We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy,but average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn State College
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Busy,but average”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have been staying at the Hampton Inn in Williamsport PA for years now, so I guess we are spoiled. This location has none of the personal warmth that the other location has, and because of the volumes of people coming for sports events in the area, parts of the hotel could use some updating. There is no "store" off the front desk to purchase food, drinks, toiletries, etc.--only vending machines. The pool is outside, and the breakfast area is right in the lobby, nothing to separate it from the business end of checking in and checking out. They do not have queen size beds, only doubles. Queen size beds have become standard in most hotels. This hotel is just average.

Room Tip: Parking lot is normally full because of the amount of guests, and the Damons restaurant next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadLessTravelledNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    203
    70
    27
    11
See reviews for
261
78
42
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, New York
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This Hampton Inn is located near Penn State. It has nice décor and linens, and newer carpeting throughout. For breakfast there are different hot and cold breakfast selections, including eggs, breakfast meat and potatoes, cereals, fruit, breads and waffles. The breakfast area has a variety of seating options and is nicely decorated. There is a good size outdoor private pool with lounges.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cac1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

No real eminities. Fitness room machines poor. Room smelled. Pool is outside not inviting. Staff including manager was unproffessional while dealing with noise compliant. Room was adequate and clean. Breakfast was average but fruit was not fresh.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, General Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Andrew N,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was below par and that you were not satisfied after speaking with one of our managers after a noise complaint. I would be happy to discuss more with you anytime if you would like to call me. To achieve guest satisfaction is our highest priority and again I apologize that you did not feel we delivered this to you.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Three night stay visiting college. Hotel was clean, staff very friendly and rate was in excellent condition for the price. Complementary breakfast and wifi was included. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Boyde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very nice place conveniently located to some key parts of the Penn State campus and to the major access roads. Have stayed here several times on business and have never had a bad experience. Damon's Restaurant is right out front, which offers a nice dining option. The breakfast layout is fairly spacious and a good selection offered. Room clean. Overall no problems. Unless the price goes up, it will continue to be my first Penn State-business option.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate N.y.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were in State College for a family wedding and just wanted a clean, comfortable room for a couple of nights. This gem exceeded our expectations. Everything was so clean and well cared for that we were surprised to hear that it was not a brand new hotel. Staff was delightful and the price was right. In the morning we were again pleasantly surprised to see the variety and quality of the hot breakfast. We would definitely stay again on our next trip to State College.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff is excellent very welcoming & helpful with any of your needs. Great location it's close to downtown, all the stadiums, the airport, and the highways. Also in the same lot there is a restaurant that is open late.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
551 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 26 in State College
244 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Property: Hampton Inn State College
Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#12 Business Hotel in State College
#12 Romantic Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton, is located 1/2 mile from Penn State campus, Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordon Center, Pegula Ice Arena and Mount Nittany Medical Center. Daily hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi are included. The hotel shares the parking lot with a popular casual restaurant and lounge. We are only 3/4 miles from downtown and I 99/Rt.322. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing