We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Penn State
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Days Inn over St. Patrick's Day weekend. It was spring break at PSU. We stayed on the upper floor. ( no pet rooms) The room and bathroom was small, but it was clean and fine for a weekend. Unfortunately it was an adjoining room with only one door between. The people who stayed in that room were loud, disruptive, inconsiderate, rude, etc..... I would suggest a non adjoining room. The manager could not be more understanding when I told her about our stay and she compensated us which was not necessary. ( She had asked, so I told her the truth) I would definitely give it a try again due to the cleanliness, proximity, and most importantly the staff. Also, I would make sure we do not have an adjoining room. I understand it is a college town, but when you stay at a hotel you must have respect for others that also are staying there.

Room Tip: Non adjoining room. If you have allergies ask for an upper floor where pets do not stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbhpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Chairman Award winning Days Inn Penn State. We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding our cleanliness and friendliness here at the Days Inn Penn State. Our location in the "Heart of Downtown" makes it extremely easy to walk the one block up to the PSU campus, shopping, dining and entertainment. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Tis hotel's location is great as it right off Beaver Ave and very close to the campus. It could use some updating but it is perfectly fine. The only complaint I have is that the maid service never occurred during our two day stay. We checked in Friday and hit the campus and town on Saturday. We left around Noon and didn't get back till 10PM that night. When we returned the beds were not made and the bathroom not cleaned. We went to bed then got up on Sunday and left. I mentioned this to the college age kid at the front desk and he didn't seem to grasp what I was saying or at least he didn't show that it was a concern. I wouldn't say don't stay here as I am sure it was a fluke but it would have been nice if the front desk acknowledged the lack of maid service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Chairman Award winning Days Inn Penn State. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location in the "Heart of Downtown". I'm sorry to hear about the issues with housekeeping and our front desk agent. I have contacted the Executive Housekeeper and we are taking the necessary steps to take care of the situation. It is very much a concern to us when our guests are not fully satisfied. Thank you again for the comments, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

You can't beat the location to stay at Penn State. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Everything is easy, nice and convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Days Inn Penn State. We are thrilled you enjoyed our premium location in the "Heart of Downtown" State College. Our staff strives daily to provide a clean room to our guests, I will pass your comments on to our housekeeping staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I was there Halloween weekend and we were in a small room some of us we had to sleep on floor and there was cigarette ashes in the bathroom.Over all I would not recommend it unless have to $300 dollars.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheen789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
statecollegePADips, General Manager at Days Inn Penn State, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for having taken the time to comment about your recent stay with us at the Chairman Award winning Days Inn Penn State. I'm sorry to hear about the situation with your room. Thank you again for the input and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#10 of 26 in State College
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
587 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Penn State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Penn State

Address: 240 S Pugh St, State College, PA 16801-4935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in State College
#5 Romantic Hotel in State College
#8 Family Hotel in State College
#8 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £78 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Penn State 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2016 Days Inn brand Hotel of the Year. Our location, in the heart of downtown State College, allows for walking to all points on the Penn State campus, restaurants/bars and shopping. We offer free covered parking, free Wi-Fi service, an award winning restaurant, Mad Mex, beautiful atrium, oversized indoor pool, free lobby coffee 24hrs/day and free airport shuttle. The Days Inn Penn State offers absolutely everything one would need when visiting State College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Penn State reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing