We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn State College
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stay in 50+ Hampton Inns/year around the country.The front desk staff is good and means well, however this hotel has bad management....clearly. Two mornings in a row there were no eggs. three mornings in a row there was no hot water at the coffee bar. Other typical breakfast items were not available. I complained to the manager two days in a row, left my phone & room number, told him I was a Diamond member and never got a call back...odd and ridiculous. Dirty towels I left on my sink and in my bath tub were still there when i returned the next night. there was a shirt hanging on the back of my bathroom door when I checked in. The chairs in the rooms sit too low. How does this Hampton meet the Hilton high standards? I have stayed at Hampton Inns all over the US, including small rural areas, and the breakfast service and maid service here are thoroughly substandard.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank onthemove777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed one night on a business trip. Switched at the last minute from the Holiday Inn Express and was a little bit disappointed, to be perfectly honest. I'll give the HIE a shot next time since it seems to be better-liked, plus I've stayed there before and enjoyed it.

The pluses:

- The rooms are clean and neat.
- The interior appears to have been renovated.
- The gym is above-average for a 2/3-star hotel.
- Nice updated TV.

The minuses:

- The exterior makes this place look like a cheap motel.
- The bed is a double - most other similar hotels I've stayed at have at least a queen.
- The TV is useless in inclement weather: DirecTV doesn't do well in a thunderstorm and I just got that "lucky" on the worst day possible - the day that Brazil and Germany played in a World Cup semifinal. Glad I brought my iPad... I realize that Hampton has no control over the weather, don't get me wrong - but what it does have control over is the vendor. Perhaps in an area where it rains, thunderstorms, snows, etc, cable would have been more warranted than satellite. As a guest, I don't really care about hearing legitimate excuses as to why the TV works - I just need it to work.
- I'm a Gold member and that went entirely unrecognized upon arrival. Don't get me wrong, I can do without the bottle of water and granola bar, but still, not really up to Hilton's standards.
- I got stuck in a room right next to the stairs. That would have been fine, but people seem to use the staircase to smoke with all that entails...
- The room didn't have a fridge which would have been eminently useful.
- The bath towels were probably the lowest-quality I've ever used in a hotel of this level.

Honestly, I doubt I'll be back. My previous experience with Hampton has gotten me accustomed to better accommodations and there are just better hotels in town - especially at $140/night.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms close to the staircase unless you don't mind smelling smoke in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlanderfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have been staying at the Hampton Inn in Williamsport PA for years now, so I guess we are spoiled. This location has none of the personal warmth that the other location has, and because of the volumes of people coming for sports events in the area, parts of the hotel could use some updating. There is no "store" off the front desk to purchase food, drinks, toiletries, etc.--only vending machines. The pool is outside, and the breakfast area is right in the lobby, nothing to separate it from the business end of checking in and checking out. They do not have queen size beds, only doubles. Queen size beds have become standard in most hotels. This hotel is just average.

Room Tip: Parking lot is normally full because of the amount of guests, and the Damons restaurant next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadLessTravelledNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This Hampton Inn is located near Penn State. It has nice décor and linens, and newer carpeting throughout. For breakfast there are different hot and cold breakfast selections, including eggs, breakfast meat and potatoes, cereals, fruit, breads and waffles. The breakfast area has a variety of seating options and is nicely decorated. There is a good size outdoor private pool with lounges.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cac1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

No real eminities. Fitness room machines poor. Room smelled. Pool is outside not inviting. Staff including manager was unproffessional while dealing with noise compliant. Room was adequate and clean. Breakfast was average but fruit was not fresh.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RyanHIExp, General Manager at Hampton Inn State College, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Andrew N,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was below par and that you were not satisfied after speaking with one of our managers after a noise complaint. I would be happy to discuss more with you anytime if you would like to call me. To achieve guest satisfaction is our highest priority and again I apologize that you did not feel we delivered this to you.

Sincerely,

Ryan Saal - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Three night stay visiting college. Hotel was clean, staff very friendly and rate was in excellent condition for the price. Complementary breakfast and wifi was included. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Boyde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very nice place conveniently located to some key parts of the Penn State campus and to the major access roads. Have stayed here several times on business and have never had a bad experience. Damon's Restaurant is right out front, which offers a nice dining option. The breakfast layout is fairly spacious and a good selection offered. Room clean. Overall no problems. Unless the price goes up, it will continue to be my first Penn State-business option.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
585 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,374 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#12 of 26 in State College
251 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn State College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn State College

Address: 1101 E College Ave, State College, PA 16801-6808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in State College
#12 Romantic Hotel in State College
#12 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £63 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn State College 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn by Hilton, is located 1/2 mile from Penn State campus, Beaver Stadium, Bryce Jordon Center, Pegula Ice Arena and Mount Nittany Medical Center. Daily hot breakfast and free Wi-Fi are included. The hotel shares the parking lot with a popular casual restaurant and lounge. We are only 3/4 miles from downtown and I 99/Rt.322. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn State College Hotel State College
State College Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing