We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, hospitable charm amidst the giant PSU Campus”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This inn is a must stay for someone new to the PSU world. It offers very quaint experiences with some 2011+ upgrades (like Wifi). The inn is located at the end of the campus, next to the world famous Nittany Lion Shrine.

PROS: Location, location, location - on campus, next to the Lion Shrine, beautiful grounds, easy to walk to anything on campus or the bus loops. In fact, the bus is literally right out the back door, and the White and Blue Loops are FREE OF CHARGE. The hotel is closest to the West Residence Halls, some education and engineering buildings, the "mall," and the Library. I think this is the prettiest part of campus. When driving, it's at a very popular intersection and very easy to find.

CONS: Book in advance! Rooms sell out super, super, super fast especially during football season and popular wedding months.

Room Tip: book in advance - as soon as you know your dates, book immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcr195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

We Are...so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

If you happen to visit us again during our snowy season, or at any time of the year, we also offer a complimentary shuttle service for all of our overnight guests throughout the local area. While we agree that the Loop is wonderful, we also don't want you to have to wait if you are pressed for time! Our Guest Services team is always happy to help.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

Our family has been staying at the Inn for decades and love "coming home" each year. Hard to beat location and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grandscru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

We are so glad to have our family come home...thank you so much for your loyalty to the Inn over the years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed for 4 nights because my workshop in Penn State University was just few meters awya. The staff is normal, nice food, clean rooms. The hotel has shuttle which can drive you to any place you want.

Room Tip: Try to get your room as near as possible to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo2men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed in State College for the first time last week. I am not sure about other hotels in the area but the service at the Nittany Lion Inn was fantastic. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed the evening before, checked out in the morning and spen the entire day in meetings. They stored my bag and when I returned they let me park my car and use the lobby for internet access while I waited for dinner companions. In addition to the service, it is a beautiful old hotel that looks like a Mansion from the outside. Saw a group of high schoool studenst leaving the lobby for a college tour. Great location for a colleg tour. Right in the middle of campus. They also offer free shuttles around State College.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seaver41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The staff is always friendly. It is an old hotel that is modern enough to feel good but still has that warm old hotel appeal. Had a great room nice and clean

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The Nittany Lion Inn is wonderfully located in the heart of Penn State University. Clean rooms. Very attentive staff. Free internet. Good food, but the service in the restaurant was a little slow. The building is old, but nicely renovated. l have no difficulty in recommending the Inn for a stay in Happy Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Main_Line_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The Nittany Lion Inn is a beautiful old building with an upscale ambiance, clean and ample rooms and cordial (But a little stiff) service. There are also conference facilties for a medium sized gathering. I showed up in shorts and a short sleeved shirt (Comfortable for my lenghty drive) and noticed that the attitude at the front desk became more courtly only after I changed into my business suit for a presentation I was doing at the conference. I don't mean they were impolite to this little middle-aged guest in shorts, but they were just more polite to this cleaned up gentleman in the suit. Some places (Like many Ritz Carlton's and even the better Marriot's) treat you like a gem regardless of how you are dressed. This is a small quibble over a subtle difference, so it should not stop you from staying at this venerable iconic hotel. The town of State College is fine, with a long strip of good shops, bars and restaurants facing the front of the University. There are great athletic venues, of course, with Penn State football as king. It's also fun to see the young college crowd walking around and at play and you might even get a sighting of a slightly older fellow like Joe Pa patrolling the University grounds. There are a number of really good state parks and preserves outside of town and these are worth a hike as well.

Room Tip: The rooms are all generally pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
476 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.4 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#11 of 26 in State College
193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#8 of 26 in State College
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £104 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing