We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn State College
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I reserved this hotel because my first choices were booked. Arriving on a long drive from Ann Arbor MI after 11 at night I was looking forward to a good night of sleep on a typically clean Hampton Inn. My "non smoking" room had been clearly smoked in and smelled dirty. There were stains in the sink and in the carpet and worst of all, hair in the shower. Overall the room was tired and in need of a complete renovation. The public spaces were no better with peeling wallpaper, dingy looking surfaces and poor lighting and a chemical smell trying to cover up other smells. Thankfully my stay was only one night. On a positive note, the gentleman who checked me in was very friendly and provided good service. Having a clean room is the most important element in the overall hotel experience. Based on the poor cleaning standard and need for a complete property overhaul, I recommend you look elsewhere when booking a hotel in State College.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giantsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Giantsteve,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your accommodations while in State College but you have highlighted some issues that we will surely not overlook. As you can tell by other positive reviews of our property we enjoy providing our guests with friendly customer service and a clean and comfortable stay, it is a shame that you could only experience one of those with us. We hope that we can someday get a chance to provide you with a more positive experience to walk away with.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

I recommend this Hotel to anyone looking to visit the State College area, every part of it was awesome and outstanding. The breakfast lasted 4 hours and stayed full with great food that was hot and fresh. The TV's in the lobby were great as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Spent the night there for the Central Pa. Fest on July 4th and I love this Hampton Inn! Very clean, wonderful staff, low prices and the breakfast can't be beat. Great value for the money and I highly recommend this and any Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurtP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Hampton Inn is a great place for the value. The complimentary coffee is available all day and always fresh and hot. The beds are very comfortable and the heating/cooling system works great and runs pretty quietly. The staff was friendly and helpful. The size of the room was very comfortable, I did not feel closed in. The bathroom is a nice size too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great value off season. Penn State was out of session during my visit. We used a coupon from a travel book during this walk in stay. If I ever have a chance, I try to stay at a Hampton Inn for both business and pleasure. The beds are comfortable and rooms well kept.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is convenient to the Penn State campus, there is a Damon's restaurant in the parking lot and the breakfast was very good -pretty much everything that you need when taking your student to Penn State! Front desk was friendly and helpful, and although we didn't use it, the pool looked very clean and inviting. Would stay here again,no question.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Steelangel,

Thank you for posting such great comments about your recent stay with our hotel and I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to be so close to Penn State's campus and to share a parking lot with Damon's, this proves to be a great convenience to our guests.

We look forward to your next visit with us for another chance to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Hamptons are consistantly above your average hotel. While not being a 4 star palace, you almost always get the feeling that you recieved a good value for your dollar. I stay in Hamptons whenever I travel, which is a fair amount, and I do so for the reasons stated above. Consistant in a hotel is a very good thing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2013

Robert L,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Hampton, we too believe in the consistency and trust that our brand brings to travelers such as yourself. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and I hope that we can see you again in State College.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#13 of 26 in State College
248 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#12 Business Hotel in State College
#12 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range: £69 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton, is located 1/2 mile from Penn State campus, Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordon Center, Pegula Ice Arena and Mount Nittany Medical Center. Daily hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi are included. The hotel shares the parking lot with a popular casual restaurant and lounge. We are only 3/4 miles from downtown and I 99/Rt.322. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing