We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn State College
Nearby Hotels
US$114
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Garden Inn State College(State College)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$585
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toftrees Golf Resort(State College)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nittany Lion Inn(State College)
US$334
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Penn State(State College)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(State College)(Great Value!)
US$88
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(State College)(Great Value!)
US$97
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Penn State(State College)(Great Value!)
US$135
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites(State College)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$256
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
279
218
75
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
218
75
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking lotcomplimentary breakfastroom was cleanoutdoor poolbeaver stadiumoatmealwould stay againthe bryce jordan centergreat place to staybreakfast staffin townfront desk staffclose to downtownmy sonstaff was friendlybusiness tripconvenient location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Good Breakfast. Staff was very nice.They were renovating and we needed a Handicap room. our choices were a king bed with regular bath tub or a walk in shower with a full size bed. These people are woefully uniformed about being disabled. Larger beds are needed and more disabled rooms are needed. We chose the larger bed. If my wife had fallen getting in or out of the tub I would have made a large issue out of it.

Room Tip: Try to get into the renovated section.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, General Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Rand M,

Thank you for the choosing to stay with us and for the feedback. I apologize for your dissatisfaction regarding our handicap rooms but can assure you that we are ADA approved, any recommendations for improvements are always welcome though. I am pleased to say that our carpet renovations are complete and hope that you will give our hotel another visit.

Thank you again for staying at the Hampton Inn,

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A Penn State football weekend came to be at the last minute and a family member was able to locate a room at the Hampton Inn. Having never stayed at this chain before, I had no idea what to expect and I was pleasantly surprised.

Check-in was a bit slow but nothing to complain about. The room was very clean yet the bathroom was not quite as clean as I would have liked. Not terrible but could have used more detail cleaning. The beds were clean yet an oddity were post-it notes on the headboard with information about the bedding...we couldn't figure these out and if they were a marketing approach, they didn't quite make the mark.

Much to my pleasant surprise, there was breakfast in the lobby area and it was quite nice -- steaming hot oatmeal, cereals, bagels and danish...very nice spread. And the staff was totally "on it" in terms of refilling things that were running low and keeping the tables clean.

The hotel was quiet, the location relative to Beaver Stadium was ideal, parking was easy, and the bus from town stopped directly across the street from the hotel. Will definitely make the Hampton Inn a choice for future State College trips.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beetlemom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Above all I am looking for clean in a hotel room. Added plus here is that they supposedly wash the duvet for each guest - that is a great added plus. Free breakfast included - your standard free breakfast, have to say the coffee was phenomenal and there was half and half (rather than just powdered creamer or non-dairy product). Coffee/tea available all day long. Unfortunately no AMC for TV channels so I missed Breaking Bad. This is third hotel in area that I have encountered that doesn't have AMC - set your DVR before you leave for State College. La Fresh makeup wipe in the bathroom - wonderful added touch. Coffee maker in room (but just skip that and go for the coffee in the lobby) but no fridge or microwave. Comfortable stay. Pleasant staff who allowed to use computer to set up my Hilton Honors account to partner with United Airlines so I could get bonus mileage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is close to downtown and also the mall. Also it is very close to the Penn State Football Stadium and the campus.The staff is very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean. The furniture is well used and rugs are old looking. One big problem try not to get a room in the front. There is a restaurant in the front of the hotel. It can be noisy due to there customers at night and there is garbage pickup very early in the morning. This woke my wife and I up. So try to get a room with the windows in the back. Also I find it kind of strange that the TV is HD but they don't seem to have HD programs. Also they have hardly any channels. I never can understand why most Hampton Inn's are like this. But I still think it is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is in the back.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Which is a standard Hampton Inn. Nothing to write home about. Clean room, comfortable bed, adequate bathroom. Very small closet/wardrobe thing and the desk is butted right up against the air conditioner so it is a bit uncomfortable to work there because it blows right on you. The location is good in relation to the campus.

Good for a night...would not want to stay there for an elongated period of time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews