We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit And A Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn State College
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A Penn State football weekend came to be at the last minute and a family member was able to locate a room at the Hampton Inn. Having never stayed at this chain before, I had no idea what to expect and I was pleasantly surprised.

Check-in was a bit slow but nothing to complain about. The room was very clean yet the bathroom was not quite as clean as I would have liked. Not terrible but could have used more detail cleaning. The beds were clean yet an oddity were post-it notes on the headboard with information about the bedding...we couldn't figure these out and if they were a marketing approach, they didn't quite make the mark.

Much to my pleasant surprise, there was breakfast in the lobby area and it was quite nice -- steaming hot oatmeal, cereals, bagels and danish...very nice spread. And the staff was totally "on it" in terms of refilling things that were running low and keeping the tables clean.

The hotel was quiet, the location relative to Beaver Stadium was ideal, parking was easy, and the bus from town stopped directly across the street from the hotel. Will definitely make the Hampton Inn a choice for future State College trips.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beetlemom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn State College
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Above all I am looking for clean in a hotel room. Added plus here is that they supposedly wash the duvet for each guest - that is a great added plus. Free breakfast included - your standard free breakfast, have to say the coffee was phenomenal and there was half and half (rather than just powdered creamer or non-dairy product). Coffee/tea available all day long. Unfortunately no AMC for TV channels so I missed Breaking Bad. This is third hotel in area that I have encountered that doesn't have AMC - set your DVR before you leave for State College. La Fresh makeup wipe in the bathroom - wonderful added touch. Coffee maker in room (but just skip that and go for the coffee in the lobby) but no fridge or microwave. Comfortable stay. Pleasant staff who allowed to use computer to set up my Hilton Honors account to partner with United Airlines so I could get bonus mileage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is close to downtown and also the mall. Also it is very close to the Penn State Football Stadium and the campus.The staff is very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean. The furniture is well used and rugs are old looking. One big problem try not to get a room in the front. There is a restaurant in the front of the hotel. It can be noisy due to there customers at night and there is garbage pickup very early in the morning. This woke my wife and I up. So try to get a room with the windows in the back. Also I find it kind of strange that the TV is HD but they don't seem to have HD programs. Also they have hardly any channels. I never can understand why most Hampton Inn's are like this. But I still think it is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the back.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Which is a standard Hampton Inn. Nothing to write home about. Clean room, comfortable bed, adequate bathroom. Very small closet/wardrobe thing and the desk is butted right up against the air conditioner so it is a bit uncomfortable to work there because it blows right on you. The location is good in relation to the campus.

Good for a night...would not want to stay there for an elongated period of time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very convenient location in State College on College ave. Has the typical hotel needs, free internet, breakfast: I don't know why anyone would stay at a hotel that doesn't offer these any more. Came down to help our son and daughter move in and this was just down the road. Only thing was the room was damp, the previous guest must have left the windows open or something.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank jazarneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel was very convenient as far as location for us. The staff on call when we arrived where very helpful and polite. The rooms where clean and well appointed but would have liked the convenience of a bar fridge. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Vienna, Virginia
1
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stay in Hampton and Garden Inns both in the USA and abroad quite frequently. There is a distinction between a real warm and friendly welcome and the "courteous indifference" of someone who simply is going through the process. This hotel could do a little bit more to go beyond average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
563 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 26 in State College
247 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#12 Romantic Hotel in State College
#12 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £71 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton, is located 1/2 mile from Penn State campus, Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordon Center, Pegula Ice Arena and Mount Nittany Medical Center. Daily hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi are included. The hotel shares the parking lot with a popular casual restaurant and lounge. We are only 3/4 miles from downtown and I 99/Rt.322. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing