We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned, quaint, and convenient”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned, quaint, and convenient”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

It has the looks and charm of an old fashioned establishment. Had many great modern amenities, including a k-cup coffee machine. Beds were a bit uncomfortable, and it was pretty expensive for no breakfast included.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mSv732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We always appreciate that our guests take the time to share their thoughts with others about their experience with us. We have have just begun replacing mattresses throughout the property and hope to give you an even better experience during another stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    222
    63
    21
    17
See reviews for
300
130
32
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oldenburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Travelling to Penn State? This very traditional hotel must be first choice, because it is next to the colleges of Penn State and it is a very conveniant hotel, nice bar, nice patio and walking distance to the centre of State College with very nice restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms to the inner patio are very quiet and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was second time in the same hotel. The staff is friendly. The restaurants are withing walking distance across the Penn state University buildings. The main dinning restaurant buffet is less than what I experienced in the past. However, I like to stay again when I come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo2men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have stayed in The Nittany Lion Inn many times over past 30 years and have stayed in wide variety of rooms. All were different and VG to excellent. The Hotel gives everyone a warm welcome and efficient check-in. The lobby always have a basket of red delicious apples to welcome guests and in season an inviting fireplace. It is the only Hotel on campus and within walking distance of Art Museum, Rec Hall, Nittany Lion Shrine, Hub, Creamery, Stadium . and town as well and many other attractions. If you prefer they have a free van to take you and pick you up in town , airport, and some attractions(You'll want to tip the excellent personable drivers). Complimentary parking is available in front of Inn and in adjacent garage. Meals are available in the Inn's main dining room and appetizers ,salads ,soups (try their lobster bisque!) and sandwiches in Whiskers Lounge (also free freshly popped popcorn). The Inn has Garden patios ,Courtyards, and Verandas for people that enjoys outdoors. The landscaping and flowers are beautiful.
Free wireless internet. Prices vary a lot during the year. Most expensive football weekends and graduation. Many weekends and weekdays very reasonable. A Penn State Tradition since 1931.
Join Stash and get rewards.

Room Tip: The hotel is very spread out . Some people prefer to be near elevator. We prefer to walk the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We think you touched on a little bit of everything that we love! Thank you so much for sharing such a wonderful description of our property and service. I don't know that there are many compliments better than having had the opportunity to be a part of your memories for 30 years! We are thrilled to have become part of the Stash Hotel Rewards network to provide even more value to our guests and look forward to many more years of our relationship with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here with my son to visit Penn State. What a wonderful place to stay! Friendly staff, comfortable room, nice bathroom, charming historic hotel, and a great location for a visit to Penn State. Easy walk to campus and downtown restaurants (they offered the use of a free shuttle, which we didn't use). I got a great deal through Priceline which made this stay even better. Only suggestion for improvement is to update the bed coverings. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runningmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Vale, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Many universities have a special signature hotel on campus that captures the essence of the campus. That's the Nittany Lion Inn. It's a place where future students and parents mingle in the lobby with alumni that have been coming back to campus for 5 decades. All with some form of PSU clothing or luggage. I stayed here a number of times over the last four years, the first on our "college" visit. This past weekend for a PSU event and four weeks before graduation. Every time has been special. The Hotel just looks fantastic and is well maintained. The staff is always smiling and eager to help. I don't believe I've ever touched the front door as there is always someone there to grab my bags if needed. The rooms are pretty nice. I would update the bedding and pillows, but that's really the only issue. They sport two great restaurants, one a pub and the other very traditional. Parking is very easy with a 30 second walk to one of the campus parking garages. It's a great place to start a walk of campus as it's a minute from the Nittany Lion shrine. If you're visiting campus for the first time, stay here. If you're back for your 50 year PSU reunion you already know where to stay.

Room Tip: The hotel is long so if you're away from the main elevators it could be a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester Co., NY
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed for two nights attending a youth sports meeting at this facility. I was wondering what to expect, as the hotel's web site is somewhat minimal. The place looks old, but I was pleasantly surprised to find most features have been kept up to date. Staff seemed very helpful, room was clean, and technology (TV, wireless internet) all worked fine. Price, at least for our group rate, was great! I experienced the catering menu with a couple of meals in our meeting, and had no complaints (did not try the onsite restaurants). The room was fine - the only drawback being one can easily hear noise from the corridor. The place is quite large, and it can seem like a bit of a maze. There are over 200 guest rooms. Easy walk to downtown State College for restaurants and shopping. If I had a reason to be on the Penn State campus, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Further you are from the elevators likely less noise from other guests (easy to hear corridor noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rtraveler10570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PSHSReservationsMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Nittany Lion Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others who may choose to stay as our guests! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that on your next visit we can find a room that is even more suited to your preferences. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 26 in State College
1,300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#6 of 26 in State College
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#12 of 26 in State College
468 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing