We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Housekeeping Problems!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 State College
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in State College
Spring City PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Housekeeping Problems!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed for a weekend. Location is good and front office staff friendly and helpful. But when we checked in, we found dirty towels strewn across floor in bathroom, trash cans in room all full of trash from previous guests, no cups or ice bucket, no soap or shampoo/conditioner.
Breakfast OK, but not as good as it could be. If we hadn't needed a hotel that allowed dogs, we would have never stayed here!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for contacting me today regarding your weekend stay. I am so sorry to hear that your Friday night was anything less than super. In talking to the housekeeping supervisor, I learned that the housekeeper assigned to clean your room was pulled away from her room assignment to assist another guest. When the housekeeper returned to the floor to resume cleaning, she immediately began with the next room on her list. Again, I apologize that your room was missed. It is refreshing to learn that the front desk staff was attentive and accommodated all of your needs. During our telephone conversation it was nice to hear that your Saturday night experience was enjoyable. Again thank you for providing feedback on your stay. It is always nice to have an opportunity to establish a connection with a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    196
    209
    96
    63
See reviews for
329
84
74
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MANCHESTER
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

this was my 7th or 8th stay at this location and the least enjoyable. The non smoking room despite having a sign outside declaring it to be non smoking it reeked of cigarette smoke.

The mattress was very uncomfortable. This room is badly in need of renovating

No other rooms were available

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank vincent m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Please accept my sincere apology that we were not able to make your stay with us enjoyable. Whenever a guest violates the non-smoking guestroom designation, we try to sanitize the room to eliminate the smoke odor. However, sometimes it takes several days for the smell to completely dissipate. We apologize that the odor was still in the guestroom and that we were unable to give you another guestroom for your stay. We will inspect the mattress that you mention and replace it if necessary. Again, please accept our apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these State College hotels

Hickory
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Another great job by the staff at the Super 8 in State College, PA. Rooms were quite and neat and the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for the nice comments on your last stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#17 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn State College
Residence Inn State College
#16 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#11 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 State College

Property: Super 8 State College
Address: 1663 South Atherton St., State College, PA 16801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 State College 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 State College Hotel State College
Super Eight State College
State College Super Eight
State College Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing