We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

It is a nice hotel and rooms are good. Nothing is really spectacular, but it is comfortable. The staff is very friendly. It is a nice exterior and some pretty spaces inside. The hot tub is nice, but for some reason the main powerful jets pretty much shoot up your crotch. Not sure if that design was on purpose. Meeting spaces are nice, we had breakfast buffets arranged for our group and somethings were good (bacon, pastries, banana bread french toast) some were surprisingly bad (especially the bagels...not sure how you screw them up so badly, we get grocery store frozen bagels that are way better). We had a dinner buffet for us as well, and it was a pretty good meal.

One thing, I saw another reviewer complain about was the noise. I did not have a problem at night, but could definitely see that happening. The walls seemed pretty sound-proof, but the doors were definitely on the extreme end of allowing noise through. Walking down the halls, you can here people's quiet conversations very clearly. It stood out to me more than any other hotel I have stayed. It seems strange for an old hotel to have sound-proof walls (because they would be very difficult to improve through renovation) and have such weak doors, which would be comparatively so much easier to upgrade).

I went to their sister hotel to use the pool and it was nice.

It is a nice area, I loved hiking and biking at Rothrock state forest (by Tussey ski mtn.)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBnugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    216
    61
    20
    15
See reviews for
284
126
28
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I remember the food as very good, but what stood out in my mind (and still does) is their FAMOUS Lobster Bisque!! (Now I found the recipe since I don't live in SC anymore). I dream of this soup at night....so good. I have tried many locations' lobster bisque, and this one is still tops.

Service was attentive and staff was courteous.

Can you get that my review states you should try the Lobster Bisque?? :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlannaB490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Alanna, thank you so very much for the vote of approval! We are pretty proud of our lobster bisque and so glad that it was as good as you remembered it. Even though you can now make it at home, you are always welcome to come back at any time so all you have to do is relax and enjoy. Thanks for stopping in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We have lived in State College for awhile and have been in the restaurants multiple times, and we've had visiting family stay here overnight, but this was OUR first time actually staying there. My hotel experience here has justified the buzz about the hotel that circulates here in Happy Valley.

Upon arrival, no doormen were outside, unlike the other times I've been to the hotel for a university-related event. But the receptionist greeted us warmly and chatted with us in a way that showed genuine interest in why we were staying and what we were doing in State College. The newly revamped lobby areas are gorgeous and really make you feel that you are in a nice place.

Our room is the basic model. The furniture is very attractive, and the blue-and-white scheme really underscores the Penn State connection. Our room was neither cramped nor spacious. It's very clean (the bathroom is especially clean), though some of the linens have some permanent staining (nothing too bad). The television is new and good-quality. It took us awhile to locate the ice bucket, but it was there. The alarm clock and hair dryer could need to be updated, but they work just fine. The wifi is easy to use and lightning-fast. I like the full-length mirror in a convenient place for getting ready.

We ate at Whiskers (the bar area) for dinner, as the hotel's dining room was too formal and stuffy for our mood last night, as we were tired and wanted to feel comfortable. Whiskers was great; good service, great views of a pretty courtyard, and decent beer selection. (Try the local beers, like Elk Creek or Otto's!) The food was hot, fresh, good, and plentiful. The lobster bisque is their specialty; if you like cream-based soups, it's delicious. My husband loves their meatloaf.

I don't know why it's rated so low among the hotels in State College. It's the best place if you want to feel what Penn State is really like. I hope to come again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawna_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Shawna, we appreciate your feedback and are so glad you were able to experience the tradition of "Penn State's Living Room"! We are working to revitalize the rooms, including the arrival of new clock radios with ipod docking stations and welcome any additional suggestions you may have for an improved experience. We hope to have you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Nittany Lion Inn was very tastefully decorated and service was great. We had a nice room tucked away that was quiet and very pretty. We were in town for Arts Fest and were able to walk onto campus and also walk to the Blue Loop so that we could ride the bus to the stadium.

Service was great in the hotel. The restaurant was disappointing in both service and quality of food. I wouldn't both eating a meal at the hotel. You'll have plenty of choices in town. There is also a graduate building within walking distance that serves food and also has Starbuck's coffee. So it's a great morning spot!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cspigle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I am here on a Saturday and woke too too early from the loud redneck house keeping staff, they are so rude that I cannot sleep. I would have really appreciated the opportunity to sleep in and enjoy a peaceful weekend, but not here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We've often gone to the Arts Festival and have always had to select a hotel not within walking distance of the town and university. This time we tried the Nittany Lion Inn, on campus. We did pay a bit more, but it was worth it. It was so nice not to have to fight for parking and just walk wherever we wanted. The town of State College and the PSU campus are better appreciated when you can walk instead of drive.

The hotel itself was very nice, with great customer service. I don't understand some of the more critical reviews here because our room was nice and in great shape. The front desk was pleasant, efficient and accomodating. Yes, breakfast isn't included and the buffet Sunday morning was very expensive. But this isn't a budget hotel so we weren't surprised. I have to say the buffet itself was outstanding. The exercise room also looked nice and we wanted to take advantage of it but didn't have the time.

This is where we're going to stay from now on for the Arts Fest. Very pleased!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

As a native of State College, alum of Penn State, we were excited to stay at the hotel where we had our wedding reception 28 years ago. Alas it was just average. Pillows and linens middle quality, box spring not covered, air/heat noisy, front desk spotty. They really need trained! 4 people to open door and none of them helped my husband who walks with a cane. We stayed 6 nights so I was hopeful I would see better front desk service. Example: both of our keys did not open the room so I went back to front desk. First comment was did I have the key next to my cell phone, no I responded, what about my wallet magnet.....really, just tell me we can fix that easily with a smile.

What did work: our housekeeper was very friendly, the room service was inexpensive, timely and good, location is great.

The Inn has the potential to be much better if they would take care of some of the room appointments and have lobby staff more flexible to help with luggage. We travel all over the world and this hotel in not excellent but is average with a great location.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nittanyTempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to reflect on your experience with us! All feedback is invaluable to us so we may continue to improve and provide the best experience for our guests! I apologize that your service expectations were not met and we hope to have the opportunity to give you a better stay on your next return to State College. Please be sure to take advantage of our complimentary valet service during your visits and our Guest Services team is certainly happy to take your luggage to your room for you. If we may ever assist with specific needs prior to your arrival, please email us at concierge@psu.edu and we will be happy to take care of you. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you at another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,213 reviews
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#6 of 26 in State College
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
458 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing