We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great penn state stay !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 State College
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in State College
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed at several PSU hotels. For the money, this is the best buy. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Perfect place to rest and save alittle money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank headbone67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for the positive comments on your stay. Clean and comfortable is definitely our motto and the standard we work very hard to achieve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

I have stayed here twice now and have been happy both times. I found the staff good-natured and friendly and the accommodations clean and well- maintained. I usually read the worst reviews of places, books, movies, etc. to compare with my own impressions, and I could hardly believe that anyone would raise objections to this Super 8.
Admittedly, I am not known for being observant, but it seemed that some people who wrote bad reviews took a magnifying glass and inspected every inch and nook and cranny looking for something to complain about.
Normally I don't travel with pets, but since I had a cat euthanized two weeks before my trip, I didn't want to leave my second cat alone, as he was still grieving and depressed. I was AMAZED at the fantastic price for keeping my cat with me. It was $25 for the ENTIRE stay. If he had caused damage or there was extra cleaning required, there would have been an extra $100, which seems reasonable to me. One morning I awoke and discovered he had vanished and I was afraid somehow he had gotten out, even with the doors closed. I looked everywhere and couldn't find him. Had someone catnapped him? I was afraid he was lost forever. I stepped into the hall and explained the situation to the housekeeper. She offered to help me search in the room, though I had already looked everywhere. She seemed to be an expert at knowing every hiding place of scared pets, and she found him wedged between the headboard and the wall. I wish to thank this person from the bottom of my heart. She was kind and sympathetic and took time from her cleaning duties to help a frantic customer find a scared cat.
As for people who complain that Super 8 doesn't offer a lavish breakfast and lament that there is no longer a Perkins next door, I would remind everyone about America's obesity epidemic and suggest it might not be such a bad thing to eat more simply on occasion.
I'm totally thrilled with anyplace that offers fresh coffee 24/7 and I plan to stay here whenever I'm in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLPratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your generous comments on your stay at the Super 8 in State College, Pa. We do take great pride to deliver a positive guest experience. The housekeeping staff member was delighted to help you in your time of need. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

First time staying in State College, am staying weekly for a while and needed some place affordable and clean; this hotel is exactly it. The staff is friendly and professional, helpful when needed and the breakfast supplied is perfect for that quick bite before starting the day. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMD812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for the generous compliments. We are very happy to have you as our weekly guest. Your continued loyalty is greatly appreciated. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 May 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TSilfies, General Manager at Super 8 State College, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#24 of 26 in State College
85 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,343 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
249 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 State College

Address: 1663 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-6210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £51 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 State College 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 State College Hotel State College
Super Eight State College
State College Super Eight
State College Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing