We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnegie Inn & Spa, State College, Pa”
Review of Carnegie Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carnegie Inn & Spa
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
conway, SC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Carnegie Inn & Spa, State College, Pa”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The best. Everything was wonderful. Breakfast was the best ever. The patio sits on the edge of
a golf course. The grounds are beautiful. The room was spotless. We were welcomed by their customer service by a young lady by the name of named Ally. She was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this inn to anyone visiting the State College area.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and had absolutely no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sab867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know how we are doing. We fully appreciate the comments as we know we cannot improve without knowing what you, the guest is experiencing.
We greatly appreciate the kind words about one of our associates, Ally. She is a delight and is a true asset to our team.
We hope you will join us again in the near future and if you would happen to need anything, please do let us know.
Regards,
Pete Weaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    28
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
44
81
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Check your room before you sign in! In short: They gave us the wrong rooms, admitted it, apologized, but refuse to give us the difference of 40$ for not giving us the upgraded room we had ordered.

We paid for two rooms, one room is regular and another with a 20 dollar upgrade for "more space".

When we arrived we signed in as you would at any hotel, the woman showed us to our room, immediately we said the rooms look the same, the lady informed us that she just does accounts and is unsure.

When we checked out two days later, we said to the front desk, the rooms were the same at which time the desk said "WE OBVIOUSLY PUT YOU IN THE WRONG ROOM I AM SORRY"

This woman spent 30 minutes trying to subtract 40 dollars from our bill, and ended up accidently charging 380$ extra through a series of mistakes. I understand mistakes, here is where it gets crazy.

She said she messed up so much, her manager will be in later and will fix everything, so we left happily, they called back hours later after we had left and (obviouslly they fixed the 380$ but as for the 40$...)

He said that when we walked in and signed the first paper we agree to pay that price, when we said that we were given the wrong room, the desk admitted it and was trying to give us money back, he said they were wrong!

He claims that we have to lives up to our contract we signed, yet the contract clearly had one upgraded room! So they didn't hold up their end of the bargain.

My next email is to the Better business bureau, this is not right what they did. Make sure to check your room first, I bet this has happened to people who think they got an upgrade but really just have the normal room without one to compare.

Room Tip: Check your room before you sign in! In short: They gave us the wrong rooms, admitted it, apologized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GreasyQtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at the Carnegie Inn & Spa.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the Inn and our Team, for the obvious mistakes we made with your guestroom and billing.
We are learning a new guestroom software and unfortunately are making mistakes.
To make amends, we offer our sincere apology and have refunded you the overcharged monies plus made a further discount to your stay.
We are sorry this situation took time to investigate and resolve.
Again, please accept our apology and we hope you allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I was celebrating a recent graduation with a friend and choose The Carnegie Inn. The accommodations were very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the yummy breakfast and our stroll on the grounds. Our Spa visit was also of top quality. I would recommend The Carnegie Inn to anyone who visits the State College area and wants an extra special place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Greetings!
On behalf of the team here at the Carnegie Inn & Spa, we would like to thank you for allowing us to be your host while in State College. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to add your opinion on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted that we were able to create a wonderful experience for you as our intention is to make you feel as if you were at home.
If there is ever anything we can ever do, please let us know.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bythesea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A lovely Inn with hints of a Scottish heritage and within minutes of the beautiful Penn State main Campus. Relax on the large front porch or enjoy the rear Patio overlooking the 17th hole of a nearby golf course. The Chef provides a varied menu, the food is delicious and attractively presented in the cozy dining room. A complimentary breakfast is provided as a part of your reservation package. In the winter, the large sitting room/library is a wonderful place to read, enjoy conversation or play cards beside the fireplace. The Inn also provides a Spa facility that is lovely, offers many services and amenities and a competent staff.

The town of State College provides Music, Art and Theater events throughout the year to add to the College Sports events. There are numerous and varied types of Restaurants and it is a town for casual walking.

Room Tip: All of the rooms & suites that we have been in are lovely. There is elevator access to the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCGIRL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Greetings!
Thank you for the wonderful comments. More importantly, we want to thank you for continuing to allow us to take care of you. We truly enjoy welcoming guests into our "home" and helping them to create wonderful memories.
If there is anything we can ever do, please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Being from the NY Tri-State area, we find that traveling in PA, while more reasonably priced, doesn't always meet our expectations for quality and comfort. Not so with The Carnegie Inn and Spa! This inn exceeded our expectations. We arrived on a quiet night. It seemed like we were one of two coupes in the inn. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and beautiful, with a lovely sitting area. The bathroom was large with a beautiful soaker tub and separate shower. The morning breakfast which was included with our stay was excellent. It was attentively served in a beautiful little dining room. Our only disappointment was that we stayed on a Sunday night and their restaurant was closed for dinner. The menu looked great and the atmosphere was lovely. We'll just have to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bibphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Greetings!
Thank you for taking the time to comment about our quaint little inn! We are delighted that you were able to enjoy the little touches and experienced the inn as it truly is meant to be experienced. My apologies for being closed on Sunday night for you. Hopefully we can be able to serve you on your next visit. We look forward to having you join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was a stop half way to our destination from Cleveland to New Jersey. Oh my gosh, what a beautiful experience. It is located on a golf course. Our king room was nicely decorated with homemade cookies waiting, very spacious, high ceilings, glamour bath with large soaking tub, separate shower and quality bath soaps and supplies. It overlooked the dining patio and golf course. The bar and parlour area were very spacious and cozy. Wood panels, fireplace. Very romantic. The bartendress was great at making a perfect martini. The complimentary appetizers were lamb and salmon. That alone could have been a meal in itself and 5 star delicious. My husband ordered the sea bass and I ordered their bacon wrapped shrimp appetizer and salad. It was so much food. A full breakfast was included and it was delicious! What a wonderful experience. I only wish I would have planned this overnight stop further out as I would have loved to have enjoyed their spa offerings. The spa was booked. I would recommend this five star to anyone traveling the I-80 area.

Room Tip: We were located on the first floor off a private hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Greetings!
And Wow! It is an honor to be rated with those two hotels. We certainly enjoy our little inn and helping others enjoy it as well. While we do not have underground bunkers or a casino beneath us, the beauty that surrounds us is unsurpassed. Thanks again for stopping on your way through town and we look forward to having you be our guest once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was excited to get away for a few days, from Lancaster, Pa. I am currently on an 8 week vacation. I decided to see a few friends in State College.

Long Story short, I ended up staying 2 days at the Carnegie Inn & Spa. I had a wonderful suite. While not lavish or dated, it was very comforting. My suite was cleaned, maintenance overall in suite and property excels in all areas.

The King sized bed was comfy, heck I slept in both days. The room attendants were very friendly, always greeted myself with a warm smile and hello, and very professional in their duties. I asked for a few extra items, and they were delivered in less than 5 minutes.

I had dinner both nights, the first night the Sea Bass was cooked perfectly and presentations were top notch. Lamb Lollipops Appetizer was excellent but overcooked. I ordered rare, came out medium. The Blood Orange Vinaigrette was SPOT on. The Stilton (Bleu Cheese) Salad was perfect, perhaps toast the walnuts to create additional flavor Profiles. Dressing was perfectly tossed with just the right amount.

On my Second night I was accompanied by two other guest, Pete, (General Manager) and his lovely wife Jessica.

Our service was good, proper service in serving and clearing of table, great suggestions from Anita, Our server. Dinners were well prepared. It was nice touch at the end of Chocolate Dipped Strawberries was delivered to our table compliments of the Culinary Staff.

A note: while waiting to be picked up on Tuesday morning to go to breakfast, I was waiting outside reading the USA Today, compliments of the Carnegie Inn & Spa. A well dressed gentleman arrived said good morning to myself and proceeded into the lobby area. Moments later he returned with Coffee and accompaniments. I don't recall his name.

In the Hospitality Business in which I am affiliated with, moments like the above go a long and create those specials moments and signature features of employees efforts to enhance our visits, in return results in repeat business.

Kudos to The whole Team of Carnegie Inn & Spa. thank you for making my vacation to State College, a memorable one.

Joseph M. Weems, C.E.C.

Room Tip: Make reservations, worth the extra money. Able to see Tofttrees Golf Course from Suite 17th Hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefjmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Joe W.,
On behalf of the staff of the Carnegie Inn & Spa, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our little inn. We know everyone's time is precious and the positive comments are greatly appreciated.
Our staff is dedicated to making sure you, our guest, experience legendary service and leave here saying "wow".
We look forward to being your host in the future.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Inn & Spa

Property: Carnegie Inn & Spa
Address: 100 Cricklewood Dr, State College, PA 16803-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in State College
#14 Family Hotel in State College
#16 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnegie Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tranquil woodlands encircling State College, PA is a destination of innumerable charms - Carnegie Inn & Spa - an intimate little gem in the tradition of the finest European country manors. We invite you to experience the first AAA Four-Diamond hotel in central Pennsylvania, just the first of many distinctions setting the Inn apart as someplace truly special.Carnegie Inn & Spa is elegance personified, with a brand of hospitality and warmth long since vanished from the impersonal, chain-style hotels.But the most delightful surprise comes when you find out that we only look expensive... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnegie Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie House Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing