We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, underrated hotel”
Review of The Atherton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Atherton Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, underrated hotel”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here the first weekend back for Spring semester. Only stayed one night, but had a good experience. The bar/restaurant food was suprisingly good as well as the service. The elevator/lobby layout is a bit confusing, but after you figure it out it's a non issue. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Some of the decor and furniture is outdated, but it's an older hotel. The location is very good within State College and it's only a block or two from campus. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better as it sometimes gets very noisy at night along the street especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zackc625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Your business is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    141
    72
    39
    30
See reviews for
139
69
32
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I may be biased because I'm a Penn Stater, but I really enjoy the Atherton. Whenever we head back for a football or non-game weekend we always try to stay here. I will say that prices around football weekends are crazy, but it isn't any different at any of the other hotels. The benefit of the Atherton is a central location and a consistent experience. It isn't a five-star place, but it is very accommodating. I've been to weddings, events, bachelor parties and we've always stayed here. Great place!

Room Tip: The higher the better since you'll sometimes here the college kids passing by on the lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PghBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your time and interest in sharing your comments. Your business and feedback are genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithsburg, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I made my reservation at the last minute and got a great rate and excellent customer service. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The room was beautiful and spacious. I will always come back to The Atherton.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DowntownSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your comments. Your compliments are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This week-end for our conference was perfect due to the planning by our conference contact - Steven - and his staff. The food selections he helped us co-ordinate were wonderful and so was the food itself. The chef and staff should be commended. The servers and conference room contact people were always available and so very courteous. The front desk was very helpful. We had a few changes to make and everyone was able to accommodate these changes to make them happen and did so graciously. Steven made several personal contacts during our conference to be sure everything was running smoothly. Everyone was polished from head to toe. We now call The Atherton our conference home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ember231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your insight and for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your comments and business are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northville, MI
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Oh, Atherton Hotel! What happened to you?
We paid $460/night recently when we went there for a football game. The Hotel is dated, but that can be overlooked if everything else is perfect...which it was not. In our party, one room was dirty with candy wrappers etc on the floor around the bed. another never got shampoo or soap and had no water in the toilet--had to fill it in order to flush it. the beds...well, let's just say, the beds need to be replaced (hint: buy the ones that the Westins have). Overall, like I said the Hotel is dated and needs some maintenance and upgrades. We also had issues with super slow and somewhat incompetent bartenders, and wildly inappropriate wait staff at the bar. I am pretty sure Karen will take care of that, though.
If other people are anything like us, they were driving around to see if the Nittany Lion Inn or Penn Stater might be better choices next time. For the price you pay, I do not feel you get anything close to your money's worth.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winsumwzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your time and insight. Your comments and insight are appreciated and valued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Edward and Maggie did their best to help on my last minute trip... the best customer service I've seen... very attempted and king staff.. they provide a 5 star customer service!
I travel a lot been in hotel more the 100 times during the year for business and I can say is a "customer service" I give them a 10
Now is a hotel "the Lobby" is very welcome the only bad things is the property is on urgent need of an update.in the rooms (I've been there 4 times) they are all old and bad condition only good thing on room was the plasma tv..., way too much light in the room making unable to sleep when the sun rises early morning or if you're on need to sleep during the day... toiletries, curtains, linens are on terrible and cheap conditions and I have seen more qualities even on motels...
The hotel has potential for to be the best on the area..., Great Location and Amazing Staff, we can see they expended a lot in the lobby and forgot to make what really matters a comfortable, nice looking, well functioning and update air conditioning, quality toiletries etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOUSAtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Please know that we share all comments with management and staff and we are listening! We appreciate your insight and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Atherton Hotel is an older hotel but it was nice. The food at the bar was very good. Sandwiches were big. We visited a niece who went to Penn State and having a separate living room was nice for us to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandDi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and compliments. We appreciate our guests' insight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
239 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atherton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atherton Hotel

Property: The Atherton Hotel
Address: 125 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atherton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
150 room full service hotel in the heart of downtown State College, PA. One block from Penn State University. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, restaurant, bar, room service, excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Atherton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atherton Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing