We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute football weekend booking - but well worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnegie Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carnegie Inn & Spa
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Last minute football weekend booking - but well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I waited fairly late to set up a PSU visit over Labor Day weekend (home game vs. Ohio), and the Carnegie Inn fortunately had an opening. It was my wife's first visit to Happy Valley, and the Inn helped make it a great weekend. The room was very spacious, well-outfitted, and had a nice view of the golf course. The service at breakfast was top notch, and much more elegant than anticipated. The food was wonderful, and more than plentiful. The location is also very convenient for both access to the airport, and getting around State College, both the campus and "downtown". One word of caution - be aware that you need to arouse the innkeeper to let you in initially if you arrive after-hours. They are resident in the building, and there is a readily accessible call button, so don't let this daunt you.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the golf course and was very pleasant. Rooms looking out on the street woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markrob58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Greetings and thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us for that football weekend, even though the team came out on the short end of the stick...at least we were able to help you enjoy your weekend.
Be sure to get your football forms now to book your room requests as the rooms do go quickly.
See you this fall...We Are...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    27
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
77
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband and I were looking for a lovely little getaway place to celebrate our wedding anniversary when we stumbled upon the Carnegie Inn & Spa. We started with a couples massage where our cares just melted away under the very professional hands of the spa staff. Intending to head back to the suite, which was grand and lovely, we were lured into the library by a mesmerizing fireplace. We settled in there, ordered a cocktail, and talked for hours -- I can't remember the last time we were so relaxed! While we talked, the chef prepared our meals (the German-themed Octoberfest menu is wonderful) and when they were ready, we were called to our table. This is a place where relaxation, good conversation, and exceptional food converge. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmoss_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Greetings,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us for your anniversary. We know there are other opportunities and are blessed when guests like yourselves find us. We are delighted we could be a part of your special occasion. I like to think that any occasion is a special occasion. Hey, I like that...ok, so you just had input on our new tag line.
We hope you will join us again for your anniversary and any other occasion that may occur.

The Carnegie Inn & Spa, Where Any Occasion is a Special Occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is a quaint Inn or boutique hotel. 20 rooms of which I was able to see a few of each as gm took me on a tour. Each room is quite spacious, more so than a normal hotel room and each is uniquely decorated. Each rom has a sofa, end tables with lamps and soft chair to sit in making the room feel like home and not a hotel which is what is so unique. You can get away and still feel like home.
There is a great library with shelves of actual books and this is a great area to read the newspaper in the morning while sipping on the complimentary coffee. A gourmet breakfast is included and dinner is to die for. We had cocktails in the bar and library to start and moved into dining room to be seated.
This is not an ultra modern place with a hotel feel. If you want comfortable with incredible service then I would advise trying it out. Though maybe I don't as I don't want too many of you to find out about it and spoil my next trip. Oh, alright, give it a go!
BTW, they have a freee shuttle to and from the airport! Boy was that handy versus having to rent a car and letting it sit.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the 17th hole of the golf course. Ask for one of the suites as they are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabatozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Greetings,
Wow, thanks for the great review! We are delighted that you were able to achieve a "get away" and just relax. Please do come and let us take care of you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, PA
Level Contributor
311 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I have spent double digit number of nights in State College in chain hotels and just discovered the Carnegie House on my most recent visit. It was outstanding! It is a small intimate inn with only 22 rooms - they are beautiful, spacious, and well appointed. The location is quiet and scenic but very close to the interstate, restaurants, and shopping. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Breakfast is included and consisted of eggs cooked to order, omelets, fresh fruit, etc. Dinner was outstanding, beautifully presented and delicious. Fresh flowers adorned every table. "Sam," the manager, made it a point to know all his guests and accommodate all their needs. This is my new "go to" spot in State College, PA.

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful but overlooking the golf course is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graymar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012 via mobile

My wife is VERY picky about hotels and inns and this is one of her favorites. Nice quiet location, easy parking, good rooms and breakfast. (Never had dinner there.). Doesn't have the claustrophobic feel of some B&Bs and inns. Also, doesn't have the impersonal feel of a large hotel. just right.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gggghhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

A huge shout out to the kindness of the staff at the carnegie house! From the early check in to the unending care we received during our stay after my daughter had some oral surgery performed - I cannot thank you all enough. We enjoyed the afternoon sun on the patio, relaxed in our comfortable room with frequent visits to the front office to freeze our ice packs,took a quick trip to conveniently located Wegmans and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast and conversation with our attentive and very hard-working server! Staying away from the busy campus and downtown was perfect....will be sure to share our experience with friends! Be back soon!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Turney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Beautiful inn, gorgeous rooms, gourmet level restaurant; love the conversation areas located throughout the inn; only drawback, it's a Sunday night; as far as we can tell, we're the only guests still here; the lights are on in the library but no fire in the fireplace, and it is chilly, and even though they assured us this afternoon that we would be able to enjoy drinks in the library this evening, the bar is closed. We questioned the lone girl sitting in the office and she said, no, bar closed and didn't offer to turn on the fireplace. A disappointing ending to what was an otherwise perfect long weekend. If you come here in the off season, make sure to ask just what facilities will be open during your planned stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Inn & Spa

Property: Carnegie Inn & Spa
Address: 100 Cricklewood Dr., State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in State College
#14 Family Hotel in State College
#16 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnegie Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tranquil woodlands encircling State College, PA is a destination of innumerable charms - Carnegie Inn & Spa - an intimate little gem in the tradition of the finest European country manors. We invite you to experience the first AAA Four-Diamond hotel in central Pennsylvania, just the first of many distinctions setting the Inn apart as someplace truly special.Carnegie Inn & Spa is elegance personified, with a brand of hospitality and warmth long since vanished from the impersonal, chain-style hotels.But the most delightful surprise comes when you find out that we only look expensive... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Carnegie Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie House Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing