We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skimping on the little things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn State College
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Abbeville, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Skimping on the little things”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The desk staff is always very helpful and service is quick. Cleanliness is never a problem. Had a decent enough night, but what a sad breakfast. I was observed struggling with the juice dispenser, but no help. Pastries need upgrading and total lack of any breakfast meat. Sad.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, General Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your honest review of our staff and amenities. I am pleased to see that you were satisfied with our desk staff as well as our room cleanliness but I apologize that we fell short of your expectations in breakfast. If there are any suggestions that you would like to see added to our pastries options in the morning please message me back and I will check on what we can add for your next stay with us. Thank you again for the feedback.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    199
    68
    27
    10
See reviews for
253
77
42
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Good location for visit to Penn State. Outside of Inn looking dated but interior is fine. Room was quiet and comfortable..and what you expect with this hotel brand. Breakfast was very good. There is a Damons restaurant across the parking but not many other options nearby. My preference would be the Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square at State College. More dining options nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WC-Travelers-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, General Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
WC Travelers 75,

I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and your accommodations were comfortable with friendly service. While I do understand that Damon's is the only walking distance restaurant near the hotel, we are minutes away from the downtown dining on College Avenue and the delivery options in State College are very vast as well. Thank you again for staying with us and we appreciate your comments and feedback about your stay.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

When visiting the State College area, the Hampton located on College Avenue is my first and only choice of hotel. It's quiet, exceptionally clean, comfortable and offers the best early morning breakfast in town (included in the price). Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Comfortable clean room; very large. Nice staff. Would stay here again. Close to my son's house and to activities in town. Some noise as it was by the elevator but not bad. Breakfast was fine and good coffee for hotel coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My first stay at this Hampton Inn and it met my expectations. I have stayed at other Hampton Inn at other cities and this one did not disappoint neither. Staff were very friendly everyday. Breakfast was very good with good selections. Although I wasn't here for any Penn State event, the hotel's location to the campus is very close in terms of driving distance. As for the room, it is showing some signs of aging when compared to other Hampton Inns. However it still feels fresh and inviting. Damon's Grill is right in front of the hotel and great place to eat if you decide not to venture out. One unique feature that I haven't seen in any other hotels (including other Hampton Inns) is the USB ports next to the beds (see photo). Great for charging my phone overnight! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilot08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Awesome staff clearly mgmt has a great grip of the business and has developed wonderful employees. May not be the newest or grand hotels but what a feel good hotel that makes me feel at home. I would advise any business or pleasure to stay here when visiting the area. Great Breakfast for

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have stayed here twice a few years back, and returned this past weekend with my husband while visiting PSU and our daughter. The staff is very friendly, the included continental breakfast is good with a pleasant dining area. The room was clean and spacious. Would recommend staying in the back of the building and avoid adjoining rooms. I would recommend that the hotel consider investing in some sound-proofing for adjoining rooms and perhaps some dampers on the very loud slamming room doors!!!
Overall, a good hotel to stay, especially when you compare other hotels and the $$$ they charge.

Room Tip: Rear of the building, non-adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
239 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
767 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Property: Hampton Inn State College
Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#12 Romantic Hotel in State College
#12 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton, is located 1/2 mile from Penn State campus, Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordon Center, Pegula Ice Arena and Mount Nittany Medical Center. Daily hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi are included. The hotel shares the parking lot with a popular casual restaurant and lounge. We are only 3/4 miles from downtown and I 99/Rt.322. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing