We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rodeway Inn(State College)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Days Inn by Wyndham Penn State(State College)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn State College(State College)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites(State College)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Carnegie Inn & Spa(State College)
US$147
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nittany Lion Inn(State College)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Penn State(State College)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
198
159
76
38
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
159
76
38
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationtarragon restaurantpenn stateparking garagean older hotelfront desk staffin townwithin walking distancebit datedbeds were comfortablenice roomcollege visitmini fridgestaff was friendlyshuttle servicemy soncookies
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel was in great location for us, the staff was really friendly.
The only thing was that the bathroom was a little dirty and at night we wanted to go down to the bar to get a drink and there was an activity going on that was extremely loud to the point we had to leave the hotel to a different bar.
But overall the hotel was great for the price. Will recommender!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn221317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for choosing The Atherton Hotel. Your business is truly appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Frankly, you really want this hotel to be fantastic. The lobby (one flight up from street level) is fantastic. The rooms, however, are a bit lacking. The size is nice. I faced the side of the building that looked onto the parking and trash area of the restaurants on the next street. It was a little noisy with the college kids running around back there and the trash pickup in the morning. The beds were not the best (one of them has seen better days and should be changed out immediately). Pillows alternated between fluffy and harder so I had a good mix. Kuerig coffee machine was nice. The room had a very worn feeling to it, as did the hallways. There were blinds on the windows but no black out drapes, or drapes of any kind that could be pulled in front to keep out the light in the morning. The bathroom was okay but the shower/tub was difficult. I'm only 5'8" tall and i was taller than the shower head. Also, because it had been refitted, the step out of the shower is a bit farther to the floor than you anticipate. Elevators were very slow. Location is fine and I was able to walk everywhere. I would stay here again if the price was right but nothing encouraged me to come back so I might try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmgmdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on your stay. Your feedback is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Atherton Hotel staff in competent, professional and flexible to accommodate any size group. My company has never been disappointed with the quality of our stay. We always appreciate knowing the staff, especially Jessica, will do thier best to ensure our needs our met.


Don't skip Rumors Lounge- Karen makes a mean Bacardi cocktail. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your compliments. We will pass along your comments to Karen and Jessica and appreciate your acknowledgement of these two hard working members of our staff. Thank you for your business and for your time in sharing your insight about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in February on Valentine's Day weekend. Easy check in, easy parking, great, clean room. Close to everything in downtown State College. We will definitely stay again. The rates were also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasshouseinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your comments and for your patronage of the hotel. We will look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I love the Atherton Hotel. The hotel is close to everything in downtown State College and a very comfortable hotel. Their hotel bar is also a nice bar to have a drink or two in and relax. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for choosing The Atherton. We are so glad to know that you were able to enjoy a trip to Rumors during your Easter weekend stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews