We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aging Property in Great Location”
Review of The Atherton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Atherton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in State College
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Aging Property in Great Location”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

You still cannot beat the location of this hotel - right on the edge of campus so that you can leave the car in the hotel's parking garage (you pay per day, of course) and walk wherever you want to go. The hotel has seen better days and would greatly benefit from upgrades to the HVAC, some of the furniture and replacing all of the bed spreads.

Even though the location was terrific, the rate was not worth it. On my next trip to Penn State, I a m more likely to stay at a hotel further from campus with a better rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjstpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Please know that we have recently replaced all the hotel's bedding and coverlets. If at any time there is anything at all that you do not like about your room during your stay we are happy to have the opportunity to change your room or resolve the matter to your satisfaction during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    139
    72
    39
    30
See reviews for
138
67
31
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Upon entering room got instant whiff of musty odor. Luckily window would open so we could air out the mustiness somewhat. Inspected room and noticed mold on baseboard next to hvac unit. Took pictures and sprayed Lysol on it. I will make other lodging arrangements in the future. I wish no ill will just my experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bonscottfanacdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and time in writing a review. Please know that we are happy to have the opportunity during your stay to rectify any situation to your satisfaction. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Terrible service all around: 1) I had a pickup from the airport arranged at 11.30pm, no one was there when I arrived. After calling they send someone but that took 20 minutes, not cool. It was clear from the phone conversation that the pickup was on their book, they just had forgotten to send someone. 2) After arriving the person at the front desk, instead of just apologizing, was unfriendly and tried to excuse the incident with a story that was completely inconsistent with what the person on the phone had said. If you mess up, don't try to tell me nonsense! 3) The light in the bathroom takes about 5 minutes to go on after you switch it on. Doesn't cleaning crew see something like that and gets it fixed? 4) I asked for a wakeup call at 7am, I was called at 6am instead. REALLY not cool after you make me go to bed way too late because you messed up the airport pickup.

This is just crappy service all around. I should say that the security guard that did eventually pick me up at the airport was great: she apologized for the incident in the name of the hotel, just as the person at the front desk should have.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please accept our sincere apology for your dissatisfaction. If you would please contact me directly I would be glad to have the opportunity to resolve this issue to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

.... thanks to the excellence of the Atherton Hotel staff. I recently attended a wedding for two very special friends of mine, Bob & Dan, and I can't think of another I've attended that was handled with such professionalism. The 200 other guests and I enjoyed a seamless flow of great food, drink, atmosphere, and entertainment. The ceremony was held in the same room as the banquet, and I was amazed how the staff was able to transform the room in about an hour.
My meal was delicious. I had the mixed grill of shrimp skewer, grilled chicken, and sirloin steak.
The skewer was loaded with perfectly done shrimp and the flavorful steak was fork tender.
The server at our table was Peter Lucas. He served with a great mix of focus, and attention to detail. The event took about eight hours, but it seemed to go by in a blink of an eye. The special day we all shared with Bob & Dan went off perfectly thanks to an obviously dedicated team. Special thanks to manager Jess Jacoby Cox and her
assistant Jordan Jacoby. The way this event went off had to mean their planning, imagination & execution was spot on. Again, thanks to all involved that helped create such a great time.
Job well done!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank clem p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and compliments. We are appreciative of all guest comments and truly appreciate your time in writing such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was recently there for a wedding August 17, 2013..It will go down as the best wedding I ever had the pleasure of going to. It is in a great location right in the heart of State College. Prior to the wedding I went along with the couple to go over all the details for this affair. I must say Jessica Cox the manager couldn't be more helpful and understanding to the needs of the couple.. She went above and beyond along with the staff of the Atherton. They help make this day so memorable for so many. Hats off to the many @ the Atherton on a job well done!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your insight about your recent stay. Please know that we do share all comments with our staff as well and will pass along your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed in the Atherton Hotel last week for a conference and thoroughly enjoyed my visit. The location of the hotel can't be beat - a block from campus and in the heart of downtown State College. Everything was clean and well-maintained.

I was especially impressed by the quality of service and professionalism of the staff working there at the hotel. Two of the mornings I stayed there I had breakfast in the Tarragon restaurant. The food in the Tarragon restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced, and the servers did a great job. Also amazing was a catered dinner in one of the banquet facilities the last night I was there. Kudos to Jordan and Jess for making that such a great dinner and accommodating everyone so well. I also enjoyed the Rumors lounge. The burgers there were amazing and Peter was an exceptional bartender.

The only flaws I could see were the elevators and wifi. The elevators were extremely slow and the wifi was not very dependable, as I was always getting kicked off then having to retype a username and password.

All in all I would highly recommend the Atherton Hotel if you are looking for a place to stay in State College.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a room that is not on the Atherton Street side, as buses and traffic will keep yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPSU233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

A beautiful hotel in the heart of State College, PA. Lovely suites with all the comforts of home.
Mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker. Great staff. The restaurants serve great food and the staff is friendly & accommodating. The location is perfect if you're looking at Penn State and don't forget to travel to Penn Caves. A fun day trip! We were on their first ever "living social" deal so if you ever get the chance to grab it up again, don't miss the opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask for suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank generalnansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your time in commenting about your recent stay. We appreciate and value your insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atherton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atherton Hotel

Property: The Atherton Hotel
Address: 125 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atherton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
150 room full service hotel in the heart of downtown State College, PA. One block from Penn State University. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, restaurant, bar, room service, excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atherton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atherton Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing