We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Big Hollow B&B

Big Hollow B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in State College
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Hollow B&B
Reviewed 19 October 2013

After reading previous reviews, my husband and I decided to spend a get-a-way night at this lovely B&B. It is just a few miles outside of State College and hidden away in a very private setting. The owners are delightful and the rooms and common areas are clean, comfortable and beautiful. We especially liked the big patio and fireplace where we visited with the other guests and even enjoyed complimentary wine. We will definitely return! Oops- don't want to forget to mention the delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I are moving to State College and had never been to the area before. Staying at the Big Hollow B&B was the perfect choice. It was an easy drive from the airport which was helpful after coming in on a late night flight. The owners are incredible and made us feel welcomed immediately. They were extremely helpful in suggesting sites to see, restaurants to eat at, and areas of town to visit once we move. The Honeysuckle Suite is a beautiful, clean, and private room and bath that has all of the accommodations anyone would need. The whole house was full of modern charm.

I have a gluten-allergy and Bob and Marge went above and beyond in accommodating my food requirements. Breakfast was always delicious and beautifully presented. One morning we even ate outside on the back patio in the gorgeous garden they maintain.

We would highly recommend this beautiful B&B to anyone looking for a quiet getaway but still within a short distance from campus.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbrencic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Big Hollow B&B over Memorial Day and it is very nice. We stayed in the Lavender room. Overall the entire B&B was very clean, the breakfast was very good, the proprieters are wonderful, and the grounds are beautiful. This is a 3 room inn shared with the owners, but there is plenty of room for privacy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeN98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We had the privilege of staying at the Big Hollow B&B in early November for a Penn State football weekend. Other family members had stayed here previously with rave reviews so our expectations were already at a high-level. Those expectations were surpassed. The accomodations were superb. The home was beautiful and our room had everything we needed for a comfortable weekend. The owners truly made us feel at home and they both enhanced the experience. We look forward to our return next football and hope to make it up for a weekend in early 2011.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtjammer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

What a wonderful stay! The owners are at once kind and neighborly, and absolutely professional. My wife and I really enjoyed this place - great attention to detail applied to an excellent design and execution. Examples include heated towel bars, petit fours on the pillows, and very well appointed rooms (we had the Hydrangea Suite), sitting room, study (with complimentary wine), and grounds. We look forward to returning, as on this trip friends and the football game kept us almost too busy to appreciate it all.

Compared to a 4-star hotel: half the price, twice the space, and 10x the charm.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EphesiansSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

Even if you have no interest in college football and are not at Penn State for a game - try this wonderful B&B. The owners, Bob and Marge have built a beautiful home in the country - you feel you are deep in the woods but you are 10 minutes from Penn State campus.

Their bedrooms are beautiful, in fact the whole house is just lovely. We were welcomed to use their cozy library where we sipped some great wine ( provided by the hosts), relaxed and forgot about how busy the world can be.

The grounds of this place are beautiful - the thickest green grass I have ever stepped on and flower beds galore. We had breakfast out on their huge back patio - and it was peaceful and pretty. The patio has a built-in fire pit, a fountain and lots of comfy seating. Food was delicious and portions were generous. They have a great coffee maker where you can choose gourmet coffees by the cup.

We were the only guests there - aside from a family member who had brought along the sweetest, quietest, little brown poodle I have ever met. If I had a recommendation for the owners, I would say make sure the dog visits often as he was such a wonderful addition.

We are Canadians and not likely to be in town for a football game ( we were visiting an international student/friend of ours) - but believe me you need no excuse at all to visit this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollyBrownCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
85 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
181 reviews
3.2 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Hollow B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hollow B&B

Address: 288 Big Hollow Rd, State College, PA 16801-7165
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in State College
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing