We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel & Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toftrees Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in State College
Altoona, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Hotel & Staff”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our second stay at Toftrees and each time we were made to feel so welcomed. The staff has went out of their way to help in any way. All the staff we met was so friendly and pleasant. The rooms are fabulous! Huge bathrooms too! We ate at the Down Under and have never had a bad meal there, all of our food has been fantastic. Toftrees and the grounds (which are so lovely) is so quite and you don't have the hustle and bustle of downtown but you are only minutes away from it. This hotel, staff, and management could teach other places a thing or do in how to treat a customer. Thank Toftrees for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Robin L,


Thanks for all the great recognition! We take great pride in taking care of each and every one of our guests! We want our guests to feel like it is their home away from home! We hope that you will come back in the next couple months and see all the true beauty as things start to green up around here. Safe travels and we hope to see you real soon!


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    90
    50
    29
    15
See reviews for
102
38
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

They placed me in a hallway with I don't know if it was a group that was visiting or working but needless to say I got no sleep and actually got so irritated I got up at 6 AM and checked out an stayed somewhere else. I then wrote an email about the experience and got no response back. So as in seeing the management does not care I'd rather spend my time and money elsewhere. Where they value their guests experience and respond back to them after they've had a horrible experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkw5029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear JKW5029,

We are very sorry for the lack of response to your concerns. I have double checked every account to ensure we didnt miss the email and I do not see it anywhere. We want you to know that we do value your feedback and if you could share some more details I am certain that we could better explain the events going on in the hotel during your stay as well as make the situation right with you. As you can see we are very quick to respond to our guests and want to know what we can do to make things better. If you could share any more details with us we would definitely appreciate it. We can be reached at 814-234-8000 or bhaller@shanercorp.com. Again we send our most sincere apologies and hope to hear back from you soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our weeknight evening at the Down Under Sports bar. Our husbands had played the golf simulator for hours and then joined us in the bar where we had appetizers and drinks. Nick, our bartender and host, was welcoming, engaging, and attentive. Quesadillas were great, chili was spicy, wings and nachos were very good. All is all it was a pleasant evening. We were surprised to see that the venue was so empty. Hoping others will find this a welcome after-work/happy hour stop!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Wine28,

Thanks for the great review of the Down Under Steakhouse. We are pleased to hear Nick took great care of you. I am sure getting a night out on the town away from the guys was just what you needed after this long winter. We too hope that others in town will find the great atmosphere and service we are providing to fit their dining needs. We hope to see you back soon and maybe next time you can send the guys out on the real course! Best Wishes and we hope you stay warm!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have been regularly staying at Toftrees for a couple of decades and love spending time there. It is a little off the hectic beaten path around the university and has everythingyou need right there. We were on a mid-week trip to meet some family obligations and got a great deal. After a day of work and travel, it was great to relax and unwind at Toftrees. We had a delicious meal at the Down Under Steak House and Danielle was a sweet and attentive waitress. Great night's sleep, so-so continental breakfast in the lobby.Following check-out, we were transporting our luggage to our vehicle when, about 15 feet from the front door, my wife slipped on "black" ice and took a nasty fall on the black-top of the parking area. She split open the skin on her knee, injured her elbows, shoulder and hips. Forunately we had ice packs in our cooler and I had ibuprofen in my shave kit. I informed brad at the front desk immediately of the hazardous conditions and of my wifes injuries and requested a band-aid. He struggled to find the first-aid kit, but finally did and brought a bandage out to our vehicle. The weather had been icy the previous day and the staff should have scouted the premises to verify safety. After I made them awareof the situation, ice melt was spread, but that was too little and way too late for my wife who spent the rest of the trip and our 5 hour return applying ice packs and taking anti-inflammatory to treat her injuries. I am sure we will return because we enjoy this location, but I see the bruises my wife sustained as a big black eye for the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Chris F,

We want to extend our deepest apologies and wish a speedy and quick recovery for your wife. We hope you understand we do our best to maintain all areas inside and out of the hotel and sometimes the Black Ice just isnt that visible. We will for certain place an extra emphasis on walking the outside areas as the snow has been melting during the day and then freezing back up over night. We were pleased to hear that you visit us often and hope that you will come back and see us again real soon. When you plan your next visit please let us know and we will be sure to make it an extra special trip next time.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have been in charge of golf trips for 20 years with a group of 24 guys, and this package is one of the best in the tri state area. Everyone from hotel,group sales,and golf staffs were very accommodating and friendly.We play 5 rounds over 3 days, and this is the only resort our guys do not mind playing only one course.There was a huge rain the entire day before our trip,but i can only recall one hole where you could not take the cart across the fairway.I would recommend Toftrees to any golf group looking for a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Kevin D,

Thanks for the great words about Toftrees resort. We are pleased to here you enjoyed your 5 rounds of golf this past year and look forward to servicing you for many more years to come! Thanks for spreading the good word about Toftrees. We hope this coming year will treat you better than the year before. Should you need anything to make your next trip a success please let us know.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I was staying at this hotel at the time of my birthday. The front desk clerk actually brought a lovely piece of cake with a candle to my room. I have stayed in a good amount of hotels and this was a first. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends not only is the location very pretty the staff goes beyond to make your stay memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Eileen L,

Thanks for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience here at Toftrees. We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time and that Carina was able to do something special for you Birthday. We hope that when you are back this way from Philadelphia you will chose to stay with us again. If there is anything we can do in the future please let us know.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

In all fairness we only went to a conference here but looked at a room and spoke with front desk people and walked around lobby area. If you have trouble with steps skip this. Food at seminar was good but chicken was dry. Continental nreakfast only included breakfast nd no fresh pastries that we could see. otherwise good. Service was good. We saw a few spider webs in overhead twig decor in conference dining area. Very off-putting. Only average overall.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin H, General Manager at Toftrees Golf Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Linda B,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We will for sure look into the cobwebbs in the mentioned meeting rooms. We know there are many choices in the area and hope that we will have a chance again in the future to hold some meetings with you and your groups and want to let you know we always appreciate the feedback. Safe travels to you and we hope your upcoming Holiday Season is great!

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
2.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#4 of 26 in State College
769 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#6 of 26 in State College
1,258 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toftrees Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toftrees Golf Resort

Property: Toftrees Golf Resort
Address: 1 Country Club Ln, State College, PA 16803-2001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in State College
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Toftrees Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your reason for visiting Toftrees Golf Resort is for travel, business, or pleasure it is the perfect retreat for you. Toftrees is nestled within the secluded pine trees of Central Pennsylvania which provides peaceful surroundings. Toftrees also provides 102 unique guest rooms and suites. Indulge yourself in individualistic style - a blend of attentive service, expressive décor and inescapable views. Toftrees is rated a 4 1/2 star champion golf course and was rated one of Pennsylvania's "best resort/public golf courses". There is function space that adapts equally well from small training meetings to longer conferences. Convene in a calming, serene, natural setting. Then join us in The Field Burger & Tap for a Penn State Creamery Milkshake and a hand formed burgers made with our private blend of sirloin, chuck, brisket, and short rib topped with Amish Cheeses and local breads. Look no further when visiting the State College area. Book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Toftrees Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toftrees Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing