We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best State College has to offer!”
Review of The Atherton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Atherton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff was very accomodating, especially since we had over 100 people in our party. Check-in and check-out were smooth and without incident and everyone working at the Atherton was so kind. They allowed us to check in early which was a huge help. The hotel decor is elegant and the rooms were classy, clean and spacious. It was also very quiet at night - no noise heard from other rooms. I absolutely plan to stay here again for future visits to State College.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Thank you for choosing The Atherton Hotel and for sharing your insight and review.

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed our downtown location and that we can have the opportunity to serve you again in the future! Your compliments about the hotel and staff are genuinely appreciated.

If I can ever be of assistance to you in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at mpb@athertonhotel.net.

Best Regards,

Maggie Biddle
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very good hotel and staff. Best location to downtown State College, very convenient. Would be my first choice for my next stay there. Hotel has free access to Penn State's outdoor and indoor pools. Clean room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Dear Jeffrey W,

Thank you so much for your very generous and complimentary review! We are delighted to hear from you and know that you enjoyed your time at The Atherton.

Best Regards,
Maggie Biddle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I have stayed at the Atherton the last 5 years for the arts festival in July. The hotel is GREAT, location is perfect for anything you want to do while you are there and the staff is excellent. They are always there to help in any way they can. The only drawback to the hotel is the lack of WiFi service. One minute you have it and the next minute you don't. This was like this the entire stay. It was reported to the staff and they said it has been a problem for quite sometime. I've never had a problem like this at any of the other hotels I've stayed at when I've been there. This should not happen at such a nice hotel.

Room Tip: A great place to stay other that the Wifi problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for choosing The Atherton Hotel and for sharing your insight. I am sorry for any inconvenience that you experienced with our wi-fi. We have recently contracted with a new provider to correct and improve our free to guest internet service. Thank you again for your business and we will hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stay at the Atherton a number of times every year and am always pleased. This trip I was delayed by many hours due to a bad accident on the highway. I contacted the hotel and explained that I might not even make it. They were so accommodating, recognizing that my possible cancellation would be out of my control and easing my mind. I made it however, and was warmly welcomed. Great breakfast in the dining room the next morning too. I will return!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased to know that your enjoyed your stay and our staff. We will look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It was nice being right in town, and the lobby is nice. I gave it a lower rating because the hotel needs a lot of upgrades. We had 2 rooms and the bathrooms are old and the doors don't close properly. The air conditioning is noisy and the windows should be replaced to keep out the sounds. I didn't expect this from such a pricey hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We want to thank you for your business and feedback. We appreciate the opportunity to make any adjustments or corrections during your stay so that we can insure your happy visit to happy valley! Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience due to downtown sounds and noises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

YES the Hotel is a little dated, However it is far better than the rating it has on TA ?
The staff are excellent, willing to help in any way they can, We stayed on the 6th floor and found our room to be quiet, in good condition with a very comfortable bed.
The air conditioning was noisy (no different than others in older hotels), but acted as "white noise". The location is excellent in that you can walk to restaurants and it has it's own car park in downtown State College, additionally has a bar and its own restaurant.
It certainly has it's quirks, but overall a good choice and quite charming.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and insight. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your willingness to share your feedback with other travelers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Old school hotel with the expected Penn State charm. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was large but a little dated. A/C worked just fine. Close to everything PSU. Staff were wonderful, pleasant & very helpful. The biggest problem were the slow elevators. And if you consider that a problem ( which I don't really consider a problem), then this was one outstanding hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Jody,
Thank you so much for your compliments about our hotel. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Downtown State College. Please know that this very week we have had the care of our elevators changed to a new company and we see that this has already made all the difference in their speed. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. Please feel welcome to contact me personally any time you are returning to the area so that I can provide any assistance you may require with future reservations. Best Regards, Maggie Biddle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#11 of 26 in State College
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
249 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atherton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atherton Hotel

Address: 125 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £65 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atherton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
150 room full service hotel in the heart of downtown State College, PA. One block from Penn State University. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, restaurant, bar, room service, excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atherton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atherton Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing