We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Atherton Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atherton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Atherton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in State College
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Atherton Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was a very nice hotel located in a great area close to everything . The Room was very very nice and clean I would stay again . The staff was excellent I would recommend this to everyone its worth it.

Room Tip: Don't pass this hotel by because it is a diamond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for choosing The Atherton Hotel! We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    139
    72
    38
    30
See reviews for
136
67
31
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
249 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I always judge a hotel by towels...these are worn, hard and frayed. The hotel is worn as well. Rooms are tired and need a redo with new beds and a modern heating system. Right now there are two temps, cold and really warm....bad. Lacked hot water in the morning....sad. Group events in hotel were unimpressive. Staff was interrupting to clean up before we even finished our meeting. Resteraunt was fine but sparsely staffed. Go elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your unpleasant comments. We are sorry to hear that you seemed to not enjoy very many parts of your stay with us. Please know that if we are made aware of any dissatisfaction we are happy to rectify any situation when we are made aware of the issue while you are on property. Please contact me if I can be of further assistance to you during your next stay in State College. We'd love to have the opportunity to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenville, NY
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. The hotel is clean and neat, and the rooms have more than adequate space. Having stayed here last 3 years ago, it appears as the beds and towels are getting a bit long in the tooth and need to be replaced. Overall a great value and an extremely convenient location for PSU.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeOstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I'm so glad to know that you found the hotel to be quiet, comfortable and meeting your expectations for housekeeping and other features. We are very appreciative of your compliments and will share them with staff. Please feel welcome to contact me any time in the future to personally assist with any of your reservations as it would be my pleasure to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice hotel right in the heart of downtown State College. It's an older hotel than what I'm accustomed to, but it has a lot of charm. The lobby is located on the second floor, the staff at the desk were courteous. My room was clean and fresh with the usual amenities, I was impressed at how quite it was since the hotel was packed with guest during my stay. Didn't get a chance to dine, or use any of the other services that were offered. It's an easy walk to just about anywhere in the downtown area. If you like old school and are looking for a good place to rest, then this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlessedAmI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your comments and thoughts! Please know that if you are ever not satisfied with your stay we are happy to try to upgrade your room or move you to another room. In addition if we are made aware of any issue whatsoever during your stay we will make every effort to make things right for you. Thanks again and wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was my second stay here. Unfortunately my company has meetings here that we have to stay over night with. Both times my hotel room was bad. The curtains look as though they had been sitting in a ball for many days before they were hung. The mattresses were awful! They literally jiggled like a bowl of jello. The remote didn't work unless you stood up and pointed it 2 inches from the tv. And there were water stains on the walls.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiddersL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Please know that we are always happy to upgrade or change rooms if we are made aware that anything in your room does not meet your expectations during your stay. Thank you for your comments. Your business is genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage, PA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were here for a family wedding. Hotel has very pretty public areas but the rooms are a bit dated and could use some updates. Service was excellent and staff friendly and helpful. The wedding reception was in the hotel and it was quite nice. Parking is in garage under the hotel and is a bit tight, especially if you have a large vehicle. They were quite accommodating and let us park in one of the service areas. I would definitely stay here again, especially if I wanted to be close to campus.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mustangsally685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Please know that we will always change or upgrade your room during your stay if we are made aware of any issue that does not meet your expectations during your stay. We appreciate your business! Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here the first weekend back for Spring semester. Only stayed one night, but had a good experience. The bar/restaurant food was suprisingly good as well as the service. The elevator/lobby layout is a bit confusing, but after you figure it out it's a non issue. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Some of the decor and furniture is outdated, but it's an older hotel. The location is very good within State College and it's only a block or two from campus. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better as it sometimes gets very noisy at night along the street especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zackc625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Your business is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#21 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atherton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atherton Hotel

Property: The Atherton Hotel
Address: 125 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atherton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
150 room full service hotel in the heart of downtown State College, PA. One block from Penn State University. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, restaurant, bar, room service, excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atherton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atherton Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing