We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near Penn State”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn State College
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This Hampton Inn is located near Penn State. It has nice décor and linens, and newer carpeting throughout. For breakfast there are different hot and cold breakfast selections, including eggs, breakfast meat and potatoes, cereals, fruit, breads and waffles. The breakfast area has a variety of seating options and is nicely decorated. There is a good size outdoor private pool with lounges.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cac1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

No real eminities. Fitness room machines poor. Room smelled. Pool is outside not inviting. Staff including manager was unproffessional while dealing with noise compliant. Room was adequate and clean. Breakfast was average but fruit was not fresh.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, General Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Andrew N,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was below par and that you were not satisfied after speaking with one of our managers after a noise complaint. I would be happy to discuss more with you anytime if you would like to call me. To achieve guest satisfaction is our highest priority and again I apologize that you did not feel we delivered this to you.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Three night stay visiting college. Hotel was clean, staff very friendly and rate was in excellent condition for the price. Complementary breakfast and wifi was included. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Boyde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very nice place conveniently located to some key parts of the Penn State campus and to the major access roads. Have stayed here several times on business and have never had a bad experience. Damon's Restaurant is right out front, which offers a nice dining option. The breakfast layout is fairly spacious and a good selection offered. Room clean. Overall no problems. Unless the price goes up, it will continue to be my first Penn State-business option.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were in State College for a family wedding and just wanted a clean, comfortable room for a couple of nights. This gem exceeded our expectations. Everything was so clean and well cared for that we were surprised to hear that it was not a brand new hotel. Staff was delightful and the price was right. In the morning we were again pleasantly surprised to see the variety and quality of the hot breakfast. We would definitely stay again on our next trip to State College.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff is excellent very welcoming & helpful with any of your needs. Great location it's close to downtown, all the stadiums, the airport, and the highways. Also in the same lot there is a restaurant that is open late.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I attended a family gathering at State College, PA and needed a place to stay that was close to where the festivities were being held. We'd had a good experience previously with Hampton Inn and thought that this time would be no different, and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
605 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#10 of 26 in State College
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,415 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#13 of 26 in State College
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#12 Romantic Hotel in State College
#12 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £64 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton, is located 1/2 mile from Penn State campus, Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordon Center, Pegula Ice Arena and Mount Nittany Medical Center. Daily hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi are included. The hotel shares the parking lot with a popular casual restaurant and lounge. We are only 3/4 miles from downtown and I 99/Rt.322. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing