We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Days Inn by Wyndham Penn State(State College)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(State College)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites(State College)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hampton Inn State College(State College)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Suites Penn State(State College)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carnegie Inn & Spa(State College)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nittany Lion Inn(State College)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
198
159
76
38
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
159
76
38
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtarragon restaurantpenn stateparking garagean older hotelfront desk staffin townwithin walking distancebit datedbeds were comfortablenice roomcollege visitmini fridgestaff was friendlyshuttle servicemy soncookies
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We recently used the Atherton as our host hotel for YMCA State Swimming Championships - we couldn't be happier with our service and accommodations. Thank you to Steve and his staff for making our experience enjoyable and we will be back in 2015.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you very much for choosing The Atherton for the YMCA swimming championships! We are so glad to know that it was a successful weekend, we appreciate your business and your feedback, and will pass along your compliments to Steven and our group sales and catering office. We will hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed at the Atherton while traveling on business. I was greeted warmly by the staff on duty, and found my room to be both charming and inviting. I have stayed here several times before and have always enjoyed the experience. I like the charm of the rooms and the nice quiet location. Thanks for making my trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhodia222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for choosing The Atherton Hotel! Your compliments and positive feedback are truly appreciated. We appreciate your business and will look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was a very nice hotel located in a great area close to everything . The Room was very very nice and clean I would stay again . The staff was excellent I would recommend this to everyone its worth it.

Room Tip: Don't pass this hotel by because it is a diamond.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for choosing The Atherton Hotel! We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I always judge a hotel by towels...these are worn, hard and frayed. The hotel is worn as well. Rooms are tired and need a redo with new beds and a modern heating system. Right now there are two temps, cold and really warm....bad. Lacked hot water in the morning....sad. Group events in hotel were unimpressive. Staff was interrupting to clean up before we even finished our meeting. Resteraunt was fine but sparsely staffed. Go elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your unpleasant comments. We are sorry to hear that you seemed to not enjoy very many parts of your stay with us. Please know that if we are made aware of any dissatisfaction we are happy to rectify any situation when we are made aware of the issue while you are on property. Please contact me if I can be of further assistance to you during your next stay in State College. We'd love to have the opportunity to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. The hotel is clean and neat, and the rooms have more than adequate space. Having stayed here last 3 years ago, it appears as the beds and towels are getting a bit long in the tooth and need to be replaced. Overall a great value and an extremely convenient location for PSU.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeOstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

I'm so glad to know that you found the hotel to be quiet, comfortable and meeting your expectations for housekeeping and other features. We are very appreciative of your compliments and will share them with staff. Please feel welcome to contact me any time in the future to personally assist with any of your reservations as it would be my pleasure to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews