We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn State College”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn State College
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stay at the Hampton because it is usually consistent. The State College Hampton in was below Hampton Inn's normal standards. The bathroom had a giant hair in the toilet and one in the sink upon arrival. Making it appear it wasn't clean. The carpets in the lobby and halls are very stained (party school?). The room and bed were clean and nice. The fridge was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Paul F.

Your loyalty to Hampton Inn is greatly appreciated and you are correct that the great thing about the brand is a true consistency across the string of hotels that share the name. I do apologize that you however did not hold the same satisfaction level that you have had at other locations. A clean room is just as important to us as it is to you and there is no excuse for an unclean room upon arrival. The carpets within the rooms and hallways are all going to be replaced within the next few months and will certainly help against the look and feel that you described. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you can come try us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

I have stayed at many hotels in my 35 years of business and personal travel. I will only stay at a Hampton Inn. I've traveled from Arizona to Massachusetts and many states in between for business purposes. Regardless of where I stay, Hampton Inn offers consistency of service, value and comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

John G.,

Thank you for the amazing comments towards Hampton Inn's. We too share your opinions towards travel and appreciate your loyalty. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Made reservations month ago, I made an error and needed to add a day on the front end and take a day off on the back side. NO ONE could or would help me, I call everywhere I was told,and gave all the information. Very poor treatment and service. I ended up calling the hotel, they couldn't help, so I booked an extra day on the front and left a day early, without any refund or consideration.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

John R.,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the great review. I am sorry that we could not provide you with the assistance you needed regarding the alterations of dates leading up to your stay. Advance Purchase reservations do provide a good discount but are unfortunately out of our hands at the property level if modifications do need to be made. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope that you can come back and see us again.

Ryan Saal - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Nice pool, nice fitness area and great breakfast..not much negative. Located near a few restaurants, including an olive garden right in the hotel parking lot...breakfast buffet includes waffles, cereals, sausage, breads, juices...all at no charge...parking and wireless also complimemtary...approx a 5 min drive from penn state university..strange thing about this area is that if you want to buy bottled beer to take to your hotel room, you have to buy it from a restaurant...strange..overall good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moldy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A pleasant greeting upon your arrival, your room being ready, and a clean spotless appearance when you walk into your room sets you up for a restful visit. On top of that when you need information from the hostess every effort given to be helpful and considerate to assure you remember to come back again when in town. When you see clean bathroom and clean bed covers you feel relaxed that what you don't see is clean as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

George R.,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay in State College. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a success for us when we know that we have provided a guest of ours with a positive experience from check-in to checkout and with friendly service and clean amenities. Thank you for making our day by sharing with us.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I reserved this hotel because my first choices were booked. Arriving on a long drive from Ann Arbor MI after 11 at night I was looking forward to a good night of sleep on a typically clean Hampton Inn. My "non smoking" room had been clearly smoked in and smelled dirty. There were stains in the sink and in the carpet and worst of all, hair in the shower. Overall the room was tired and in need of a complete renovation. The public spaces were no better with peeling wallpaper, dingy looking surfaces and poor lighting and a chemical smell trying to cover up other smells. Thankfully my stay was only one night. On a positive note, the gentleman who checked me in was very friendly and provided good service. Having a clean room is the most important element in the overall hotel experience. Based on the poor cleaning standard and need for a complete property overhaul, I recommend you look elsewhere when booking a hotel in State College.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giantsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Giantsteve,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your accommodations while in State College but you have highlighted some issues that we will surely not overlook. As you can tell by other positive reviews of our property we enjoy providing our guests with friendly customer service and a clean and comfortable stay, it is a shame that you could only experience one of those with us. We hope that we can someday get a chance to provide you with a more positive experience to walk away with.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I recommend this Hotel to anyone looking to visit the State College area, every part of it was awesome and outstanding. The breakfast lasted 4 hours and stayed full with great food that was hot and fresh. The TV's in the lobby were great as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
577 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
249 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#12 Business Hotel in State College
#12 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range: £67 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton, is located 1/2 mile from Penn State campus, Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordon Center, Pegula Ice Arena and Mount Nittany Medical Center. Daily hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi are included. The hotel shares the parking lot with a popular casual restaurant and lounge. We are only 3/4 miles from downtown and I 99/Rt.322. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing