We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, needs some basic upgrades” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average hotel, needs some basic upgrades”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

After checking out The Penn Stater for a conference, it is clear that the Nittany Lion Inn is not as nice facility-wise. However, of the two locations, I still prefer the Nittany Lion Inn. The rooms are a decent size and I love that they have an additional vanity/sink outside of the bathroom as well. They also upgraded to flat-screen TVs.

The bedding and other decor is very old-fashioned, which I get is the general vibe of the hotel, but that doesn't mean the stuff can't be replaced every now and again. The same style comforters are still being used since the first time I was here, three years ago. Also, the hotel does not have conditioner so get ready for some straw-like hair if you didn't remember to pack your own.

Definitely the best feature of the Inn is the location. I'm not sure what some people consider to be "far," but there are loads of bars, restaurants and shops less than a half mile away. I don't mind the walk at all if it means not having to drive and being able to see some of the campus as well as the local hang-outs.

Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_in_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    206
    58
    19
    12
See reviews for
260
117
27
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
509 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2009

This is a fine hotel on the edge of the Penn State campus. It has free parking, which is another plus. It has a romance with its large size and historic existence. I never had to touch the door handle coming or going as the doorman got it every time. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and make you feel welcome. The rooms are of a nice size and have all the expected amenities. The restaurant and bar/restaurant both have great and healthy food options as they use locally-produced items. The menu is creative and results in tasty food.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

I was at Penn State on business for two days. The location of the hotel was good, just on the edge of campus.

The hotel was old-style, almost elegant. The room was pretty ordinary. This is not saying the room was "bad" in any way; the basics were there: bed, TV, wired internet (no wireless).

The breakfast was good, and the shuttle service was very good. I'm not sure if it was a slow day, but they were willing to take us to a restaurant of our choosing (instead of just stopping at pre-specified points) and were ready to go when we were (instead of having to wait 30 minutes for a scheduled pickup).

There is free parking in the front, but it is very limited. Otherwise, there is a garage nearby. The fitness center was okay, but not enough to entice me to exercise there. There are better ones out there.

If being near campus is important to you, this is a good place to stay. Otherwise, I think there are better choices for $200 per night.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank statmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Village
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

This hotel is on the campus of Penn State University. it is, they said, run by the College of Hospitality and judging by the eager young faces, staffed by its students. In our view every single staffer we saw or dealt with should be awarded a PHD.

Walk through the front door into an elegantly appointed lobby with a fifteen foot Christmas tree and a roaring fire. Grab a shiny red apple. You'll like it.

Wake up hungry at three in the morning like my old friend did.
He went down to the lobby to ask for a little advice. The lady was happy to direct him to the closest all night diner, but. . she offered to make him some toast and coffee! They had a nice chat, he said.

The condition of the historic building is sterling. Nothing I saw, zero, zilch, nothing, was in need of repair. The University must have a graduate program. in hotel maintenance.

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — I found not a single thing to complain about
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetesrLakeErieshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2008

We stay here every year during a summer swim meet. We had the Very Important Lion rate, (have no idea how, they just offered) which included free breakfast. Definitely nice to relax in the lovely dining room and enjoy real food and proper service.

The Inn is great in the summer because you can walk downtown/around campus. At $4.00+ per gallon it was nice to know the car could remain parked at the Inn/in the carpark all day.

Our room was a good size . Had a small fridge, coffee machine. The room may have been renovated recently because there was a huge tub and 2 sinks . Really a must for anyone travelling with a teenage girl. We were on the back of the building which was very quiet. They are renovating the lobby so the front desk area is rather cramped right now.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank tohhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

This is a charming old hotel that is well-located on campus. It could use some refurbishment, but it is priced well for the value received. We stayed in a somewhat small king-bedded room with a very large bathroom -- jacuzzi, double sinks, over-sized shower. Everything in the room worked, including the coffee maker and hair dryer. I heard people say that almost every room is different as is common in older hotels.

Those people who like charm, value and location will want to stay here. People who want everything new and uniform will be disappointed. If you come, be sure to sample a Penn State ice cream drink at Whiskers.

Because parking is difficult at Penn State, it was nice staying at the inn and using the prompt shuttle service. They picked me up when I called, and it was very convenient.

If you are a golfer, there are 2 courses on campus. You can use the shuttle service to bring you back & forth.

If I am in the area again, I'll look into staying at this inn. I enjoy historic hotels with modern conveniences.

  • Liked — Large bathroom
  • Disliked — Small bedroom
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihopeihelped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

My wife and I stayed and the Inn for two nights-5/2 and 5/3-in conjunction with a reunion also held at the Inn. We found the hotel clean, well kept and staffed by pelasant helpful employees. We had a very large room-1106-which was just above the courtyard for the bar called Whiskers and were somewhat concerned about the possibilty of noise but the windows were thick and there was no problem. The beds ary very comfortable, the towels and linens soft, and the room was very very neat. One bonus was the full range of cable channels for late night relaxing. It seems many hotels these days limit the number of available channels, but the Inn had a wide range of choices. The morning local paper at your door in the morning was a nice touch. The front desk staff was very well trained and helpful and the large basket of fresh apples, always available, was a nice touch. It is hard to find parking available in the lot directly in front of the Inn but the large garage a short walk away was covenient. There is no problem with curbside parking while you unload. We did not eat at the restaurant nor order room service so we cannot comment on that amenity, but the meal we had at the Saturday night banquet was well done, especially considering they were serving 500 people. Good filet and crabcake combo. The restaurant does serve a pretty impressive looking Sunday a.m. buffet for $16.95. The center of campus is a short walk away and the Inn is located in a fairly quiet area of campus-away from the student dorms and in an area with graduate school buildings. Overall, a great weekend, relaxing, quiet at a well run hotel.

  • Liked — Pleasant relaxing surroundings
  • Disliked — A bit disorienting a layout
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven1146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#7 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Property: Nittany Lion Inn
Address: 200 West Park Ave., State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing