We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Convenient to everything at Penn State (it's right on campus). The atmosphere was great and the service was top-notch. Unfortunately the room was so-so. For the price, you'd expect a nicer room with more up-to-date decor. Overall, the hotel makes a good impression and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our historic Inn is currently in the process of many enhancements to our guest rooms as we continuously strive to provide comfort and convenience to our guests. Many of our rooms are unique, so if you would like to view another room during your stay, please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate you and can note any room preferences for future stays with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

You must stay at the Nittany Lion Inn when visiting Penn State. It provides great hospitality to make you feel at home. The rooms are really clean, and the hotel is on campus and it is within walking distance of many places around the school, including Beaver Stadium, the football field.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17jwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed here with my son on a college visit - wonderful location and atmosphere. Restaurant had a sit down service linen tablecloth service or a pub. We chose the pub and it was very good. Staff was very nice as they cater to a lot of alumni. Only drawback was the building is in need of a overhaul and modernization so keep expectations realistic but for the price an location it was a great experience and we hope to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The Nittany Lion Inn has the feel of a historic hotel. There's usually a roaring fire in the lobby fireplace and apples are offered to guests as they walk in the front door. In addition, the location is wonderful for guests visiting the University Park campus. If you aren't overly price sensitive, it's tough to beat this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoodleTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

What's not to like. Nice rooms, good restaurant, nice staff. Had a delightful stay and, of course, convenient if you're visiting the university. I would stay there again. Wish it hadn't snowed while i was there, though, but so it goes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winstonthecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at The Inn last weekend on the Romantic Lion Package. Just a very nice experience. Very nice room, great food, and a wonderful location. Close enough to walk to downtown or pretty much anywhere on the Penn State campus. They also have shuttle service to the athletic facilities. The staff is outstanding, too. Just a great place to stay. My only complaint is that the parking is in an adjacent garage and it's not terribly convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thank you so much for celebrating such a special weekend with us! The Romantic Lion package is one of our favorites...and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it! On your next visit, please feel welcome to use our complimentary valet service. Our Guest Services team is happy to park your car in the garage for you and return it at your convenience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Very well run hotel. The staff is professional and pleasant, Check-in and Check-out were seamless and the bill was accurate. The hotel is immaculate and the location cannot be beat - any closer to the university and you are staying in a dorm. The hotel grounds are well maintained, and the common areas are superb - fresh apples in the lobby along with a real fireplace. It's got one of the few hotel lobbies where you'd rather sit in the lobby instead of your room. I've had breakfast before (not on this stay), and it's delicious, bountiful and fairly priced.
I travel a lot, and wish I could stay in such a well-kept and friendly/cozy place all the time. It’s nice to see that the hotel is not living off of its reputation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aikoaikoallday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

What an amazing testimony to your feeling about the Inn! Knowing that we are providing this type of atmosphere for our guests is why we love what we do. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you were able to take a few apples with you for the trip home! We look forward to seeing you again - thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#10 of 26 in State College
224 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, State College (Penn State Area), PA
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#11 of 26 in State College
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,414 reviews
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#9 of 26 in State College
604 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £106 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing