We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of Nittany Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nittany Lion Inn
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We stayed for a quiet weekend in the State College while classes were not in session.

Room was a little dated, but still well-appointed and comfortable. An average hotel from a room standpoint. The inn is in a lovely area and the grounds are well-maintained. Excellent views from the room.

Service was phenomenal and helped to offset an issue we had with one of our rooms. The first room we were given had an air conditioning unit that was loud when it kicked in , which was every 10 mins or so. It was so loud that it would wake you up every 10 mins. Enough to drive you crazy.

The next morning, I went to the front desk and was immediately given a room with a more modern system. The front desk clerk seemed to know exactly what I was referring to and knew exactly how to fix it, which led me to infer that this was a common complaint. I would advise anyone checking in to request a room with a more updated air system. They should know what you're talking about.

Regardless, the staff is very willing to make you happy. I would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Late30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2009

We happened upon the Inn while driving through Pennsylvania on a cross country trip. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. We fell in love with the campus and town. We had a suite which was nicely furnished and reasonably priced considering we have paid the same for a somewhat dreary ordinary room at a chain hotel. Our breakfast in the dining room was excellent. The gardens are lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

After checking out The Penn Stater for a conference, it is clear that the Nittany Lion Inn is not as nice facility-wise. However, of the two locations, I still prefer the Nittany Lion Inn. The rooms are a decent size and I love that they have an additional vanity/sink outside of the bathroom as well. They also upgraded to flat-screen TVs.

The bedding and other decor is very old-fashioned, which I get is the general vibe of the hotel, but that doesn't mean the stuff can't be replaced every now and again. The same style comforters are still being used since the first time I was here, three years ago. Also, the hotel does not have conditioner so get ready for some straw-like hair if you didn't remember to pack your own.

Definitely the best feature of the Inn is the location. I'm not sure what some people consider to be "far," but there are loads of bars, restaurants and shops less than a half mile away. I don't mind the walk at all if it means not having to drive and being able to see some of the campus as well as the local hang-outs.

Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
Thank Michelle_in_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

This is a fine hotel on the edge of the Penn State campus. It has free parking, which is another plus. It has a romance with its large size and historic existence. I never had to touch the door handle coming or going as the doorman got it every time. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and make you feel welcome. The rooms are of a nice size and have all the expected amenities. The restaurant and bar/restaurant both have great and healthy food options as they use locally-produced items. The menu is creative and results in tasty food.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sliphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

I was at Penn State on business for two days. The location of the hotel was good, just on the edge of campus.

The hotel was old-style, almost elegant. The room was pretty ordinary. This is not saying the room was "bad" in any way; the basics were there: bed, TV, wired internet (no wireless).

The breakfast was good, and the shuttle service was very good. I'm not sure if it was a slow day, but they were willing to take us to a restaurant of our choosing (instead of just stopping at pre-specified points) and were ready to go when we were (instead of having to wait 30 minutes for a scheduled pickup).

There is free parking in the front, but it is very limited. Otherwise, there is a garage nearby. The fitness center was okay, but not enough to entice me to exercise there. There are better ones out there.

If being near campus is important to you, this is a good place to stay. Otherwise, I think there are better choices for $200 per night.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank statmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

This hotel is on the campus of Penn State University. it is, they said, run by the College of Hospitality and judging by the eager young faces, staffed by its students. In our view every single staffer we saw or dealt with should be awarded a PHD.

Walk through the front door into an elegantly appointed lobby with a fifteen foot Christmas tree and a roaring fire. Grab a shiny red apple. You'll like it.

Wake up hungry at three in the morning like my old friend did.
He went down to the lobby to ask for a little advice. The lady was happy to direct him to the closest all night diner, but. . she offered to make him some toast and coffee! They had a nice chat, he said.

The condition of the historic building is sterling. Nothing I saw, zero, zilch, nothing, was in need of repair. The University must have a graduate program. in hotel maintenance.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PetesrLakeErieshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We stay here every year during a summer swim meet. We had the Very Important Lion rate, (have no idea how, they just offered) which included free breakfast. Definitely nice to relax in the lovely dining room and enjoy real food and proper service.

The Inn is great in the summer because you can walk downtown/around campus. At $4.00+ per gallon it was nice to know the car could remain parked at the Inn/in the carpark all day.

Our room was a good size . Had a small fridge, coffee machine. The room may have been renovated recently because there was a huge tub and 2 sinks . Really a must for anyone travelling with a teenage girl. We were on the back of the building which was very quiet. They are renovating the lobby so the front desk area is rather cramped right now.

Stayed: June 2008
2  Thank tohhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#9 of 26 in State College
1,344 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
0.5 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 26 in State College
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Penn Stater Conference Center
Penn Stater Conference Center
#7 of 26 in State College
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#11 of 26 in State College
173 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nittany Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nittany Lion Inn

Address: 200 W Park Ave, State College, PA 16803-3598
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in State College
#2 Family Hotel in State College
#6 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range: £105 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nittany Lion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nittany Lion Inn is a Penn State landmark, rich in history and tradition and a proud member of the National Trust Historic Hotels of America. Our AAA Four Diamond rated property is located on the campus of The Pennsylvania State University, serving as a travelers’ haven and a popular gathering place for Penn State alumni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nittany Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nittany Lion Hotel State College
Nittany Lion State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing