We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable room vastly overpriced!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn State College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn State College
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake, United States
1 review
“Reasonable room vastly overpriced!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel and room where about what I expected. The room was clean, but a little noisy. The free breakfast was edible but nothing memorable. But the price was more than double what I thought the room was worth. I needed to stay in this area for a wedding so I had little choice. If I ever come back to this area (unlikely) I will try very hard to find s better value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, General Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Arthur D,

Thank you for providing a review regarding your recent stay with our hotel. I am sorry to see that our value did not meet your expectations while in for the wedding and that the breakfast was not memorable. I am pleased to see that your experience with cleanliness and overall service was positive during your stay. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and value your feedback.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    191
    65
    24
    9
See reviews for
231
72
35
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here for business several nights over a two week period. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The room and bathrooms were roomy and clean. It was nice having the shelves in the bathroom for storage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank lorraineh562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REISTERSTOWN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I always stay at Hampton Inn's because they are always a great value for your money, clean and have a wonderful complimentary breakfast. The Hampton Inn in State College did NOT let me down. Set back off the street, it is a very quiet location. I would definitely stay here again when in State College.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank BARBARA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luterville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

As you may know, it is impossible to get a room for graduation at PSU unless you book way in advance. This hotel was great for location but the cost was ridiculous. Being a frequent Hampton Inn visitor, I know about how much rooms should be. This room was way over the top in terms of price. This would be a great hotel if you were staying for something other than a graduation or football game.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Average Hampton Inn. Has stopped offering the fresh baked cookies in late afternoon. That is disappointing. Good location, close to PSU Campus with a Damons in the parking lot for a quick bite. Easy access to major roads in and out of State College area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D, Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Ed S,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Happy Valley. I am glad that you found our property convenient to you destination. We aspire to make all our guests to feel welcome, and at home, from the moment they walk in the door. Your suggestions to bring the cookies back will be kept in mind as we continue to improve on our product and services. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manhattan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is very clean, and the staff is very friendly. The hotel is a bit old but the is very clean and has no dated smell what so ever. I would absolutely stay here again. Once again the staff is very friendly and you get a discount at Damon's next store,which is a pretty cool sports bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gregg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a great rate at this hotel during the Blue White weekend. The hotel was very clean, quiet, and in a great location (unless you want to walk to the shops and bars downtown, then the location isn't so great). We walked (kids 4 and 7) to the stadium, so it's not that far at all.

The breakfast was good. I would like to see donuts, as my kids aren't fans of pastries. The oatmeal was great and made just the way I like it.

We had to request a rollaway bed and it was in the room upon arrival, and was comfortable.

My only compliant, and it was frustrating, was housekeeping on the 2nd day. We are a family of four, and used all of the wash cloths on our first full day. Upon cleaning up the room the next day, we were only given 2 wash cloths for day two. I could have called and waited around for them, but I didn't feel like being bothered. We made do, but it makes no sense not to fully replenish bathroom linens when we had clearly used everything and left them on the floor for refreshing. I did leave a tip for housekeeping, so not sure what was going on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dewhee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Property: Hampton Inn State College
Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#12 Business Hotel in State College
#12 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton, is located 1/2 mile from Penn State campus, Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordon Center, Pegula Ice Arena and Mount Nittany Medical Center. Daily hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi are included. The hotel shares the parking lot with a popular casual restaurant and lounge. We are only 3/4 miles from downtown and I 99/Rt.322. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing