone from the shower/tub after the first day of use. I reuse my towel to stay "green" and the hotel ought to leave those too and leave it up to the guests to dispose. It's a waste to use a big bar of soap just for one time use.

Room Tip: Stay away from the parking light post. Your room would be like noonday all night long!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ranny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria M, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts. I want to apologize for your trouble finding a comfortable sleep at our property, as well as your issues with our "Green" initiatives. There are "black-out" blinds located in every guest room behind the normal sheer curtains that should have assisted with your issues with our outdoor lighting. The lamps outside the hotel are necessary to ensure parking lot safety, and I am sorry we were not able to relocate your room due to having a sold out facility. Cleanliness is a major factor when choosing a hotel, and I will speak with our staff about proper measures that need to be taken when cleaning- especially coffee pots. As for the disposal of your soap- this is done for sanitation reasons. We strive to keep your room as fresh and as comfortable as possible- and we hope to serve your again, with a better result, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites State College
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

This location was convenient to Penn State, was affordable, clean and knowledgeable staff to help us first timers to the State College area. The front desk staff were very friendly and could not so enough from recommending locations to eat, to directions to and around campus.

Room Tip: Rooms are standard, any room is good, top floor was a little hotter .
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joehb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria M, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing the property from your recent stay! With much of our staff being locals, or students of the University, we are bursting with knowledge of the surrounding area. As for our Green Initiatives, we work hard to ensure that our ecological footprint stays as small as possible, while still presenting the cleanest, most comfortable environment we can. We hope to become your preferred hotel in the area; see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Family stayed here for one night during a recent swim meet at Penn State. The location is excellent, convenient to everything. Check-in was a breeze, and the room was even ready about an hour early.

The room with two doubles was satisfactory, and as expected for this level of hotel. All furnishings and light fixtures were in good shape and clean. Cable package was quite good (though the TV cycled through channels slowly). Alarm clock was easy to use. Our second floor room was also pretty quiet, especially given the number of swimmers running around that weekend. No issues at all. The bathroom was clean, well-laid out, and had ample vanity space. Plenty of towels were provided for a family of 3.

The little sundries area adjacent to the lobby had a good variety and intelligent selections. The lobby itself is very nice, with a fireplace, TV and ample seating for breakfast. We did have the included breakfast on Sunday morning and were pleasantly surprised by the variety of both hot and cold items. It is, indeed, a full breakfast, not just continental. Staff was very nice and checkout was easy.

Our only "complaint" (not a big deal at all, really) was the relatively slow elevator. But, being a 3 story hotel, it was perfectly acceptable to take the stairs. All-in, a great stay and a very nicely run property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BobinBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria M, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. Due to our great location we get a lot of group travel, and we are glad your team decided to stay here! With our complimentary breakfast, indoor pool for entertainment, and market area we strive to make your stay as comfortable as being in your own home. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy these amenities. Hopefully, we will see you on your next stop through!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very nice room, we got a very large double room that included a sofa. I don't think all double rooms have the same configuration. Nice breakfast, not great hot food, but lots of choices. Most all Fairfield Inns are very good and reliable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jaxx k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria M, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! You are correct when stating that not all double rooms include a pull out couch at Fairfield Inn and Suites. This additional luxury is available upon request- but does serve to accommodate larger groups really well. I am glad it worked out for your family. We hope to see you on your next stay; safe travels and enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The reviews do not lie, this is a great place to stay at. I would easily have stayed here by paying their BAR if not for the third party awesome deal I got anyways. MO is awesome. He was very professional, yet real. Take no offense management, when I compliment an employee, many say that they 'strive to have the best service possible'. That is easier said than done. Even the housekeepers are friendly. Many will look the other way or just act miserable. They even have a 'Henry' smiling vacuum, lol. The place is just happy all around. All jokes aside, they have taken great care of the place. The ownership is 'true locals', and they know how to run their properties. We stayed at their sister Toftrees hotel the previous days and were equally impressed. I am sure their upcoming renovation will make the place even more awesome, but for how clean and comfortable the rooms are, you would not even look at that as a suggestion. The pool and hot tub were great temperature. It was nice that they did not close their hot tub down because of poor maintenance or the crazy ADA rules requiring an uber expensive life for all bodies of recreational water at hotels now. My only suggestion would be to make those double beds queens. The rooms have more than enough space for it. The beds are extremely comfortable, though. Well done property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gburn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria M, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property! We are glad that you were able to take part in our good vibes and happy feel. This atmosphere could not be accomplished without our killer staff. Cleanliness is one of our highest priorities and I am glad that you were satisfied with the result. We can’t wait until you are in the area again; please stop by and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed there for One night while visit Penn State. Close to the school and a very clean hotel with Friendly staff. Restaurant/Brew Pub across the street is very convenient. Recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the areaa.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sdugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria M, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay! Having a helpful and knowledgeable staff is one of our best features; I am glad that they were able to direct you to the nearby campus and Otto’s Restaurant next door! We hope to see you on your next trip to Penn State.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This Fairfield Inn is located on North Atherton a couple of miles from downtown State College. It is about five years old and is nicely kept. Room was clean and comfortable. Hotel is next to Otto's pub and close to Wegman's. Good accessible location. Good breakfast. Decent wireless.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam52787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria M, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites State College, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our location is one of our best selling points, being right off the highway with easy access to thye University. I am glad you had a chance to enjoy our breakfast and we hope to see you on your next trip into town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott State College
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#8 of 26 in State College
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
563 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
247 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites State College

Address: 2215 North Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in State College
#14 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £84 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting State College, Pennsylvania, choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott State College for your business or leisure travel is a great choice. Our State College hotel's setting is just minutes from all the attractions the city has to offer including the Pennsylvania State University campus, Bryce Jordan Center, Beaver Stadium and Medlar Field at Lubrano Park. All the wonderful shopping and dining options the area has to offer are minutes away from our accommodations too. Refreshing guest rooms feature luxury bedding, coffeemakers and high-speed Internet access so your stay will be comfortable and relaxing. Our hotel also offers a delicious complimentary breakfast each morning ensuring that you will start the day off right. Other features include our fitness center, indoor pool, and full service business center. Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott State College offers all the quality services and amenities you have come to know from the name Marriott, so start planning your trip to State College today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites State College Hotel State College
Fairfield Inn And Suites State College
Fairfield Inn State College
Fairfield State College
State College Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing